We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,539)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveller rating
1,100
326
75
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,100
326
75
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuice barfarm to tablesunset roomcloud forestfree yoga classcosta ricamain buildingmicro breweryrestaurant balconyyoga classesbeautiful hotelhot tubswiss chaletthe pacific oceantop floornicoya peninsulaamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

After seven different hotels so far on our costa rica adventure, the belmar rates right ip in the top two. The ambiance of the hotel is exceptional with carefully selected music to accompany the fabulous food, especially the puddings which are exceptional. Service is first class with clean, comfortable accomodation. This is a special place to return to after the madness of the connecting roads on your journey to monteverde.

Room Tip: We had room 22 in the main hotel but under the restaurant so noisy early morning but quiet at night when it all closes at 10. Worked for us. No noise between rooms just usual inconsiderate guests or children in corridors.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank holspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Hotel Belmar is nestled in a lush wooded area with a tranquil lake on the property that's a five-minute walk from the hotel. From the minute we entered the hotel, greeted by a friendly staff person offering a refreshing cool towel and a mango juice drink, it was clear that good service was a feature of this hotel. The staff were all cordial and helpful and spoke good English. Our room had a balcony with a comfortable loveseat and two chairs--a lovely spot for enjoying the complimentary coffee or tea that is available all day at the Belmar. Our room was spacious, as was our bathroom--with a large shower and vanity. Wi-Fi was free and immediately available in the rooms. We had breakfast one morning in the hotel--the huevos rancheros and the gallo pinto were very good--but in general we ate out in other restaurants in the area where the prices were less expensive. Our two-night stay in the Belmar helped make our visit to Monteverde a special one.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

A nice hotel that caters to the more luxurious traveller, but is not really luxurious itself. Its interior is completely out of wood and the views are spectacular.
The food was good; its private trails are quite short.
Monteverde cloudforest trails are quite busy, so birdwatching is a challenge.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marjo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We spent three nights at the Belmar recently. Highlights included amazing tours booked through the hotel We had Jason as a guide for three half-days and saw scores of beautiful birds and other wildlife. Service was strong and the restaurant very good. Despite booking three months in advance we had to change rooms between night -- but those switches were handled gracefully. Thus we got a sense of different room levels. All were good with modern bathrooms, balconies and fans. We are eager to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pugboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our family (2 adults, 2 teens) spent 2 days at this lovely hotel in Monte Verde. We stayed in the Canopy Room which has a king bed and they were nice enough to put in an additional queen bed in the room for us (yes, the room is huge). The room is stunning - the views are incredible. You really feel like you are in a tree house in the forest. However, there was one major drawback. The winds were insane. Yes, everyone posts about the winds in Monteverde, but you really can't appreciate it until you experience it. We were told that they were particularly strong when we were there. This made the gorgeous wrap around balcony basically unusable :(... My daughter did spend a few hours on it all bundled up, but it really was unpleasant to be outside. In terms of sleeping, none of us had any problem with that --- yes everything was rattling and the winds were howling, but I guess we were all exhausted enough from all our daily activities that it didn't seem to bother any of us. We all slept great (and the beds were very comfortable). In terms of the winds, I wonder if the regular rooms in the main hotel are more shielded from the wind (we ate at the restaurant there and it did not feel nearly as windy). So, if you are considering staying at this hotel (which again, is quite unique and lovely), you may want to call and ask about the regular rooms and pass on the Canopy Room (or the other rooms in the 2 side buildings which I would assume would have the same problem). We ate breakfast at the restaurant -- it was nice but really should have been included in the price of the room like the other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica. Dinner was okay -- food was good, not great, not a lot of variety, and very expensive. We went into town and ate at a few different restaurants and the food was just as good with greater variety and at a fraction of the cost. This hotel is very nice, but it is not a luxury resort -- our room was bit dated (not a big deal at all, but if you are looking for a 5-star luxury hotel, I don't think this is it). As others mentioned, it is very difficult to get to (but that's a problem with Monteverde, not with this hotel in particular). Generally, I would recommend this hotel for sure if you are staying in Monteverde -- it is quite unique and the grounds are beautiful. However, I would call and ask about which rooms are more shielded from the winds and go into town for most of your meals.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank RL41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews