We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other traveller has booked this property

The Old Pump House

Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Visited by Tripadvisor
Barn -
2 Bedrooms , 1 Bathroom , Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England
The Old Pump House is set in the heart of the Wye Valley at the far end of the very popular settlement of Symonds Yat West. For those who like to explore, the Forest of Dean is close by with many attractions including the 'sculpture trail'.

The Old Pump House is a self-catering cottage situated on an elevated location with very impressive views across the Wye Valley and the Wye rapids.

The cottage is of a high standard offering 2 bedrooms (double and twin), a shower room, cloakroom, an open plan sitting room with a dining area and fully equipped kitchen. WiFi available.

Patio doors lead to an enclosed large private garden overlooking the rapids. Garden furniture and BBQ are available. A secure shed is available for guests to store bikes, fishing equipment etc.

Private car parking for 2 cars.
About the Owner, Sue S
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Listed since : Apr 2014
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 19 reviews and 1 property
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #HL1746468
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in February 2018

We've just returned from a relaxing week at The Old Pump House and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Unfortunately, I have to disagree with the poster below, I can't believe we were staying in the same place. The cottage stands high up on the bank of the River Wye and has a view to die for. During daylight hours you can...

Management response:

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back when you return next year.


Report response as inappropriate
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in February 2018
people found this review helpful

Entry is via doors directly into the long, thin downstairs room with lounge area to the right, kitchen to the left and an unfortunately sited toilet in the middle. Not ideal as it is pretty much next to the dining table. The whole of the downstairs floor is rough slate, unattractive to look at, miserable and unwelcoming. Not really suitable...

Management response:

Firstly, we did keep your £100 deposit, all of it, so it comes as no surprise that you have given us a poor review. We have made small deductions from guests deposits on previous occasions, but this is the first time since we opened in June 2006 that we have had to even consider retaining all of it. We feel...


Report response as inappropriate
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Booked this for my parents when we stayed nearby for a large celebration . Sue and Malcolm very responsive and helpful. This is a gorgeous house at the edge of the woods, everything you would want from a house by the river. Beautiful bedrooms- comfortable lounge and kitchen with all you need. Everything was perfect, welcome pack was great, parking...

Management response:

I'm glad you and your parents enjoyed staying at the Old Pump House and look forward to seeing you again.


Report response as inappropriate
  • Cable/satellite TV
  • Central Heating
  • Cooker
  • Dining Seats (4)
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD Player
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (4)
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Patio
  • Private Garden
  • Queen Beds:(1)
  • Refrigerator
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Single Beds:(2)
  • Stereo System
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Washer
  • Water Views
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
    Check in: 3:00 PM
    Check out: 10:00 AM
Dog owners are asked to observe the following additional conditions: - Dogs must be under strict control at all times while on the property, or in the garden. - Any fouling...
    1 Shower
    2 Twins
    1 King
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night
Default 3 nights
GBP 95
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to Australian Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
  • Damage Deposit: $182 / stay - Deposit
  • Per dog: $46 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Short breaks are from Friday to Monday (3 nights) and Monday to Friday (4 nights). Weekly lettings normally from Friday to Friday. Dogs are welcome at an extra cost of £25 per dog per booking. In addition to the printed price there is a £100 returnable security deposit (breakage deposit).
Hide Rates
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Watersports Nearby.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
/ Night
Book Now
34 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.