We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,163 results
Traveller rating
664
747
448
182
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
747
448
182
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service steep hill las riendas main restaurant tour desk cloud forest costa rica shuttle buses rocking chairs large property no wifi in the rooms zip line night walk reception area breakfast buffet beautiful view public areas
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 2,163 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the hotel. Room has a great view of the ocean. A lot of birds in the hotel grounds.
The room did not have any heat or air conditioning.The hotel is very hilly a good walk down. They have shuttles to being you up to the rooms.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank wolf3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Stayed at El Establo Hotel for 2 nights as part of our Gate 1 Costa RIca Tour in November. The hotel is built into the side of the mountain and we had a room high up in the 600 level--SPECTACULAR views of the mountain and Monteverde--Santa Elena area. Each room had a balcony with rocking chairs--I could sit for hours with the view!

Where El Establo fell short for us was the very thin walls and lack of soundproofing between the rooms and the hallway. You will hear every conversation in the adjoining rooms and the stone hallways are very loud as well. The peace is ruined by no quiet!

But getting back to the accommodations--rooms are huge, beds were comfortable, the shower was amazing! Wi-fi was spotty at times, but decent. Rooms had TV, but only 2-3 English speaking channels. No AC/Heat controls but not needed due to comfortable temperatures. Extra blankets are available if needed.

As all have said, the hotel is built on the side of a steep mountain. We did not try the walk down to the bottom or the walk up to the rooms. If you call for a shuttle, they will meet you and bring you down to the reception area. Shuttles arrive in a few minutes. Be sure to ask when the shuttle stops running if you are planning a night out in town. We arrived back one night after 12 (shuttle stopped running at 10) and the taxi was unable to bring us up the hill to the 600 level, but after asking really nicely, the front desk attendant found some keys and a van and brought us up to our rooms. We tipped him quite well for the effort! (taxi rates from town are about $1 US per person or 500 colons)

Breakfast in the AM is a standard buffet with many Costa Rican favorites. We did not use the pool, spa or any of the nature trails.

So, good stay, great views, thin walls, consider yourself warned.

Room Tip: Ask for a high number room 600 or greater!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodlesverge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Great location, amazing view, large rooms, WiFi doesn’t work in rooms at all and very high bath sink. Restaurant was fine, breakfast was delicious. Had a great time but need to upgrade the internet service in the rooms and lower the sinks in the bathrooms.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Passenger629187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed solo for 2 nights whilst I was working in Heredia. I had room 907 right at the top of the resort and it’s a steep walk down to reception and the restaurants. There are shuttles... just call them and they come along on demand. But not a resort for people with walking difficulties. Because of its layout it’s hard to get a sense of other guests. So if you want seclusion this is it. There is a small pool with beds ( not very comfortable) and WiFi in my room was very patchy. If you come to Monteverde you are probably going to be out most of the day so stay in the cheaper 3 star hotels. But the beds were very comfortable and the peace and quiet was exceptional. The food is ok but nothing special. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Food at the pool as well. Spa on site but didn’t use it. Staff ok and there is a tour desk for you to arrange your sight seeing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank mrsbowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The location of this hotel is good but the establishment is too big and required the use of a shuttle service everyday to get to and from the lobby to our hotel room which was very far from the lobby. The wait for the shuttle took some time so we felt a lot of our time was consumed each day with waiting for a shuttle. The service at the hotel was also very so-so.

Room Tip: get one as close to lobby as possible
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews