We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wow..”
Review of Anvers Cafe

Anvers Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Latrobe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our traditional European style coffee shop takes your taste buds back to the good old days. The speciality of the house is of course CHOCOLATE, hot chocolate in many flavours, chocolate desserts and ... more chocolate. Belgian breakfasts, which include our range of freshly made Belgian style Waffles and light Tasmanian fare luncheon are served together with a range of teas and espresso coffees for morning and afternoon breaks. Breakfast serves from 7am - 12 noon Lunch serves from 12 noon - 3pm Afternoon fare serves till 6pm.
Reviewed 8 November 2019

Came in yesterday with my husband and son after the kitchen had stopped cooking. We sat ourselves down so it took a bit longer for us to be served, which was fine, but once we were, we got served by a young girl with a bright personality. And she was only in training!!!! Our son is 3 and is very loud and exuberant and she walked through his loudness in a breeze. Took our order and joked around with us and had a laugh. We had a slice of chocolate mousse cake and a chocolate milkshake. Both delivered promptly and both were to die for. Will 100% be returning for another experience like this. Well done Anvers, you have an exceptional new staff member and gave us an experience we are going to share with our friends and family for a long time!! :)

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank GrangerFambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2019

We had a fifteen minute wait for a table for brunch - usually a good sign - and it was worth the wait!

She had "pesto mushrooms on toast with a poached egg". Said it was very good and her drink was the best mocha ever.

My "stollen" was a particularly flavoursome fruit bread with separate bowls of butter and chocolate sauce - probably more accurately described as a chocolate butter. Very sophisticated dish, and by far the best chocolate sauce I have ever had. Decadent! That little bowl of fruit pieces - honeydew, kiwi and sliced orange - was a master stroke - the fruit acidity really cleansed the richness of the stollen. Brilliant.

And the chille chocolate is as luscious as ever.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

Have been looking to visit this place for years. Very disappointed when I finally got there.

Cafe was a let down with very limited choice and on tasting the chocolates, i didn’t like them very much (no real flavour). Overall everything was way too expensive and just not worth it.

Won’t be going back or recommending.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Krissy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Returning here after 5yrs.

Waffles stopped at 3pm and staff were quite rude to our group at 3.10pm of 5 families who had all driven there especially for the waffles :-(

Tea tasted like dishwater. Cakes bought instead of waffles were left as they were dry. (What kid leaves a chocolate cake!) and chocolate milkshake was just thick Cottees syrup. What a waste of money. Really disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Cowankids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
anversLatrobe, General Manager at Anvers Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Hello Cowankids, normally I use all reasonable feedback (good or bad) as part of our staff training days; I do not believe this is a reasonable complaint. As much as we try and do everything possible to cater for our guests; we cannot afford to have our kitchen staff on stand-by at overtime rates on a Monday afternoon just in case FIVE FAMILIES might show up unannounced.

If you had just made a 2 minute phone-call to organise waffles for your daughter's Birthday party our chefs would have kept the irons hot and one would have stayed back to cater for your large party (the last of your party arrived at 3.30pm).

Obviously, nothing our staff did after your disappointment would have satisfied you but I will try and answer your complaints;
- Weak Tea?; we put the same amount of tea in every pot. Longer infusion would make it stronger for your taste.
- Dry Cakes?; We make our Cakes freshly everyday and as such in the last 1.5hour of opening hours on a Monday our range is smaller (so that we can make fresh ones again the next day). The strong flavours of our Red Velvet Cake might not suit children's tastebuds.
-Cottees syrup? We make fresh couverture chocolate - and Tasmanian Berry sauces daily for our milk shakes.

Again, may I suggest that in the future, if you would like to organise a large party for your daughter's birthday in any venue it might pay to call ahead; but it is unfair to blame our hardworking staff if you drop in unannounced near closing time on a Monday with a 5 Family group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

Visited Anvers Cafe with a friend on the way to Launceston from Devonport. Located conveniently on the main highway with plenty of off road parking and pleasant grounds; disabled access to the building; clean inside toilets; Did not have food and drink as called in to try and buy chocolate!! Viewed interesting history of chocolate making display items and able to watch chocolate making process through glass windows; staff generally friendly and helpful, especially in chocolate shop where free samples are available prior to purchase. If you've only had supermarket chocolate you are in for a quality surprise. Gluten free chocolate also available.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Anvers Cafe also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Anvers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.