We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Lunch”
Review of Irwin Inn - CLOSED

Irwin Inn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The three of us had never been here before and we pleasantly surprised. We all ordered the same dish, fettuccine alfredo. Very good but it lacked a bit of seasoning we all felt but the presentation was very good and we enjoyed the garlic toast that came with it. Love view of Stoney Lake but the windows could have been a lot cleaner. Waitress was very friendly and lovely to chat with. Two of us decided to share a cheese cake and the waitress split the serving in two and served mine with a birthday candle. What a lovely idea. So thoughtful. Thank you. We would return again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PerthDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Got here Friday night and went to outer room only to fined 2" of dust on the night tables, dresser and bed post... Next morning went to make breakfast and the frying pan still had old cooked on food still on the pan... Tried to rent a boat and they have 1... Yes 1 boat and it was already rented.. Web site said there was lots of stuff to do like tubing and stuff but there was nothing! Kinda wanna check out now and get my money back... That's if I can find someone to do that as there is never anyone around for help!

3  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

If you were to believe the marketing this is a luxury family resort. Not by any stretch would I couple the name of this resort with the word "luxury". We had a family reunion there July 2015 with over 85 people in attendance. We were last there 5 years ago for the same event. It wasn't great then so shame on us for once again picking this spot - out of sentiment only! The manager could rarely be found either by phone (you can leave a voice mail and she may get back to you the next day) or at the desk. When found, she is unhelpful. The staff are few and if you need assistance after 9 p.m. you will not find any. The rooms were probably redone 20 years ago and are at best quaint. Holes in window screens allowed mosquitoes full access to our 2 year old grandson (and us). The golf course is an untended field so don't even think about attempting a game. The food - when you finally get it - is good. A grilled cheese sandwich arrived 1 1/2 hours after we ordered it and we waited a further half hour for our meal, making us late for the family activities. A beer took 1 hour to arrive. (all on the patio attached to the main restaurant) Dinner for almost 90 people was served by 2 waitresses and 2 tray bearers with a bartender. Very slow and most children had to go to bed before dessert. The children's play area was a sodden, muddy area with a roof. A rough piece of board and discarded rusty builder's tool were found by one of the 6 year olds there. To add insult to the poor experience these people do know how to charge. Expensive and such a disgrace. Maybe someone will buy this property and start again. Nothing worthwhile to rejuvenate. As I said I am still angry. We won't be coming back - ever.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HelenMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

We visited the "resort" recently for a family event... The staff was helpful and accommodating until the day of our event when they turned rude and provided us with crap treatment.

The boardwalk is falling apart, the games room is under water (it's like it was flooded and the meat was all grizzle. I would not recommend this place to anyone... Don't waste your money.

Oh ps... I was even yelled at by the hottest in front of other guests on checkout when I brought up my concerns from my stay.

2  Thank DJGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We stayed for the first time here. It was a perfect time to go; as it was more like a B & B and only 2 other couples at most. Perfect Anniversary getaway. Had a Loon wade right past us on the dock. Came within 20 Ft of a white tale deer, Beautiful sunsets over Stoney Lake. Hot tub on the deck was full size; and the West side Spa Suite was huge. Breakfast made to order and never had to have lunch all 4 days; due to the size of breakfast we could have. Staff were great. Jennifer is so knowledgeable of the area; and can save you a lot of time running around. This is our first time in the Kawarthas and we will be back. Beautiful

1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irwin Inn also viewed

Lakefield, Selwyn Township
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
 
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
 
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing