We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,166)
Filter reviews
2,166 results
Traveller rating
664
748
449
182
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
748
449
182
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service steep hill las riendas main restaurant tour desk cloud forest costa rica shuttle buses rocking chairs large property no wifi in the rooms zip line night walk reception area breakfast buffet beautiful view public areas
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 2,166 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

about this nice hotel. If you want a calm mountain place then it is OK. Nice bedrooms big bathroom but the shower was not good. Good swimming pool and gym with spectacular view. Wonderful but expensive restaurant. Best breakfast we had in Costa Rica! The shuttle inside this huge hotel worked very well but yes you depend on them to move every where. The check out service was slow. One person only to attend a huge hotel was the problem.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FBaiadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is too big. Everything is far so you have to rely on a shuttle service all the time - breakfast, pool, reception. It works well but it is low season. Restaurant is great - good breakfast and meals. Rooms are ok but a little dark. Not enough lights. Beds are very confortable. But we had no hot water probably because we decided to use the bathtube and hot water was not enough. It was cold during our staying, so hot water was a must. The pool was also nor hot enough. Service was ok but lacked personnal at the pool, reception. We stayed at several hotels during our stay in CR. El Establo was expected to be the best hotel we would stay in but it turned out to be the worst.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Silflosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Needed to take a shuttle to get to the dining area Hotel is a huge campus. Very Nice Rooms - spacious, clean. Really beautiful views. It was an amazing hotel however I didn't like how far away everything was - I didnt like using a shuttle to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The room was fine, but nothing special. The view was lovely. The restaurant was nice, good food, even vegan! The wait staff obliged us and turned the music off when we were the only ones there.
The constant need to take the shuttle from the reception to the room was a pain. And some of those employees were not so friendly. The desk staff were lovely.
The landscaping left a lot to be desired compared to another hotel we stayed at right before this one.

Room Tip: No idea, Sorry!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z1031JIjanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

A huge hotel spread up the hill side - most rooms need a shuttle to get to breakfast or reception esp. getting up to your room Amazing views but rooms a little basic - just felt something was missing - good service but a certain level of warmth was missing. central location to walk into town

Room Tip: really steep location - can get a shuttle up and down
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddiment1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews