We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cartref

32 reviews
Save
Living Room
1 of 18
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
3 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
This 18th century detached cottage has been renovated to a very high specification by the owners who live just up the road and has kept all of its charm and character. It is located in the very quiet and beautiful village of Abbots Morton but is close to local amenities with nearby good quality restaurants, pubs and farm shops selling high quality local produce from neighbouring farms. It is situated within a short driving distance to world famous Stratford Upon Avon, historic Warwick (with the best castle in Europe), Leamington Spa (famous for its splendid array of independent shops), Cheltenham (the jewel in the UK's racing crown) and Worcester with its fine Cathedral. Ideally located for events at Ragley Hall and only 45 minutes from Cheltenham racecourse so handy for Gold Cup week! T...This 18th century detached cottage has been renovated to a very high specification by the owners who live just up the road and has kept all of its charm and character. It is located in the very quiet and beautiful village of Abbots Morton but is close to local amenities with nearby good quality restaurants, pubs and farm shops selling high quality local produce from neighbouring farms. It is situated within a short driving distance to world famous Stratford Upon Avon, historic Warwick (with the best castle in Europe), Leamington Spa (famous for its splendid array of independent shops), Cheltenham (the jewel in the UK's racing crown) and Worcester with its fine Cathedral. Ideally located for events at Ragley Hall and only 45 minutes from Cheltenham racecourse so handy for Gold Cup week! The Cotswolds & The Malverns are both easily accessible with famous walks and cycle paths. Golf, fishing and horse riding available locally. The house is 10 miles from both the M5 (Junc 6) & M40 (Junc 15), ideally located for getting around the Worcestershire / Warwickshire countryside and exploring the outstanding natural beauty of the North Cotswolds. The cottage has been renovated to a very high specification but has kept all of its original charm and character, with the added luxury of central heating, double glazed windows and running water! The cosy living room has solid oak flooring, an inviting wood-burning stove (logs not provided but the first basket can be provided with prior notification to the owner) and widescreen TV with Freeview. The kitchen is well fitted out with tiled floor, plenty of cupboards, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer, double oven and a Belfast sink. On the ground floor, there is a double bedroom with dual aspect overlooking the surrounding fields with en-suite shower room and toilet perfect for those who find stairs difficult. The first floor accommodates a further generously sized double bedroom. A further twin bedroom has a dressing room with large hanging wardrobe and plenty of space for a cot and or changing area. There is also a large family bathroom with bath, separate shower cubicle and toilet. Wi-Fi is available and all electricity and oil. Well behaved dogs are welcome but we ask that you do not allow them upstairs or in the downstairs bedroom. Enhanced Cleaning Programme during the COVID-19 Pandemic Please be assured, we have implemented all the necessary recommendations for effective cleaning and hygiene in our property. We leave a 24 hour gap between each booking in our property to allow for a thorough clean and ventilation. We have thoroughly briefed our cleaner and provided her with all necessary cleaning materials and protective clothing. All high touch surfaces (furniture, doorknobs, kitchen, bathroom surfaces etc.) will be cleaned and disinfected after each stay. Low touch surfaces (floors, blinds etc.) will be cleaned using hot water and detergent, then mopped or wiped down from one end of the surface to the other. To help your safety, we have taken the decision to ask you to bring your own bed linen and towels for your use in the cottage. However, should you prefer us to provide these, then that is no problem and we can do so at a small additional charge of £240to cover our extra cleaning costs. The following will be provided for our guests: • Hand sanitiser and antibacterial hand washes • Additional tissues and toilet rolls • Antibacterial cleaners for guest use We want you to feel safe and that all your needs cared for whilst you are our guest. If you have any further particular requirements, please let us know and we will be very happy to help. More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Dogs are welcome but they are not allowed upstairs or in the downstairs bedroom.
Bathrooms
1 Attached (ensuite), 1 Full bath
Show more
About the Owner
William A
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a day
Listed Since:January 2014
Write a reviewReviews (32)

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2020

This was the perfect cottage for us. It is beautifully kept and in a beautiful area, so many lovely walks from the door. It was ideal for us we had our daughter with us and Madge the dog. As we are somewhat ageing the downstairs...More

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank pamjunec
Reviewed 25 February 2020

I stayed here with my wife, daughter and our dog over a 3 night weekend. The cottage is on the edge of a small rural village. The cottage is very pretty and well appointed with good heating. The rooms are a good size. The beds...More

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank mrthom1316
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Date of stay: December 2019
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Vilamoura, Portugal
3
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile

Date of stay: October 2019
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Beautiful location for a beautiful cottage. I booked this cottage for a weeks holiday with my two young boys and my parents and we literally couldn't have asked for more. The owners are extremely friendly and indulged my boys fascination with animals by letting them...More

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Rhianbob
Coastal710314, VR Owner at Cartref, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Thanks so much for your kind comments, much appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again if you're visiting the area.

See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Quietly positioned cottage in countryside but near local attractions and towns. We had a superb week of weather so appreciated the garden and furniture. Comfortably accommodated the 6 of us and nice to have a downstairs bedroom and en-suite for my parents. Would return if...More

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank DeniseW901
Coastal710314, VR Owner at Cartref, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Thanks so much Denise for your kind comments about the cottage. We're delighted you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back if you visit the area again.

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Rudersdal Municipality, Denmark
4618
Reviewed 10 June 2019

More

Date of stay: May 2019
Coastal710314, VR Owner at Cartref, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

More

Reviewed 18 April 2019

Sadly our experience was marred by a couple of small issues. When we arrived there was no toilet paper at all downstairs and only a few sheets upstairs. The owner needs to warn visitors that they need to bring their own. Also the staircase starts...More

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Jan D
Coastal710314, VR Owner at Cartref, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Thank you for your review Jan and we apologise again for there being no toilet paper which should have been provided, although we always keep spare rolls in the utility. As mentioned we do have a ground floor bedroom for guests unable to manage the...More

Reviewed 8 January 2019

An enjoyable family Christmas was had at Cartref. We were a family of six adults visiting from Adelaide to spend time with relatives over Christmas. The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our 3 week stay even a Christmas tree. Will...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank helenbB3213RG
Coastal710314, VR Owner at Cartref, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2019

Thanks Helen. We're so glad you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the UK! Jayne

Reviewed 18 September 2018

Really enjoyed our 3 day break at Cartref. Lovely quaint cottage with plenty of room for 6 adults with lovely outdoor space and facilities. Delightful village and a plessure to wander around.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank maureen c
Coastal710314, VR Owner at Cartref, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Many thanks Maureen for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes Jayne

Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Central Heating
Suitable For Children Under 5
Dishwasher
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Highchair
Internet Access
Kettle
Linens Provided
Microwave
Parking
Private Garden
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
October 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
March 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
Map
+
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2221369007