We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Angry!”
Review of Irwin Inn - CLOSED

Irwin Inn
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 April 2016

If you were to believe the marketing this is a luxury family resort. Not by any stretch would I couple the name of this resort with the word "luxury". We had a family reunion there July 2015 with over 85 people in attendance. We were last there 5 years ago for the same event. It wasn't great then so shame on us for once again picking this spot - out of sentiment only! The manager could rarely be found either by phone (you can leave a voice mail and she may get back to you the next day) or at the desk. When found, she is unhelpful. The staff are few and if you need assistance after 9 p.m. you will not find any. The rooms were probably redone 20 years ago and are at best quaint. Holes in window screens allowed mosquitoes full access to our 2 year old grandson (and us). The golf course is an untended field so don't even think about attempting a game. The food - when you finally get it - is good. A grilled cheese sandwich arrived 1 1/2 hours after we ordered it and we waited a further half hour for our meal, making us late for the family activities. A beer took 1 hour to arrive. (all on the patio attached to the main restaurant) Dinner for almost 90 people was served by 2 waitresses and 2 tray bearers with a bartender. Very slow and most children had to go to bed before dessert. The children's play area was a sodden, muddy area with a roof. A rough piece of board and discarded rusty builder's tool were found by one of the 6 year olds there. To add insult to the poor experience these people do know how to charge. Expensive and such a disgrace. Maybe someone will buy this property and start again. Nothing worthwhile to rejuvenate. As I said I am still angry. We won't be coming back - ever.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helen Mara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

We visited the "resort" recently for a family event... The staff was helpful and accommodating until the day of our event when they turned rude and provided us with crap treatment.

The boardwalk is falling apart, the games room is under water (it's like it was flooded and the meat was all grizzle. I would not recommend this place to anyone... Don't waste your money.

Oh ps... I was even yelled at by the hottest in front of other guests on checkout when I brought up my concerns from my stay.

2  Thank DJGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We stayed for the first time here. It was a perfect time to go; as it was more like a B & B and only 2 other couples at most. Perfect Anniversary getaway. Had a Loon wade right past us on the dock. Came within 20 Ft of a white tale deer, Beautiful sunsets over Stoney Lake. Hot tub on the deck was full size; and the West side Spa Suite was huge. Breakfast made to order and never had to have lunch all 4 days; due to the size of breakfast we could have. Staff were great. Jennifer is so knowledgeable of the area; and can save you a lot of time running around. This is our first time in the Kawarthas and we will be back. Beautiful

1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Terrible, aweful experience. We will never go back. We will tell everyone we know to spend their money with someone that cares about their customers. Dennis Irwin treated our family like 3rd rate citizens. The place is run down and shotty. It looks like it is ready to fall in the lake.

15  Thank Beetonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stopped here for a very late lunch on our way around the Kawarthas area. We had a nice lunch- the tomatoe basil soup was excellent. If you choose the spinach salad- you might like to request the dressing on the side since it was quite heavy on my salad. My husband had the grilled cheese and enjoyed it. The location is what really makes the lunch enjoyable - sitting on the wood deck looking at the lake and the islands!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irwin Inn also viewed

Lakefield, Selwyn Township
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
 
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
 
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
Lakefield, Selwyn Township
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;