We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stay”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Accommodations: This hotel is very nice. The rooms were spacious with amazing views. We stayed in the 800 room area which is almost at the top of the hill. You do need cart service to go down to reception or restaurant. Our room had two queen beds, lovely balcony, two rocking chairs, coffee maker, small refrigerator, long and deep bathtub with plenty of hot water, walk-in shower, vanity area and large sink area. The beds were very comfortable.

Service: The floors have no ice machines but a phone call to service desk was all it took to have ice brought to the room.


Food: We only had breakfast here; and it was a very good buffet.

I would have enjoyed staying here for more than the one night. It was part of a seven night tour and by far the nicest hotel we stayed in.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank phall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the hotel. Room has a great view of the ocean. A lot of birds in the hotel grounds.
The room did not have any heat or air conditioning.The hotel is very hilly a good walk down. They have shuttles to being you up to the rooms.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank wolf3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Stayed at El Establo Hotel for 2 nights as part of our Gate 1 Costa RIca Tour in November. The hotel is built into the side of the mountain and we had a room high up in the 600 level--SPECTACULAR views of the mountain and Monteverde--Santa Elena area. Each room had a balcony with rocking chairs--I could sit for hours with the view!

Where El Establo fell short for us was the very thin walls and lack of soundproofing between the rooms and the hallway. You will hear every conversation in the adjoining rooms and the stone hallways are very loud as well. The peace is ruined by no quiet!

But getting back to the accommodations--rooms are huge, beds were comfortable, the shower was amazing! Wi-fi was spotty at times, but decent. Rooms had TV, but only 2-3 English speaking channels. No AC/Heat controls but not needed due to comfortable temperatures. Extra blankets are available if needed.

As all have said, the hotel is built on the side of a steep mountain. We did not try the walk down to the bottom or the walk up to the rooms. If you call for a shuttle, they will meet you and bring you down to the reception area. Shuttles arrive in a few minutes. Be sure to ask when the shuttle stops running if you are planning a night out in town. We arrived back one night after 12 (shuttle stopped running at 10) and the taxi was unable to bring us up the hill to the 600 level, but after asking really nicely, the front desk attendant found some keys and a van and brought us up to our rooms. We tipped him quite well for the effort! (taxi rates from town are about $1 US per person or 500 colons)

Breakfast in the AM is a standard buffet with many Costa Rican favorites. We did not use the pool, spa or any of the nature trails.

So, good stay, great views, thin walls, consider yourself warned.

Room Tip: Ask for a high number room 600 or greater!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noodlesverge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Great location, amazing view, large rooms, WiFi doesn’t work in rooms at all and very high bath sink. Restaurant was fine, breakfast was delicious. Had a great time but need to upgrade the internet service in the rooms and lower the sinks in the bathrooms.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed solo for 2 nights whilst I was working in Heredia. I had room 907 right at the top of the resort and it’s a steep walk down to reception and the restaurants. There are shuttles... just call them and they come along on demand. But not a resort for people with walking difficulties. Because of its layout it’s hard to get a sense of other guests. So if you want seclusion this is it. There is a small pool with beds ( not very comfortable) and WiFi in my room was very patchy. If you come to Monteverde you are probably going to be out most of the day so stay in the cheaper 3 star hotels. But the beds were very comfortable and the peace and quiet was exceptional. The food is ok but nothing special. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Food at the pool as well. Spa on site but didn’t use it. Staff ok and there is a tour desk for you to arrange your sight seeing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank mrsbowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,174 reviews
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
288 reviews
0.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,413 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
277 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $133 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing