We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,599)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveller rating
616
252
223
172
336
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
252
223
172
336
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnightly showsa lot of funbad reviewsprivate beachmariposaanimationvolleyball
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

First of all I have to say that the beach is a gorgeous site and the water is fantastic. But the hotel is a complete disappointment. We got there late at night and after checking in we walked with our suitcases up to the 3rd floor only to find it impossible to get in. When my husband came back he told me had been given the wrong room number so we went to the building next door to go to the 3rd floor again. The next morning we found that the shower head holder was broken so would not hold the shower head. That was finally fixed after speaking with management in a meeting. The water pressure was minimal, and later, much later, were shown "look it goes fast you just have to jiggle the trigger piece and turn it" and it does go fast, only problem is that the pressure only came when it was hot 100%. The fridge in the room did not work. The toilet did not flush very well or sometimes not at all because the water was not consistent so a shower also was not necessarily an option. The phone in the room did not work; how would it???? there wasn't even a cord or a phone jack! One light had no cover on it. The door required a linebacker mentality to get it open.
The food in the buffet was quite poor with little to no variety. The only saving grace was there was an option for food that was made to order (a lot of people waited for that). The food in the a la carte was better but nothing to get excited about. Be sure to bring small monetary amounts because they REFUSE to give you change/smaller amounts. I could go on forever about this place so I will simply say DO NOT STAY HERE if you wish to relax and be stress free!

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower floor and in the main/beach hotel location for the best chance at success.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonnaP2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C M, General Manager at Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Estimated Donna, we regret to read that your experience has not been pleasant and that our hotel has not met your expectations.
We are working hard every day to improve our services and facilities and we hope you will give us another opportunity to see how much we are improving.

Best regards.
Sara Zuin, Room Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

my kids love to go there they enjoy the pool , the beach is perfect for kids .if they are happy I am happy . All food and drinks are included..The place is clean and you feel safe being there. my favorate part is the casino right onside of the hotel.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C M, General Manager at Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

We take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comment.
It is a pleasure for us to know that your kids love our hotel!

We expect you back soon.

Best regards.
Sara Zuin,
Room Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Entertainment team (The Princess, DJ Solution, Kuku Flash), food, bars, gym, structure and room are nice. The beach is totally incredible. I'd recommend the visit in "suites" due to premium/vip benefits.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Diemerson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C M, General Manager at Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Estimated, we would like to thank you for leaving us your comment. It is a pleasure for us to know that you really enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon to keep enjoying together.

Best regards.

Sara Zuin,
Room Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We were here for 2 weeks. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you're ok roughing it. If you are expecting the pristine all-inclusive that is in the pictures, book elsewhere. Those pictures are probably from 10-15 years ago. Everything in the resort is in a state of disrepair. I would say the Garden side is quieter than the Beach side. We were lucky with the room we had. Many people we spoke with were on their 4th room due to cleanliness or disrepair and just settled because they were leaving in a couple days.

Room: Our room and bed were clean, the mattress was hard as a rock. 3 of the 6 lights in the room worked (either due to no lightbulbs or the plugins were blown). We had 2 days where the water was shut off in the resort. Our sink leaked under the cabinet and into the room. We spoke to the hotel once and our sunwing rep twice, it took 7 days to fix. You must pay $3US? per day for the in-room safe. You also are not supposed to flush your toilet paper... This was my third time to the Dominican and I have never been at a resort where this was posted. Yuck

Staff: Most were friendly and spoke some English, French and/or Russian. A tip, a smile and a gracias can go a long way. Beware the men in tan shirts as they are only interested in selling you a time share at the resort. Bellhop Danilo was extremely friendly.

Souvenirs: If you are looking to buy gifts without spending an arm and a leg, do not buy from the men selling in the resort or on the beach. They are a rip off, even when you think you have haggled a fair price. Check out the shops down the street or even better, head into Santo Domingo. There is a grocery store within walking distance called Ole for snacks and food.
Example: Baseball hat: Resort 2400 pesos haggled to 600 pesos. Shop down the block 450 pesos, no haggling.
Example: 2 Bottles of Vanilla: Resort/Beach $15US haggled to $10US. Grocery Store in Santo Domingo 108 pesos/$2US

Food: The food at the buffet and the A La Carte restaurants was horrible. Fruit was hard to come as it was snatched up by guests quick. Keep in mind that Dominican cuisine is very bland so they do not like to add spices to anything. They think pepper is spicy. The juices are artificial and VERY sweet. We always did half juice, half water to choke it down. The coffee and hot chocolate were good, be sure to try some off resort, it's even better. There are also stray cats that frequent the buffet area. They are never on the tables or near the food, but you may hear a meow from under your table.

Excursions: La Hacienda was awesome. $130 ($99 from Punta Cana) for safari ride, dune buggies, chairlift ride, zip line, horseback riding, bungee quick jump. Lunch included. It was a 3 hour bus ride there and 3 hours back, so be prepared for a long day. Friends of ours missed the bus and caught a taxi for $90, so its a pretty good price for what you get. Bring a swimsuit or change of clothes.
Submarine Snorkel, don't waste your money. The "reef" they take you to is dead, so not much for fish.

Beach: Was good. The sand is not raked so don't expect soft sand. We were lucky there were no sand fleas. On the plane home, everyone from Punta Cana had sand flea bites (one requiring a paramedic on the tarmac). Bring bug spray, just in case. The water was warm and shallow. If you're looking for fish, bring some fruit with you, they hang out at the far end by the safety rope. If you're adventurous, go past the rope, there will be more fish. It's shallow all the way to the artificial reef. Be safe, always keep an eye and ear out for passing boats.
We brought our own towels with us (otherwise you pay $20 US to rent one).

The resort was full of Russians and we found them rude and obnoxious to not only the staff but other guests as well. At least one brawl broke out on the beach.

Bring smaller US dollars or pesos with you. We had a heck of a time trying to have our bigger bills broken down for tips without being charged.
There is a lot of counterfeit money circulating in the DR. A restaurant we went to in Santo Domingo would not accept $100 US bill because of that.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fynnand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C M, Director General at Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Good afternoon Dear,

In the name of the Be Live Experience Hamaca, we thank you for leaving us your comments, as this certainly does not improve every day.
The opinions of our clients help us to evaluate and improve the quality of our services plus customer service, every day we strive to achieve the deserved service.

We reiterate our thanks,


Best regards,

Anabel Alcantara
Customer service assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Pool was nice, ocean front was beautiful, food was fine, ROOM WAS DISGUSTING!
No hot water in bathroom, rusty bathtub, bathroom window stuffed with toilet paper, leaking toilet, old/worn/dirty furniture, had to ask 2x for towels, room was not available at 3PM checkin. Maintenance came to assess the water problem but it was obviously a problem much larger than he was equipped to deal with. My parents' room had similar issues. I will never consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KABK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter C M, Director General at Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Good morning Mrs. Jana,

We regret to know that your stay was not entirely pleasant in our Hotel. We would like to apologize, for not filling your expectations. We greatly appreciate your comments about our Hotel, because these help us to improve day by day.

Best regards!


Anabel Alcántara
Customer service assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews