We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
20
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Hotel Holzschuh (Wooden Shoe) was a great choice for a last minute autumn weekend in the Black Forest. Going into a new area, youre never sure just what to expect. Hotel Holzschuh satisfied in every respect.

The hosts cheerfully welcomed us, and were ready for our check-in even though we were two hours early. The room made efficient use of space with ample closets, hangers, and shelves for clothes and incidentals. The bath was small, but clean and modern, with a good supply of linens. A private balcony, adorned with flower boxes, added more living space on a mild day.

Dinner was excellent in Holzschuh's restaurant. Chicken breast and trout fillet were freshly prepared and attractively presented. The dining room itself had an elegance of a bygone era.

Breakfast was also good, considering Holzschuh is a small establishment. There were fresh white brotchen with several choices of cheese and jams. (All meat, however, was pork.) Yogurts, cereal, and other toppings were also available. But perhaps the nicest surprise was the cooked to order eggs!

The only (slight) negative was occasional traffic noise, but such must be expected with a convenient highway highway location.

We highly recommend Hotel Holzschuh and are already planning another, longer visit.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HomeGoneHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Although my German is mediocre at best, the friendly smiling staff were helpful and understanding. Room was dated but pristine and also rather large, with a lovely balcony. The chef was awesome and the food was always on point and traditional. Cracking, friendly place, 5 stars well earned! :)

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank lorddoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel with a really good breakfast! A bit far from everything, but a short ride will take you to many towns and sights. Rooms weren't that big, but they're clean and cozy. The food was also good, they have english menus also. And you might get a room with a balcony. The staff speak's some english too.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank soilevaaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Hotel interior is quite dated but this just added character, everything was clean and functional. Our room was huge with a balcony however the bathroom was a tight fit. Breakfast was fine and the restaurant was fantastic, we ate there every night. Hosts are very friendly and spoke English. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ash098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Cozy, clean and efficient room, very nice and caring attention from the hosts. We've been only one night but it felt like home. The restaurant for dinner was also very nice, I liked my dish of potatoes, spinach and Cantharellus mushrooms (pfifferlinge in German). The menu is in English, but the menu with those mushrooms is in German.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank 992marinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews