We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whispering Creek

4 reviews
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
4 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
8 guests
2 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
The sound of the creek at night will lull you to sleep, after you've spent the evening star gazing out on the patio or down at the fire pit. The sunrise will reveal Mt. Princeton as the sun's rays strike the summit; you'll watch this from the kitchen table while you enjoy your morning coffee.This rustic home, recently remodeled, was built around a 100-yr old log cabin. 4 bedrooms (2 up and 2 down, one non-comforming with two egress doors but no window). Additional guest bath downstairs. Spacious kitchen that you will enjoy spending time in, if you can drag yourself in from the incredible spaces outside! So much to do within minutes, no matter what your passion for the outdoors. When you return home you can soak in the hot tub, make a fire in the fire pit and roast marshmallows, or just...The sound of the creek at night will lull you to sleep, after you've spent the evening star gazing out on the patio or down at the fire pit. The sunrise will reveal Mt. Princeton as the sun's rays strike the summit; you'll watch this from the kitchen table while you enjoy your morning coffee.This rustic home, recently remodeled, was built around a 100-yr old log cabin. 4 bedrooms (2 up and 2 down, one non-comforming with two egress doors but no window). Additional guest bath downstairs. Spacious kitchen that you will enjoy spending time in, if you can drag yourself in from the incredible spaces outside! So much to do within minutes, no matter what your passion for the outdoors. When you return home you can soak in the hot tub, make a fire in the fire pit and roast marshmallows, or just pull up a chair on the deck overlooking the pond and enjoy the view of Mount Princeton through the trees and the sound of the adjacent Cottonwood Creek. Bar-B-Q (propane and charcoal) grills for your use. Ride your bike to the top of Cottonwood Pass from the house, and stop at Cottonwood Hot Springs on the way home, just two minutes away, or drive fifteen minutes up to Cottonwood Lake and spend the day enticing those trout to jump into your basket. You can also paddleboard or canoe across the lake if fishing doesn't interest you! Winter will find you just ten minutes up Cottonwood Creek (Hwy 306) to Collegiate Peaks campground, which is now groomed in winter for cross-country skiers. Snowmobilers just continue another five minutes to the parking lot where the road is closed. A quick trip to the top of of Cottonwood Pass in summer, by car reveals Colorado's finest scenery, or take the drive over to the old historic mining town of St. Elmo just a half hour drive. Aspen is only an hour and a half if you're brave enough to take the drive over the famed Independence Pass, not for the faint of heart! Whether your passion is whitewater rafting, kayaking, mountain biking or fly fishing, you can find it all within minutes of our front door. Four-wheelers take delight in the area's designated playgrounds, and rock climbers would find the multi-pitch Davis Face a great way to spend a day. Chaffee County also has more 14ers than any other county in Colorado, if you've had an inkling to stand on a summit of one of the highest peaks in the U.S. After all of this you'll find quality restaurants and breweries just a few short minutes away, but most likely you'll want to return to the Whispering Creek and take in the night sky from the patio. We're dog friendly but please be aware that dogs are not to be left unattended in the home while guests are out. We understand that there are activities that are not suited to our pups, but they can also become disoriented and perhaps engage in abnormal behavior while you are gone. We also ask that your dogs do not find the furniture comfy and that those who are used to sleeping with you not be allowed on the bedding in the home, as a courtesy to the next guest and to keep our comforters clean. We also require that guests pick up after their dogs; if the housekeeper has to do it she'll impose a stiff charge for this which will be deducted from deposit. Also please be advised that although we are child-friendly, there are two ponds, a hot tub, a creek and several smaller streams on the property and within toddler-range. Wi-fi is 'free' but somewhat limited, as it is satellite and not unlimited bandwidth, so please no streaming media. Come and enjoy one of the area's most secluded properties within ten minutes of town, relax, enjoy, and book your next year's stay while you're here, or as most of our guests tell us, they never want to leave! CLEANING FEE OF $125/STAY APPLIES DEPENDING ON # OF GUESTS. Extra $100 (refundable) deposit required if pets are joining you. Please bring pet deposit in a check or cash, which you will receive back upon checkout. NO SMOKING IN HOUSE, NO BUTTS ON THE PROPERTY. Thanks for your understanding and for keeping the place clean for the next guest to enjoy.More
House Rules
Bathrooms
Show more
About the Owner
Sherry E
Languages spoken:English, Spanish
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:February 2015
Write a reviewReviews (4)
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Loved listening to the creek. Some of the rooms are small but we didn't have any problems with that. Loved being surrounded by trees and we even saw ducks on the pond and deer walking through.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank bmlh41
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Sherry was very helpful with directions and suggestions. The house was easy to find, close enough to town to be convenient, but just far enough away to be a quiet oasis. The creek and pond were a treat - lots of fun exploring with two...More

Date of stay: March 2016
1  Thank Beverly E
Management response:Responded 14 March 2016

Thank you for the kind words and so happy that you had a great time here at Whispering Creek!

See more reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Sherry did an amazing job with directions, we found the place with no hiccups. The house and property was ideal for a mountain lover like myself. We sat outside for dinner taking in the views of the mountains and the smell of nature! It was...More

Date of stay: September 2015
1  Thank Rachel R
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We were quite disappointed when we arrived that the house we rented was advertised quite different from the actual property. Your listing for the vacation rental states; 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, free wifi internet, including a "newly renovated master suite full bath". In fact the...More

Date of stay: July 2015
5  Thank M D S
Management response:Responded 30 July 2015

We're sorry to hear that you found the property less than enjoyable and surprised that other than the slow internet, we did not hear any of this from you until five days after you left the property and asked for a refund. Regarding internet, we're...More

Amenities
Pets Allowed: Ask
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Ask
DVD Player
Refrigerator
Washer
Outdoor Dining Area
Towels Provided
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Cycling Trips
Corporate Bookings
Parking
Rural/Countryside Retreats
City Getaway
Linens Provided
Horse Riding Nearby
Internet Access
Toaster
Cooker
Grill
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
Fishing Nearby
Hot Tub
Central Heating
Blender
Dryer
Dishwasher
Fax
Cable/satellite TV
Waterfront
Iron
Hiking Trips
Microwave
Mountain Views
Wi-Fi
Kettle
Patio
Fireplace
See more amenities
Is this holiday rental clean?YesNoUnsure
Availability
September 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
View all months
See more rates and fees
Map
About the neighbourhood
The cabin is between 5 and 6 minutes to town (depending on traffic, or if there are deer in the road which is often). Located on the Cottonwood Creek, with two ponds on the property. Just minutes from town, great restaurants, on the road to Cottonwood Pass, fishing, hiking. The Arkansas River is a blue-ribbon trout fishing water... you can hire a guide in town or grab an area fishing map and head out on your own! Many places nearby to book a trip down the Arkansas in a raft or kayak, and the Collegiate Peaks golf course is only 10 minutes away!
How to get there
West on I70 from Denver to the Copper Mountain ski area, turn left, and within an hour you are here!
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2225864857