We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turtle View at the Peninsula

33 reviews
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
2 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
6 guests
4 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
This villa is for those who enjoy peace and tranquillity. The stunning waterfront location at the Peninsula along with the contemporary style is what sets this holiday home apart from others. The villa looks out from the Peninsula, towards Pelican Island and the reef beyond. A large infinity pool enables you to swim whilst enjoying the views in the distance. There are large areas of deck on either side of the villa, with ample room for sun-bathing. Cooling tropical breezes enable you to enjoy the tropical sunshine in comfort, even on the hottest days. The villa is about 25 mins from English Harbour. Furniture throughout is contemporary plantation style with plenty of seating/recliners to suit everyone. Inside are two bedrooms, located on different floors, each with en-suite fa...This villa is for those who enjoy peace and tranquillity. The stunning waterfront location at the Peninsula along with the contemporary style is what sets this holiday home apart from others. The villa looks out from the Peninsula, towards Pelican Island and the reef beyond. A large infinity pool enables you to swim whilst enjoying the views in the distance. There are large areas of deck on either side of the villa, with ample room for sun-bathing. Cooling tropical breezes enable you to enjoy the tropical sunshine in comfort, even on the hottest days. The villa is about 25 mins from English Harbour. Furniture throughout is contemporary plantation style with plenty of seating/recliners to suit everyone. Inside are two bedrooms, located on different floors, each with en-suite facilities; bedroom 1 has a king sized (5ft) four poster and bedroom 2 has two double (4ft6in) beds. There is a spacious lounge with breath-taking, 180 degree waterfront views. The open plan kitchen, living room opens up to the views and poolside allowing for the ever present easterly trade winds to cool the property. The fully equipped kitchen is modern with high end stainless steel appliances and a centre island.  It has a large American style freezer, separate drinks cooler, oven, hob and dishwasher. We do not have a microwave. All cooking and dining utensils are provided. Bedrooms and living areas have ceiling fans, (believe us you do not need air conditioning when you have tropical breezes). There is a downstairs laundry with washing machine (no tumble drier) and store room. There are inside and outside dining areas, designed to accommodate eight people. A sun deck with four loungers, overlooking crystal clear water and plenty of comfortable arm chairs to enjoy the shade. Turtle View is a luxury villa located in the exclusive Peninsula Development and was designed by Andrew Goodenough, one of Antigua's premier architects.  It is positioned on 0.55 acres of waterfront land, near to the village of Wilikies.  The villa is perfectly located for exploring the tropical breeding grounds and visiting the many deserted beaches.   This holiday home is for the discerning, who will appreciate peace, tranquility and privacy in a secure un-spoilt environment. A rental car is highly recommended. There are some full time residents who live at the Peninsula, who have moved out to Antigua to live the Caribbean dream. Claire is one of these and is our house manager. Guests who reviewed April 15, 2017 My husband and I have rented a dozen properties on different Caribbean islands and this is by far one of our favorites. The villa was in a quiet location. We slept comfortably. We stayed for two weeks and will definitely go back. My husband cooked the best dinners in the kitchen, which was well equipped and the best table was outside next to the pool. No reservations required. We had a list of the cruise ship schedule and if there were more than two ships in that day we stayed home. I'd say nothing on the island was more than 30 to 45 minutes away. The home suited us perfectly. We loved exploring the island during the day and staying in at night for happy hour and dinner. There was almost always a breeze going through the house so there was absolutely no need for A/C. Long Bay was less than 5 minutes away and our favorite spot was over by OJ's Beach Bar where we could get bucket of beers for the beach. Peace and Quiet with a Breathtaking View July 2016 Spent a week in mid July 2016, had a great time, I'd recommend getting a rental car and explore the island. Pictures don't do the house justice, the view on the deck is just amazing, great breezes, great kitchen with all needed equipment. Great pool, with a great view. Everything was clean and tidy. The outlets are all American style (2 flat prongs and one pin), You don't hear the neighbors, all you hear is the birds and breeze during the day, and the frogs and breeze at night. Bathrooms are very nice with large showers with great water pressure and temperature range. More
House Rules
Bathrooms
Show more
About the Owner
Jane L
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:80%
Response Time:Within a day
Listed Since:October 2010
Interaction with guests
Prior to your departure you can phone or email me with any questions that you have. We are happy to provide guidance on car hire and places to go when you are on the island. The house is managed by Claire, who moved out to Antigua to live full time. We will send you directions prior to your departure and the code for the key safe. Claire will either greet you or come up shortly after you have arrived. Claire is happy to advise you on places to go on the island. We provide basic provisions (water, eggs, milk, bread) prior to your arrival. Cleaning is arranged for the start and end of your break. If your stay is 2 weeks then there is an extra charge if you want a mid break clean.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2019

Overall it was positive experience. I've summarized the positive and negative points. The positive: - beautiful view and location - lovely balconies and terraces - pretty bed and interior - secluded and usually except for occasional neighborly music The negative: - dirty rusty pool that...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank dosary
Culture296632, VR Owner at Turtle View at the Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

We believe your review is somewhat unfair and biaiséd because the damage deposit arbitration was made in our favour. We fail understand how you managed to reach the window but the fact remains that you broke the entire window not just the glass and the...More

Reviewed 3 January 2019

Turtle View lived up to its name! Mornings were spent on the deck with coffee watching the turtles surface in the lagoon and the hummingbirds feed in the lush garden. We were out by mid-morning enjoying the many beaches and sites. Back by dark to...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank 107Manteo
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2018

This was my second stay at Turtle View and it was lovely. The home is well maintained and I just love the location. It's private, quiet and the views are breathtaking. Claire is great, friendly and there if you need her.More

Date of stay: November 2018
2  Thank Gertie115
Culture296632, VR Owner at Turtle View at the Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2018

Hi Julie Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had another great stay. Thanks for mentioning Claire because she likes to make sure that guests enjoy their stay and it means a lot to her when they are thankful....More

Reviewed 2 June 2018

Location is fine as long as you have a car, There's no mention of the steps down to the Villa, The swimming Pool has Rust coming through, the downstairs toilet is leaking, and the tiles are coming off the wall, the cups need replacing, and...More

Date of stay: May 2018
4  Thank Mrs Linda L
Management response:Responded 16 June 2018

Before your stay we corresponded on several occasions and we made the effort to leave the house looking lovely. We left a range of food items in the cupboard to make your initial start to the holiday easier. I feel very offended at your remarks...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

We loved our stay at Turtle View. The villa is beautiful with fabulous views. We are a family of 4 and it suited us perfectly. We recommend renting a car while you are there. We did not find any restaurants or shops within walking distance....More

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank Voyager723375
Management response:Responded 16 April 2018

Thanks for your lovely review. Yes you are right renting a car is a must. Hope you discovered the restaurant at long Beach called Mama Pasta. Kind regards Jane Laffan

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Suitable For Children Under 5
Refrigerator
Washer
Outdoor Dining Area
Towels Provided
Ocean Views
Private Garden
A Winter Sun Getaway
Ceiling Fans
Hairdryer
Parking
Linens Provided
Internet Access
Toaster
Cooker
Grill
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
Fishing Nearby
Water Views
Dishwasher
Freezer
Waterfront
Iron
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Balcony
Private Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
Wi-Fi
Kettle
Terrace
Patio
Deck
See more amenities
Availability
May 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
See more rates and fees
Map
About the neighbourhood
The Peninsula Antigua is located in North Sound on the Atlantic (East) coast of the Island and is protected by a chain of small uninhabited islands with white sandy beaches and coral reefs that are easily accessible by boat. It is fair to say that it is one of the most tranquil and unspoilt locations in the Caribbean. The three headlands that make up the Peninsula are surrounded by the shallow navigable waters of Belfast Bay, a stunning harbor that forms part of an archipelago that provides an excellent breeding ground for tropical fish and turtles. Dolphins and migrating whales can occasionally be seen from the bay. This area, which until recently could not be reached by road, is being developed sympathetically by long-time residents of Antigua in a style that reflects traditional ...
Getting around
We recommend that you hire a car for the duration of your holiday or arrange taxis. A local company Vernon's taxis and car rental will provide you with a competitive quote.
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL222140120