We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jasmine Cottage

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
The cottage from the Garden
The living room
Another street view

Overview
4 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
8 guests
3 nights minimum 
Cottage
Jasmine Cottage, which is Listed Grade II, is believed to date back to the early 16th century and is one of the oldest properties in the village. The cottage, which has locally quarried stone elevations under a thatched roof and has under gone extensive renovations in 2010 is now sporting 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, new kitchen dining room with French doors opening into a classic English country cottage garden. For many years the cottage served as the village newsagents and shop and is situated in the heart of this picturesque village. We offer both long weekend, mid week and week long + breaks and welcome responsible dog owners (for a small surcharge) who can take advantage of the stunning surroundings overlooking Weymouth bay. Accommodation Bedrooms:Master bedroom with double bed and en-su...Jasmine Cottage, which is Listed Grade II, is believed to date back to the early 16th century and is one of the oldest properties in the village. The cottage, which has locally quarried stone elevations under a thatched roof and has under gone extensive renovations in 2010 is now sporting 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, new kitchen dining room with French doors opening into a classic English country cottage garden. For many years the cottage served as the village newsagents and shop and is situated in the heart of this picturesque village. We offer both long weekend, mid week and week long + breaks and welcome responsible dog owners (for a small surcharge) who can take advantage of the stunning surroundings overlooking Weymouth bay. Accommodation Bedrooms:Master bedroom with double bed and en-suite. Bedroom 2 with double bed. Bedroom 3 with twin beds. Bedroom 4 with twin beds (downstairs). Travel cot available upon request. Bathrooms: En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with shower, WC and basin. Family upstairs bathroom with shower over bath and WC and wash basin. Downstairs shower room, WC and basin. Kitchen: Large newly fitted country style kitchen / diner with cooker, gas hob, fridge/freezer, microwave and fully equipped. Large oak dining table and chairs. Utility Room: Utility room with washing machine, boot room located next to this. Living Rooms:Large spacious living room with leather sofas, inglenook fireplace, log burner, TV. Wood flooring throughout. Other:The cottage has recently gone through extensive refurbishment and professionally designed by morForm Interior Design. Cleaning/towels/linen/maid service:Electricity and central heating included. Duvets and pillows on all beds. Tenants to bring or hire towels at £5 per set/person. The cottage is cleaned once a week, more frequently by arrangement. Amenities/Facilities:hob/stove oven fridge/freezer microwave dishwasher washing machine iron/ironing board tv telephone internet access central heating cot high chair Suitability:pets accepted.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
The cottage is not suitable for walking impaired guests due to level changes in the house
Bedrooms
2 Doubles4 Singles1 Cot
Bathrooms
1 Full bath1 Attached (ensuite)1 Shower

Meet the host
Chris & Marielle H
Hosting since April 2012
Languages spoken: German, English
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsPlease feel free to ask us questions about the area before your stay. We live in Osmington so will be able to answer questions about the locality. We are usually nearby should there be any issues but will leave you to your holiday if you do not need us.

Contribute
Reviews (20)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Becky
Becky
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor
We stayed here in October, there are what we think are bedbugs in the upstairs twin bedroom, when we arrived I checked the mattresses as I always do and there were bugs crawling over the mattress, under the bed cover and also in the bedroom windows, curtains and skirting boards, therefore we could not use this room. We checked the other beds/ rooms and the mattress in the double room with en-suite is appalling, stained and old! The downstairs twin room- one of the beds being held up with sheets as the base is broken( apparently the owners knows but feels it’s acceptable to allow people to stay still). There are no headboards on the beds and it was generally very dirty and hadn’t been cleaned- dead bugs on the floor when we arrived. Bathroom downstairs has no handle or lock on the door so you can’t close the door or lock it! The shower/towel tail is extremely rusty and in need of replacement. The cottage is generally requiring a lot of updating and a good clean but mostly the BEDBUGS need addressing- owner is aware but refusing to engage with us after requesting an expert opinion on the bugs. We are really concerned that we may have taken them home to 3 different households. On top of that issue there are several others which need addressing to call this suitable for a holiday rental: - washing machine full of mould - line broken so unable to hang washing out even if you would use the washer - rusty radiator in downstairs bathroom - unable to close or lock bathroom door - door to stairs if closed you are unable to open the door once upstairs you get locked in unless someone opens it from downstairs. - broken bed base downstairs -no hooks on any bathrooms or rooms so you can’t hang dressing gowns or coats up - stained & old mattresses in double room - no scissors at property -broken gate so insecure for pets - grass does not get cut and garden unmaintained -no mop or cleaning aids -plates chipped
Visited October 2023
Written 26 October 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Flower lady
Flower lady
Leicester, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful bug infestation in twin room unusable
Stayed at cottage location lovely how ever the lack of maintance and bugs in our room on the bed and wall was a major issue. We had bugs possible bed bugs in our beds in the upstairs twin room. Crawling in the beds pillows quilts under the matress protector, window blinds and on the wall. Worried this is bed bugs we left our own bedding in room and closed it off and reported to housekeeper. But still resulted in 3 people on air beds crowded in other bed rooms. Mattresses on both double beds stained, single bed frame down stairs broken held up with towels. No lock or handle on downstairs bathroom No dustpan or brush Gate broken Cupboard bedding kept was filthy Black bin was almost full on arrival not put out all week. Housekeeper advised to report to owner, we is this and owner replied once we had left cottage and took no ownership and provided no resolution but instead complained the cleaner sad we had left a mess , which we did not and was absolutely insulted
Visited October 2023
Written 26 October 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

kimmy1Uk
kimmy1Uk
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bed bugs
We arrived and checked the mattresses and the twin room has what we think are bed bugs all in the beds and walls etc Made owner aware and they have ignored our request for them to get a professional in to confirm We know the have rented cottage out a day after us with no regard for anyone taking bugs home The double mattress upstairs is old brown and covered in wee stains etc The twin downstairs has a big hole in base stuffed with a quilt folded up We do have photos and videos The owner is hoping we just go away and is refusing to refund The furniture is generally very tired And shabby the garden is very overgrown Gate broken Shower head’s disgusting Lots of problems The main problem is the bed bug issue
Visited October 2023
Written 25 October 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Laura M
Laura M
17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely setting and amenities
Such a lovely cottage in a very quiet village! There was four of us and we each had our own room - and with three bathrooms it was a delight! The spacious kitchen was the hub for us! Don't miss a trip across the fields to Springhead pub - fabulous food and an easy taxi ride home! And if you want a closer walk - the Sly Fox is nice as well - bring a flashlight of you are out after dark! So much to do and all less than an hour away - Durdle Door, Corfe, and Charmouth for fossil hunting. Towels are not included but available for a small fee - we were coming from North America and needed to pack light. Also - the off road parking was a nice feature.
Visited October 2018
Written 21 October 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lynn S
Lynn S
Horsham, United Kingdom7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely thatched cottage in the pretty village of Osmington
Jasmine cottage is in a very quiet location but is only a five minute walk to the local pub and a few miles away from the local beaches. The cottage accommodated our family of 6 easily and we were able to have our dog with us well. Be warned though that the stairs up to 2 of the bedrooms are almost vertical!
Visited August 2018
Written 21 August 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ishovelton
ishovelton
Warrington, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location
This is the second time we have stayed at Jasmine Cottage and have loved every minute of being there. It is perfect for our family which consists of 5 adults and 3 children with plenty of space. The children love the quirkiness of the old cottage and are able to play and explore without getting under everyone's feet. The extension provides a large open living area away from the living room allowing the adults to either socialise or have a bit of peace themselves. Some improvements have been made since our last visit in 2016 and Chris and Marielle are willing to take on board guests comments to make their cottage even nicer to visit. Despite some of the floors being a bit uneven and some of the windows being difficult to open/close, this just adds to its character. It is a 16th century listed cottage and should be expected in a building of this age. The location in Osmington Mills is perfect for a base to explore the area. A short drive or bus ride will take you in to Weymouth and it is easy access for other local attractions e.g. Monkey World, Tank Museum, Portland etc etc. We love the Weymouth area and will definitely be returning on a number of occasions in coming years, and when we do, we will be booking to stay at Jasmine Cottage. Thank you Chris and Marielle
Visited July 2018
Written 5 August 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

AliM81
AliM81
35 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family holiday
We go away every year as a family and this year we choose Jasmin Cottage in Osmington. This was a quirky cottage which was lots of fun for the children to explore. Plenty of room to move around and not be under each other's feet. Ceilings low which was hard to get used too for a family all hitting 6ft but we got there after a few bumps to the head!! All in all we had an amazing holiday and location was spot on. 10 min drive to Weymouth which was perfect for the beach. We hope to return again. Highly recommended
Visited August 2017
Written 11 August 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris & Marielle
Chris & Marielle
Thank you, it was a pleasure to host you!
Written 12 August 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meander687084
Meander687084
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely cottage and pet friendly
Location was not as close to the beach as we would have liked it was not walking distance, but its was only a short drive to Weymouth which is a fantastic beach. The location is a bit remote and there are no shops or takeaways within walking distance you must have a car. Lovely cottage and the pub, the sly Fox, that is within walking distance does a great carvery and good every day pub food at a good price.
Visited April 2017
Written 2 May 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris & Marielle
Chris & Marielle
We recommend that guests check on google maps where the Cottage is prior to booking. There is access to Osmington Bay which is lovely but needs steady shoes as there are steps on the way. The walk form the cottage is about 20 minutes and has got breathtaking views. The farm shop is about 7 minutes walk away and has got a range of products as well as award winning ice-cream...
Written 4 May 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sammysam100
sammysam100
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous!
We booked a last minute rare UK stay here after reluctantly deciding not to take our baby on a 4 hour plane ride to Turkey - we usually do villa holidays - sunshine, swimming pool etc. We were not disappointed! The cottage is very old and gorgeously quirky. Despite having a 1 year old in tow we were not put off by the steep winding staircase. This is a beautiful traditional building which has a lot of old endearing features combined with some welcome modern touches. It is not built to current building regulations and yes the windows are not airtight and prone to condensation now the weather is turning chilly however the place was never cold. We spent the week walking the Jurassic Coast path and hardly took the car out - speaks volumes when you have a baby in tow! The cottage is in a very quiet back water location and perfect for a relaxing break.
Visited September 2016
Written 12 October 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris & Marielle
Chris & Marielle
Thank you for your review! It was lovely to have you at the cottage.
Written 12 October 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

749misschris749
749misschris749
Lichfield, United Kingdom22 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very Disappointing
This cottage needs a really good clean. We arrived to find stale food in the corners of the kitchen floor, dirty, greasy oven and grill, water and grime in the cupboard under the sink unemptied bin in one bedroom. Windows that didn't close properly Dust and fluff under the settees, badly stained cushions. Very old, dirty, mouldy curtains. The showers and wash basins looked as if they hadn't had a proper clean in months. The downstairs bedroom smells of damp. All the windows were dirty and the frames were black with months of grime. The outside rubbish bin was overflowing, as was the glass recycle box. We had been contacted by the owners prior to our visit who informed us of "minor issues with their cleaners". As you can see these issues were far from minor!!! The owners actually live in the village so, I would have thought they would have visited the property to ensure that everything was perfect for their guests on arrival. They did offer to send "cleaners" in for us when we complained but we declined their offer as we didn't want our week disrupted any further. We have rented many holiday homes but have never come across one in such a bad state before. Dorset is a gorgeous part of the country and we will definitely go back, but not to Jasmine Cottage.
Visited August 2016 Travelled with family
Written 7 September 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris & Marielle
Chris & Marielle
We have since changed our cleaning company and are truly sorry for any disappointment caused. We offered for cleaners to come back the day after the guests had checked in to rectify any issues but this was declined.
Written 12 October 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 20

What this rental offers
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Internet access
  • Cable television
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Bathroom and laundry
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Parking
  • Parking available
Outdoor amenities
  • Private yard
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Watersports
  • Cycling areas
Location info
  • Beachfront/Lakeside

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

July 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

August 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

Map
Getting there
Eastleigh Airport
80.5 km

Bournebouth Intl Airport
41.7 km
Restaurants
EBIKE CAFE @ Deheers
6.2 km

Restaurant Les Enfants Terribles
6.2 km

Yalbury Cottage
7.8 km

Drgnfly Pan Asian Restaurant - Dorchester
7.8 km
Attractions
Xtreme Falconry at Dorset Falconry Park
6.9 kmNature & Wildlife Areas

Gladstones Family Jewellers
6 kmSpeciality & Gift Shops

Stuart Wiltshire Glass
6.3 kmSpeciality & Gift Shops

Nothe Fort
5.8 kmHistoric Sites
About the neighbourhood
Local attractions are in plenty, from beaches to museums, to animal farms and wildlife centres, there is something for everyone come rain or shine! Why not explore local castles, marinas and the new Olympic Sailing Centre; of the world renowned Monkey World or European’s largest collect of tanks at nearby Bovington Tank Museum. Weymouth Harbour, home to finishing, pleasure boat rides and an active sailing community Or for the more adventurous, why not try your hand at Clay Pigeon Shooting, with professional instruction on hand Local activities and places of interest: Purbeck Shooting School (Clay Pigeon Shooting) Monkey World Bovington Tank Museum Northe Fort (Portland) Abbotsbury Gardens and Swannary Farmer Palmers - Great for kids!
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Regular train services to Weymouth, Dorchester and Wool, all within 10 miles of Osmington. There is a direct train from Southampton to Wool and local taxi companies will be waiting on hand. Weymouth is 5 miles from Osmington, Dorchester 6 miles, and the coast (Osmington bay Beach a 10 to 15 minute walk). Portland and the National Sailing Centre is a short hop on from Weymouth.
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesTennis courtWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 3 pm Check out by 10 am
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 8 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed
Notes from owner
Towels can be provided at an extra of £5 per set WIFI internet access is available at £10 per week with a fair use policy weekends and mid week breaks can be arranged outside of peek seasons Changeover days are Friday. Please do not book any other than Friday arrivals May - September

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222218943

Frequently Asked Questions about Jasmine Cottage

Jasmine Cottage is able to accommodate up to 8 guests. See all property details.

Jasmine Cottage has 3 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Jasmine Cottage has 4 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Jasmine Cottage must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

Jasmine Cottage - Tripadvisor - Holiday Rental in Osmington Mills