Visas for stays for up to 3 months are not required for citizens of the European Union, USA, Canada, Israel, Australia, New Zealand, part of Eastern Europe, and several Asian countries. All other nationalities are required to have an entry visa. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs web site has a list of Austrian Embassies where you can apply for visa – . Unfortunately, at the moment this information available only in German.

Austria is part of the Schengen Agreement, which means that a visa issued by one Schengen country is valid for all member countries. With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen zone. If you plan to visit several Schengen countries, you should apply for a visa at the Embassy or Consulate of the country, which is your first point of entry. At present, there are 15 Schengen countries, all in Europe. The 15 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden. All these countries except Norway and Iceland are European Union members. For more information about Schengen visa, go to

 If driving in Austria, be aware that you must purchase a sticker for your car before leaving the autobahn. The stickers are 8 Euros and are available at gas stations and post offices. There is a 120 Euro fine for not having the sticker and enforcement stops exist, sometimes within a few yards of the autobahn exit.