We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of the world”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 11 March 2012

El Establio in Monteverde - This was a very nice resort. It is situated on a rather steep hill, which had a wonderful view of the cloud forest. The walls are very thin so if you have loud neighbors you will hear them. We had a tour bus parked outside the main door. Lucky for us, we only had to hear them for one night. We were in the 600 building which over looked a pound by a restaurant that we only opened for a couple hours during Happy Hour. We never made it back in time to try it. The resort was very large and included breakfast which was really crowded and had a good variety of food, from cereal to made-to-order omelets. Both days there were tour busses waiting for people to finish their breakfasts. We went to the El Trapiche Coffee and Sugar Cane Tour. It is a great little family owned and working farm. The tour lasted a couple hours and was very informative. They show you where and how they grow the coffee and the sugar cane. Towards the end of the tour you get to make some candy with the sugar cane and it tastes wonderfully like molasses. The next day we did the 100% Adventure Combo Tour. We enjoyed the zip lining, steam room, horse back riding and hot springs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellosusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,021 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed in 5 hotels during our time in CR and El Establo was by and far our favorite!

- Stay in a 700+ numbered room. The views are breathtaking! The rooms have balconies so one if my favorite memories was sitting out watching the stars or sunrise over the cloud forest. Yes, it's a hike but the shuttle takes about ten minutes to get there. We never had any issues and went to offside tours and restaurants frequently.
- Try the onsite experiences. We got into Monteverde midday and were concerned that we'd lose a day to travel. Luckily there are trails, zipline canopy tours and guided walks on site so we got started rightaway. The onsite zipline isn't the longest in town but has it's perks. It's a private tour (just your party, no large groups). I'm afraid of heights but our guides, Paulo, Dio and Roy made sure safety was a priority and also made it fun! As a bonus, they even offered to take photos and video for us.
- The included breakfast buffet is packed but the ample choices made it worth it! I counted at least 30 options for breakfast.
- Great location. We walked everywhere except to the reserves. Try Chimera right across the street or the bakery for early hikes. The location is also walkable to the butterfly garden and many trails.
- Clean, well decorated and large rooms. The walls are a little on the thin side but the hotel doesn't seem to attract the "party" type so we had no problems sleeping.

Room Tip: Pick a high number room for great views. Pick a low numbered one to be closer to amenities like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we just got back from C.R. this was our second hotel out of three that we stayed at.I have to admit, the drive here from Arenal was so scary. It is in such a remote location. I was afraid what we were going to get.This was my favorite hotel. The buffet breakfast was free for us and very good. There were a lot of people at breakfast and it was nice to see the hotel was busy. Although walking around you rarely saw anyone. The pool is nice athough could be warmer. The room was great. My daughter had a king loft to herself and we were downstairs in a king. It had a lot of room and a nice balcony. I enjoyed the weather in Monteverdes as it was not as hot as other places we went in C.R. we did bring a clock that had white noice (as advised by other tripadvisors) and it was useful. Overall very relaxing. For $2.00 you can go into town and go to the few shops. I filled up on groceries for our next spot. Plenty of room in the room to make a sandwich and sit on the porch w/ a drink. Room has a refridgerator.

Room Tip: get the loft if you have kids. Get a room by the pool as there are a lot of hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. As other said, stunning view from the room, even from the beds.. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern. The hotel is built up the mountain, so you have to use the shuttle to get to restaurant, lobby, bar or anything. But, the Shuttle service is very propmt and quick. Sometimes it arrives and waits for you before you have a chance to go out of your room.
By the way, the room safe has a key, which you get from the lobby when you check in. Don't forget to ask for the key (as we did). or they will have to send the shuttle to your room with the key later.
When we stayed there were no Coffee machine in rooms. The staff told us that the mahines were all taked for repair/change. There was free coffee at the bar and the Lobby, so you could have a cup, but you have to go down there...
While staying there we did the famous zip line, including the Tarzan sweep, and we were sorry we couldn't do it more and more....
The breakfast buffet was very crowded, but efficient and nice selection.
Dinner was good, but not exceptinal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daninet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Nice location but very big hotel with far too many people.
Spacious rooms, Shuttle service to the rooms, spread out on the hill.
If you do not use the shuttle, quite a walk !
Breakfast buffet is nice, but the breakfast room is far too small ! Row of people waiting for breakfast, though staff working very hard !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
697 reviews
0.3 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: $132 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing