We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking, lush, well-cared for... a home away from home”
Review of TreeTop House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TreeTop House
Ranked #24 of 40 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, lush, well-cared for... a home away from home”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My boyfriend just got back from our trip a couple of days ago. We did so much research on hotels in Monteverde and were lucky enough to come across this beauty. We were looking for something lush and amongst the trees, and boy did we get it. We stayed in the Tree Top Studio. It had the scent of beautiful wood when we walked in. Sabine was wonderful. She answered my endless email questions with utmost attention and patience before we arrived, and when we got there, she took the time to go through all the details.

We had our own kitchenette, complete with fridge, toaster oven, small fridge, all the pots and pans you could need, which was awesome. We took advantage of all of this by purchasing all our food just a block up the street at the local co-op supermarket. It was very affordable. The location of the Tree Top House was great, 'cause it was sort of off the beaten path but also easily accessible to town by cab and SUPER close to a couple of great restaurants, including Tramonti, the Italian restaurant with a beautiful view of the rainforest and Stella's bakery.

We were lucky enough to experience an awesome lightning storm from the Tree Top Studio and take some great photos! It was just so cozy, and with the extra blankets, staying warm and comfortable at night was not a problem.

Please be aware that you're staying very close to vegetation, hence the random appearance of insets (big and small) inside the room is not uncommon! We actually loved the little surprises! Nothing serious... moths, grasshoppers, a couple of small spiders... We are animal lovers and gently escorted them back outside. So not for the squeamish... In fact, Costa Rica shouldn't be for the squeamish! Even the more modern hotels receive frequent insect guests. Costa Rica is home to over 300,000 species of insects, so expect it!

All in all, we would stay at the Tree Top House again! FIVE BIG STARS!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anacarov83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My family and I had the pleasure of staying to nights in this cool house. The layout is great ..enough room for a large family. The house has a rustic cabin kind a feel with all of the necessities needed for a comfortable stay...It felt like home.
We were able to prepare a few of our meals in the well equipped kitchen. The surrounding and landscaping are beautiful..trees, flowers , animals and the sound of out the stream outback made for a very relaxing location. Sabine was extremely friendly and offered many suggestions..We decided to take a horseback tour with "Smiling Horses" It was awesome ...the waterfall was magnificent. The town of St. Elena is short drive away..great town...loved the culture, the history, and just the vibe of the town.
Many Thanks to Sabine and her staff...Pura Vida...Todd , Doris and family

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandT080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Family of 5 traveled in April 2010. We got the suite, but rain fell on one of the beds so it wasn't usable. The rooms are clean. Short walk to town. An enchanting place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We were two famlies, each with one child under 2, staying at the Tree Top House for a week. It was a wonderful location and an amazing house. Location-wise, it was perfect for visiting Monteverde. We did have a car to take into town and to the reserves. However, we could also easily walk to the Bat Jungle, Cafe Cabure, Tramonti and Stella's Bakery, as well as the CASEM Coop and a mini-mart selling fresh foods. It was easy to find, just off the main road, next to an art gallery with amazing art. Sabine has a very helpful guide to the area in each apartment, and was great for welcoming us into town.

Overall, the kitchen isn't a full kitchen. There is a stovetop, a fridge, and a toaster oven. Do not imagine that you're going to be able to make gourmet meals. You may be able to self-cater most days, but this area has great restaurants, so why would you want to? However, do know that you will have to bring your own hand soap, paper towels if you plan to clean up spills and if you are going to cook, you will need to bring your own spices from the market. We left some of the things we bought for the next person, but I don't know if they will get to stay there or if they get cleaned up. It would be a nice touch if the apartment came stocked with coffee, paper towels, hand soap. Then again, then it would probably cost more. Overall, it would be nice if the house description on the web described exactly what is there, and what isn't - to better prepare people for what they need to bring or buy.
The showers usually had plenty of hot water - sometimes going to warm - you just had to know how to work it.

Each floor of the maze-like house had a different style. My personal favorite was the bottom floor with its Asian feel. It is quite large, with a bar, two double beds and a sitting area. It also has floor to ceiling windows looking out into the jungle. This room was the most romantic. It also had a stylish bathroom inside, and there was another toilet-only bathroom on the deck. The middle floor has two rooms, one large one with a double bed and a single bed, and a sitting area. The other one is just a bed. This is a nice quiet area with its own small deck. Neither of these rooms has its own bathroom, but you could use the outdoor shower and the bathroom with the door on the deck. I assume that everyone shares the outdoor space when the house is rented to different people. The top floor has the kitchenette, and two double beds. One is in a somewhat private area with a curtain, the other is in more of a living room, with a TV. This place is very big and would be great for a big group of friends to share. You could accommodate 12-13 people easily if some people shared beds and rooms.

Note that the karaoke club down the hill is now closed! So it was very peaceful.

The caveats are:
1.) It is not really good for small children because there are many unsafe areas. For example, the deck has areas where there are big openings and a child could fall off. The spiral staircase - the only way to go from the front deck to the upstairs unless you go all the way around the outside of the house to the exterior door - is completely unsafe for toddlers to climb. The downstairs room has floor to ceiling windows over the beds that would be easily opened and a child could tumble out. We ended up staying in the upstairs area simply because it was easier to childproof. This place would be better for adults and older children. Also, it may be a struggle for elderly people and it is not accessible to wheelchairs (but very little is out in Monteverde). Just something to be aware of!
2.) the upstairs apartment is really loud with wind and rain. I ended up seeing it as a kind of "sound machine" but it was disturbing the first night. The door banged a lot and we ended up stuffing it with paper towels to keep it from doing so as the wind blew. Keep it in mind when you are renting - the owners told me that people generally like to stay on the lower floors and use the top floor as a common area.
3.) Bugs. There are a lot. The downstairs and middle rooms seemed well-protected from the outside, but the top floor had a lot of bugs, from a family of scorpions (we killed 10 - these were non-poisonous) to spiders. I noticed a number of cracks in the doors that probably allowed them in. If you leave on the outside lights and open the doors, bugs that have been attracted to the lights all swarm in. It only happened on some nights that we had tons of bugs - moths and beetles mostly. We quickly learned to turn off all inside lights and exterior lights before opening a door, and using flashlights to move from area to area. It's the jungle after all. I suspect all accommodations in this area will have bugs. Definitely do not leave out food and take out the garbage frequently.

Room Tip: bottom floor is most stylish and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannonSomervilleMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed here with my partner and another couple. We rented the top floor of the house and additional room on the second floor. Having a kitchen was great and it was fun to go grocery shopping in St. Elena. Sabine was really nice and helpful (even fielding a late night call when we had an emergency question). The grounds are beautiful and we couldn't hear any of the neighbors. We liked the sound of the wind in the trees and enjoyed sitting out on the deck at night. Tree top house is about a 30 minute walk to St. Elena and the Monteverde Cloud Reserve (though in different directions). However, for those who don't enjoy walking as much as we do, the cab ride to St. Elena was 3$ and totally reasonable. I'd recommend this place for people who want more of a live-in feel and are adventurous.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank catscrashing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
2.3 km away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 20 in Monteverde
200 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
480 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel BellBird
Hotel BellBird
#23 of 73 in Monteverde
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TreeTop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TreeTop House

Property: TreeTop House
Address: 200 m beyond CPI | entrance left - last house, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price range (per night): $132 - $264
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your opportunity to live your vacation in the TreeTops in Monteverde. This artistic charming house is located off the main road to the rain forest of Monteverde between the reserve of Monteverde and the village of Sta. Elena of Monteverde sitting in the Canopies. All levels have separate entrances and are inner-connected with the canopy stairs. Big parking area, garden area, trail in the forest, look over canopy and waterfall, recreation areas. Hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetop House Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing