We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for those who like the rustic look.”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I am a big fan of the rustic look so I really liked this hotel built on a hillside. It's clean, the staff were very friendly, courteous, and professional. I wanted bookings to the canopy/zip line and the hanging bridges tour at the Selvatura park the next day and they took care of all that without any problems.
Those without rental cars might want to stick to rooms at the lower elevation because of the steep climb to the rooms at the higher elevation.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms in the higher buildings are fantastic. The 600 and up rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STEWART L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Overall we would say 3.5 stars. Excellent room withe a view. New and clean. Restaurant was fair overall nothing exceptional. You need a shuttle to move around the hotel as it is built on the side of a mountain and is steep. The zip lining on the propert was excellent and overall a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Get the higher numbers. 600,700,800 great views from all these buildings
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WelsfordF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

about this nice hotel. If you want a calm mountain place then it is OK. Nice bedrooms big bathroom but the shower was not good. Good swimming pool and gym with spectacular view. Wonderful but expensive restaurant. Best breakfast we had in Costa Rica! The shuttle inside this huge hotel worked very well but yes you depend on them to move every where. The check out service was slow. One person only to attend a huge hotel was the problem.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FBaiadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is too big. Everything is far so you have to rely on a shuttle service all the time - breakfast, pool, reception. It works well but it is low season. Restaurant is great - good breakfast and meals. Rooms are ok but a little dark. Not enough lights. Beds are very confortable. But we had no hot water probably because we decided to use the bathtube and hot water was not enough. It was cold during our staying, so hot water was a must. The pool was also nor hot enough. Service was ok but lacked personnal at the pool, reception. We stayed at several hotels during our stay in CR. El Establo was expected to be the best hotel we would stay in but it turned out to be the worst.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Silflosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Needed to take a shuttle to get to the dining area Hotel is a huge campus. Very Nice Rooms - spacious, clean. Really beautiful views. It was an amazing hotel however I didn't like how far away everything was - I didnt like using a shuttle to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
272 reviews
0.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,388 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
730 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $133 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing