We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
870
321
70
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
321
70
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden costa rica expeditions balcony room butterfly room cloud forest el jardin restaurant turn down service heated pool santa elena beautiful grounds resplendent quetzal small balcony walking trails frog pond every evening restaurant staff three nights
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This hotel was adorable and even though they were closing for two weeks after we checked out, we still had amazing service. The room was really cute. I would only say that maybe they should have more king/queen rooms as we got a room with two double beds which are just too small for two people. We had to cancel our trip here for January and they were gracious enough to let us use the credit towards this September trip. Kudos to the manager for this. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Gaye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Gaye F,

Thank you for your comment and for you recommendation.

I am not sure in which room category you stayed, but the only category of room that comes with a King Bed is the Garden room, which happens to the be the most standard option we have. Each category has its perks:

The Balcony Rooms, these are our guests favorite room because you can sit on your balcony with morning coffee, the toucans, bellbirds and monkeys often give you a show. Night time balcony sitting is also special, on clear nights the stars will entertain you.

If you are unable to get a Balcony Room (reserve early) you may want to consider our Superior Garden Room, with direct access to the garden and small patio where the wildlife and stars are equally active.

Next would be the Forest View Downstairs Rooms, they have exactly the same layout as the Balcony rooms but with a bay window instead of a balcony. These are more affordable, have views of the forest under story where you will often see monkeys, agoutis, and Emerald toucanets.

And, finally our most affordable option are our Garden Rooms. They are quite small but cozy, with King beds, they have direct access to the garden with a small terrace.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

This large property has beautiful serene gardens to relax in. The upper floor has a charming balcony that overlooks the forest. We were able to check in early and get a room upgrade as well. We were given cool drinks on check in. They provided coffee, tea and treats throughout the day and a free appetizer before dinner. We ate four meals in the restaurant. Our waiter was friendly and provided excellent service. The food was very good. They have a nice knowledgeable naturalist onsite who offered to take us on s guided nature walk. If you go to Monteverde we recommend this hotel. Also, we recommend going to Selvatura (we preferred our hike there to the one at the Reserve), the Reserve and for a night hike.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jdgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear Jdgarrett,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us and for recommending our lodge on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room upgrade. The Balcony Rooms are our guests favorites because you can sit on your balcony with morning coffee and the toucans and monkeys often give you a show. Night time balcony sitting is also special, on clear nights the stars will entertain you.
If you are unable to get a Balcony Room (reserve early) you may want to consider our Superior Garden Room, with direct access to the garden and small patio where the wildlife and stars are equally active.
Next would be the Forest View Downstairs Rooms, they have exactly the same layout as the Balcony rooms but with a bay window instead of a balcony. These are more affordable, have views of the forest under story where you will often see monkeys, agoutis, and Emerald toucanets.
Finally our most affordable option are our Garden Rooms. They are quite small but cozy, all have King beds, they have direct access to the garden with a small terrace.

Go to our website or write us directly to reserve your space.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Warm welcome and drink
Log fire burning felt like ski resort
Barely any people staying
No back ground music , despite food being very good caused lack of ambiance.
Room very nice big comfy bed lovely bathroom
Patio area lead straight onto extensive gardens.
Stayed 2 nights cut short for third night as national strike and needed to leave before staying last night.
Although reception helpful re phone calls
No refund or any other complimentary extras and had to forfeit cost of last night as got promotion deal
Take heed
Town all within walking distance

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Sue H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the gardens, the rooms and the food.

I see that you booked our lodge through an agency which uses us a lot and know the property well, they may have forgotten to mention that we don't have AC, TV, mini bar or background music at the lodge. Our style is very rustic.

As your travel agency mentioned when they talked to you, due to the national strike several main roads were closed on Monday, so they weren't able to pick you up on that day to take you to your next destination, that is why they suggested to leave a day earlier (on Sunday instead of Monday).

The promotion that your agency reserved for you was the "Buy 2 nights, stay a 3rd night FREE!!" and Monday was the 3rd night, that's the reason why no refund was applied in this case. We are very sorry that the national strike affected you on this way.

We hope that you had enjoyed the beach and the rest of your vacation in Costa Rica.

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

This is a gorgeous hotel. The grounds are truly magnificent. We had a balcony room overlooking the forest and saw armadillos outside the room in the stream! You can sit on the balcony and scan for moneys (we saw one in the 3 days we were there, but it was the rainy season).
Service is excellent from every staff member, but maybe especially the serving staff at breakfast. Super polite, super efficient and the food was really good. Best breakfast we had in Costa Rica.
There is a nice bar area (small), and they light a fire at night to take the chill out of the air which is a lovely touch. We swam in the pool on one day and it was lovely - it has hammocks and feels really private. Reception staff were very knowledgeable and are able to book tours for you which is great as there are many tour operators in the town and it could be a bit confusing.
The hotel is also very close to town which is great - you can easily walk it in less than 10 minutes and there is a pavement. I would definitely come back here should we be (hopefully) in Monteverde again.

Room tip: As with many Costa Rican hotels that have charm the walls thin and noise can be an issue. Maybe try to get a room at the end of the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yona300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Yona300,

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay and the lodge.

You're right about the Balcony Rooms, these are our guests favorite room because you can sit on your balcony with morning coffee and the toucans, bellbirds and monkeys often give you a show. Night time balcony sitting is also special, on clear nights the stars will entertain you.
If you are unable to get a Balcony Room (reserve early) you may want to consider our Superior Garden Room, with direct access to the garden and small patio where the wildlife and stars are equally active.
Next would be the Forest View Downstairs Rooms, they have exactly the same layout as the Balcony rooms but with a bay window instead of a balcony. These are more affordable, have views of the forest under story where you will often see monkeys, agoutis, and Emerald toucanets.
Finally our most affordable option are our Garden Rooms. They are quite small but cozy, all have King beds, they have direct access to the garden with a small terrace.

Please do visit us again.


Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to spend time between activities. Restaurant a bit expensive but great service and good food. Would love an option for childcare or kids club to give adults some down time in the evenings!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MGJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear MGJ_11,

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us in TripAdvisor.

There are some interested activities for guests while they are at the lodge: Explore the gardens with La Posa de Doña Yolanda solar-heated pool, the main fern and bromeliad garden, and the butterfly garden; besides we're a very short walk from Santa Elena town where there are shops, bakery's, coffee shops and art galleries.
We appreciate your suggestion.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews