We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with lovely views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Granville
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We stayed in a Prestige room which was very comfortable and quiet. It was very well appointed and spacious.

Breakfast was disappointing in that it is served in the conservatory and is quite cramped. The quality of the breakfast was not of a similar standard to other Mercures where we have stayed.

Access to the garage is extremely difficult as is manoeuvring inside. If not parking in the garage guests have some way to walk to the nearest parking area

Room Tip: Prestige room is worth the difference in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thedemandingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel at the end of August. The service and standard was brilliant.
Decent size room with a small balcony, big enough for two chairs and a little table. Nice to sit outside in the evenings and look out. We faced in land but fine.
We had good facilities, table and chair, then small lobby area with two small cupboard/ wardrobes and an area for storage. Fridge and tea and coffee facilities
Good sized combined bathroom i.e. toilet and shower. Lovey shower, powerful and consistent water flow. Towels plentiful and soft.
Lots of plug sockets for the electrical kit we have today namely iPhone and iPad.
Good fast free WIFI.
Fantastic location overlooking the beach one side and the town the other. within walking distance to the attractions of Granville town. A small supermarket is five minutes’ walk form the hotel, Carrefour Mini.
Plenty of free street parking. The hotel does have parking but as we have a large car we prefer to take our chances on the street as the bays in the hotel are so small. We did leave our bikes free of charge in the hotel car park though
We had drinks in the bar, again good service and reasonable choice and prices.
The hotel has his own lift down to the beach but get the key pass from reception to get back up, on the back of the key card is the key code to return through the little coded door once you have entered the first door from the promenade
Good, safe beach however strong tides as you would expect for this part of France. There is a fabulous sea pool created when the tide goes out. Safe walk in from the beach then lovely swim! There are sunbathing areas on the promenade for when the tide is right in, and no beach.
Lovely location for sight seeing. We visited the D Day beached and Mont St Michel from here

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit and we had been impressed two years ago. We paid extra for a sea view which is lovely....however the hotel is adjoined to a large French (NHS) Rehab facility and our room was close to a patio where patients played music, sang and chatted till after midnight. Before 0500 we were woken by boilers/heating systems/pumps i.e. Something that makes lots of noise....
So, if booking - ask to be far away from Rehab unit. Breakfast at €17 is expensive and pretty average and place could do with an upgrade. Position is fantastic

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Poobahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed here as a family on an overnight on the way to the ferry. The receptionist was polite and welcoming and let us check in early. Our room was nice, a duplex room, with the children staying in the nice double bed up top and us on the sofa bed downstairs.
We liked the access via the lift to the beach but that was about it. We had a partial view of the sea. There didn't seem to be any facilities except a restaurant and bar. The bar prices were exorbitant, most expensive I have seen in a long time in France and it was a shame because it could be such a great bar as it has such wonderful views but it was soulless and hugely over-priced and probably as a result of that there was noone there.
We didn't have breakfast as we didn't want to pay 16euros a head.
BEWARE though. On my return to the UK I noticed that the hotel had blocked over £250 from my bank account without warning. It wasn't after a phonecall to my bank and subsequently the hotel that I knew what they had done. I found that fairly dishonest because the hotel had made no mention of this at any point during our stay. It wasn't until two days after I came home that they 'returned' the money. They advised me it was normal policy but I use many hotels in Europe and I have never experienced this before.
In conclusion, a fairly expensive yet underwhelming hotel. Fine for an overnight but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AngieBoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Really lovely hotel with attentive staff in a delightful setting. The room was spotless and the balcony most welcome, affording great sea views. Ample parking and a comfortable, well appointed bar and restaurant area

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARYLENE M, Directrice at Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear sir,

We do thank you and appreciate your feeling after staying in our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards

Marylene Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
0.7 km away
Hotel ibis Granville Port de Plaisance
0.1 km away
Hotel des Bains
Hotel des Bains
#4 of 7 in Granville
323 reviews
1.1 km away
Brit Hotel Granville
Brit Hotel Granville
#6 of 7 in Granville
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Au Bout Du Quai
Au Bout Du Quai
#1 of 7 in Granville
98 reviews
25.8 km away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
605 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Donville-les-Bains
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel

Address: 5 rue de la Falaise | B.p. 617, 50400 Granville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Granville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Granville
Price Range: $115 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Mercure Granville Le Grand Large enjoys a quiet cliff top location looking out to the Chausey Islands. Close to the town centre, the casino, the Dior Museum, Mont St Michel and the boat terminal for crossings to the Chausey Islands, Jersey and Guernsey. The hotel forms part of the Previthal thalassotherapy centre with direct access to the steam bath and Jacuzzi as well as the treatment centre. Solarium, lounge bar and terrace with panoramic views. Direct access to the beach. Secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel Granville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing