We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the hidden mill

16 reviews
Save
1 of 19
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
10 guests
1 night minimum
Watermill
The hidden mill is a 400 year old A listed historic mill in a magical location. Set in 14 acres of rivers, waterfalls, ancient woodland with abundant wildlife, all under the famous Galloway night skies. Fabulous, hiking biking and watersports are on your doorstep in the Galloway forest park. Ironmacannie mill has served the local population for over 400 years as a grain mill until it was converted into a dwelling house in 1990. It sleeps a maximum 10 people.; 3 bedrooms and a fold out sofa bed in each of the two living spaces. It is decorated very simply with real materials and a rustic palate. Extra attention has been given to the beds to make the nights as delightful as the days. It has 2 bathrooms and an extra loo. The machinery room holds much of the original machinery of the ...The hidden mill is a 400 year old A listed historic mill in a magical location. Set in 14 acres of rivers, waterfalls, ancient woodland with abundant wildlife, all under the famous Galloway night skies. Fabulous, hiking biking and watersports are on your doorstep in the Galloway forest park. Ironmacannie mill has served the local population for over 400 years as a grain mill until it was converted into a dwelling house in 1990. It sleeps a maximum 10 people.; 3 bedrooms and a fold out sofa bed in each of the two living spaces. It is decorated very simply with real materials and a rustic palate. Extra attention has been given to the beds to make the nights as delightful as the days. It has 2 bathrooms and an extra loo. The machinery room holds much of the original machinery of the mill, which can still turn when the water is diverted to the wheel. The ancient kiln room door at the back takes you directly onto the river. The mill is an excelllent example of green energy, powered by a micro generation hydro turbine and heated with a ground source heat pump.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
1 Full bath, 1 Shower
Show more
About the Owner
Response Time:Within a few hours
Write a reviewReviews (16)

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2020

We wanted somewhere private to have a family week-end and this fitted the bill perfectly. We spent all week-end on site and made full use of the wood fired hot tub. The mill was really quirky with some amazing furniture paintings and toys. The kids...More

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Daydream20714403378
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

We spent a few nights at this lovely mill for a short break and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Loads of space inside and out equipped with everything you need. Tastefully furnished with the most wonderful handmade bed which is under a window where you can gaze...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank FranFife100
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

More

Date of stay: August 2017
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Friends and I spent a week at the Hidden Mill. The setting is tranquil and gorgeous; the Mill itself is a bit quirky and unique. I loved being outside in the evening, walking around the area listening to the river rush past, and enjoying a...More

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank donnasuej
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This is the second time we've stayed in the Mill, but it certainly won't be our last. The Mill is an absolutely beautiful building, complete with fully stocked kitchen, three bathrooms, plenty of room for sleeping...but most of our time is usually spent in the...More

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank 478fortuns
Lorraine I, VR Owner at the hidden mill, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thanks guys

See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We had the most amazing couple of days up in Dumfries with our two young children! So good, we had to drag ourselves away. The weather was tremendous for this time of year and both Lorraine and Uula (owners) pointed us in the right direction...More

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Sham340
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We filled up the Mill for a birthday celebration and had an incredible weekend relaxing in the countryside. With comfortable rooms each filled with unique quirks and character and a well equipped kitchen for cooking up brunch and hearty suppers, we made the most of...More

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank AlecF8
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Filthy, mouse droppings, nose pickings left on door architraves, oven didn't work properly, wood burner took four hours to get going, (suggest it might be an unswept flue causing the problem) and logs thereafter charged at £10 a throw, what? Sweat TENT £50 if you...More

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Helen R
Lorraine I, VR Owner at the hidden mill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We are sorry you had a bad experience, it would have been good if you had spoken to us at the time. We work hard to keep the mill to a very high standard of cleanliness occasionally something can get missed. This is the first...More

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

More

Date of stay: October 2016
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Lots of cubby holes and interesting rooms and features. Roomy accom in a very peaceful setting. Eco-accom. Friendly host offering advice on the house and it's idosyncracies. The wifi was perfectly reasonable for a rural location.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank MappingMum
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Boat Available
Books
Central Heating
Suitable For Children Under 5
Dishwasher
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Highchair
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Local Guides/Maps
Microwave
Parking
Private Fishing Lake/River
Private Garden
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Water Views
Waterfront
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Long Term Rentals (Over 1 Month)
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
March 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
Map
+
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2221195169