We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining.”
Review of Gasthof Hirsch

Gasthof Hirsch
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Schramberg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Food was excellent. Servers were professional and courteous. There was plenty to eat for everyone at our table, including a vegetarian. Definitely worth a visit when in Schramberg.

Date of visit: September 2013
1  Thank seedsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Walking through the door you get an odd impression, as if you're walking through a closed pub, but up the stairs to the first floor and you walk into a different world. We dropped in for a spot of lunch and fell in love with the lace. The furnishings and table settings reminded me of the posh restaurants I visited thirty years ago, but the service was most welcoming.

The wine list was a eye-opener. The pages were:
- local Rieslings
- local wines from other grapes
- less local German wines from the grapes not grown locally
- half bottles
- Bordeaux
and that was it. Clearly a list drawn up by somebody who knew what they were at. If you don't think you like German wine, give it a chance. I had the Ortenberg Sauvignon Blanc and it was as good or better than anything else I've had at the price.

As it was the new wine season, the amuse bouche was Zwiebelkuchen (onion tart), then home made bread and dripping.

As I'd just dropped in for a spot of lunch, the starter platter with a little of everything seemed just the job. I often wish in restaurants that I had the courage to just graze the starters - and here I got the chance. So for EUR14 I had smoked salmon with freshly-roasted coriander seeds, a bruschetta, a tomato and mozzarella, a fish terrine, a herring tartar, melon with Black Forest ham and vitello tonnato. Yum yum! And a plate of petits fours to follow (my hobby, the lady said!).

Everything fresh and tasty and there's an obvious love of food and cooking here. Why wouldn't you like it? You might just feel uneasy at the apparent formality. Relax! Needless to say English is spoken - we saw an American couple guided through the fish options with more knowledge that I've seen in Britain.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank re06202014c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthof Hirsch also viewed

Schramberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schramberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Schramberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schramberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Schramberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schramberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Gasthof Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing