We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
31
7
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
7
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi short drive great hosts electric blankets cradle mountain relaxation spa accommodation serenity neil cone bedroom country town home tasmania cows
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed for an early spring weekend, while on business in Latrobe, 5 minutes away. Very clean, very pleasant. The suite was perfect for a couple or a couple with a young child, with views of Latrobe and the snow covered tops of what we guessed were the Great Western Tiers. Free wifi, too. We used the electric blankets overnight as wall heater thermostats are hard to make perfectly silent - and we slept well.

You can wander about a bit on the farm, with the usual caveats about closed gates, with a pretty little meditation path nearby, alpacas further down the hill and cows munching away on the grass in the nearby paddocks.

There is a 'cone of silence' on the property, which looked intriguing and a range of alternative lifestyle relaxation services seem to be available at times.

The bathroom is large and well appointed, with a big bath plus separate shower stall. Great service and handy to Latrobe but away from the noise of town. You can have breakfast alfresco if you like, with the table and chairs out the front.

A hint: When I searched online maps I couldn't find the place at first because 298 Coal Hill Road is apparently some distance past the farm gate by GPS. Once you get there, it's easy, though, because the farm gate is on the right as you come from Latrobe and has a big sign in gold lettering that really stood out, especially at night. It's also worth knowing that Coal Hill Road has a right angled bend in it, 200 meters from the farm gate.

Room tip: A couple with a teenager, a girl especially, might want to choose one of the larger units for extra privacy.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgil321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan298, Owner at Sherwood View Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review. It is a beautiful spot in the summer also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed at Sherwood View for our first night in Tassie after we got off the Spirit. Our 2 bedroom unit was well appointed, warm and comfortable, suiting our family of 5 very well. The breakfast provisions were wholesome and plentiful, catering for a range of tastes. The hosts were friendly, leaving the lights on for us when we had a late arrival. The shower was hot with good pressure and the heater worked a treat. We highly recommend Sherwood View.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Moosetash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We had seen the good reviews but were still extremely impressed with the quality of the accommodation. The unit was spacious, very clean and well-equipped, especially the kitchen.

It is a peaceful place to stay, away from town centres, but still convenient for going into Latrobe for dinner, and was a great base for us exploring Cradle Country.

We'll definitely be back when we're next in the region!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dmpm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan298, Owner at Sherwood View Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you, and it is a great area to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Had a great disabled room with good wheelchair access inside and out.

Gorgeous views from every window. Very peaceful and quiet.

The owners where VERY friendly and created "breakfast baskets" even tho a B&B. It had home fresh laid eggs, bacon, yogurt, bread, milk, fresh squeezed juice" and a selection of cereals. It was setup so you can have breakfast when YOU want to not to someone else's schedule. It was so beautiful and only 5 minutes drive to Latrobe. We will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KayleneMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight in a double & single room.
Room had a kitchenette with all the usual things you need for self sufficiency. Including small dining nook.
There was a small lounge next to the beds. Couches to look out on ton the lush green paddocks.
Room has a TV for DVD use only - no actual TV reception - although there was a good selection of DVDs in the room.
Bathroom was massive & clean, with excellent water pressure.
Had a make it yourself breakfast - homestead style!
Hosts are warm and welcoming.
Lovely B & B farm stay away from it all

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LilianKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews