We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hike of our Costa Rican trip. Marvin was great!”

Monteverde Wild Hikes
Ranked #14 of 70 things to do in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Monteverde Wild Hikes is a Professional Guide Service offered by a group of local Wildlife experts from the Monteverde community, founded by Quakers from Fairhope, Alabama on April 19th, 1951. It offers Bird Watching Tours, Night Guided Walks, Natural History Walks and Customized Guided Walks along with some tree climbing and awesome views. The overwhelming variety of wildlife found within the Monteverde area makes it the perfect spot for Photographers, Biologists, Researchers, Nature Lovers and Birders. A wildlife experience suitable for everyone. Enjoy an amazing stroll or join a guided walk on day or at night time to come face to face with one of the greatest forces you've ever encountered, Nature. Our fee is $15 per person for any Natural History Walk, day or night. Specialized and customized services vary in price and are organized upon previous request.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We are SO happy we booked the 6 hour bird walk AND that we booked it with licensed guide Marvin. It might sound like a long time, but even with our 9 and 12 year old kids it went fast. 34 different species of birds and lots of fun mammals. Marvin absolutely delivered on having a wide breadth of knowledge of animals and plants and his ability to spot and ID the multitude of birds in the Monteverde area was impressive and exactly what we hoped for. He moved with and adapted well to our pace and interests. We actually spent 80% of our time in Curi Cancha and had to change plans and skip one of 3 planned stops. But that was fine and it was nice that we didn't have to rush at the end. Also appreciated Marvin's legitimate respect for nature and the animals. And just to be clear, just because you book a bird walk doesn't mean you won't see mammals. In Curi Cancha we saw 3 coati, 3 agouti, and family of spider monkeys. Oh and the breakfast spot he took us took to was so good that we went back for lunch!

7  Thank Bionicrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissDWilson, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Wild Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Bionicraft:

Thank you so much for contacting Monteverde Wild Hikes and joining one of our Guided Adventures with us.

We are few Naturalist Guides but passionate about our job and we all enjoy reading the reviews of our visitors.
Marvin is an excellent guide just like all the other ones we have and we all enjoy teaching young minds about the cloud forest and sharing
all we can possibly share with each visitor. Time goes by quickly when you are enjoying nature.

We always do our outmost to provide the best service and that's why we always have our meals at Stella's Bakery.

Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks and we do hope you will come again and enjoy another Monteverde Wild Hike Adventure.

Have a wonderful rest of the year.

Gratefully yours,

The Monteverde Wild Hikes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"green paradise"
in 11 reviews
"guided night"
in 6 reviews
"dense forest"
in 3 reviews
"absolutely loved our stay here"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful vistas"
in 2 reviews
"guided walk"
in 3 reviews
"preserves"
in 2 reviews
"curi cancha"
in 3 reviews
"santa elena"
in 2 reviews
"costa rica"
in 3 reviews
"dulce"
in 18 reviews
"ecological"
in 8 reviews
"viewpoint"
in 3 reviews
"homes"
in 2 reviews
"agouti"
in 6 reviews
"hollow"
in 3 reviews
"marvin"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
47
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you so much to Dulce and Rossy! They both love nature and made our experience so special ... We loved exploring the forest at night! They also both gave us valuable advice that helped us make the most of our Monteverde experience!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissDWilson, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Wild Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear JB and family:

Thank you for writing a review and sharing that experience with the Tripadvisor community. That means a lot to us.
We hope you will have a blessed journey around Costa Rica and that you will all go back home and greet all our mutual friends
and relatives there. It was such a pleasure to have met you and to have been able to assist you a little bit.

We will expect your next visit anxiously so we may be able to provide our services to you all.

Sincerely yours,

The Monteverde Wild Hikes Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We hiked with Marvin and he was wonderful! Very quiet and patient and incredible at spotting animals and telling our kids (age 6 and 8) everything about them. We went to Green Paradise and saw a toucan, a coati, many many beautiful birds and insects. Would definitely recommend! Especially since they throw in breakfast at the very yummy Stella’s Bakery for just a few dollars more.

7  Thank nicoleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissDWilson, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Wild Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear nicoleke:

We are grateful to read your review and share the experience with our other few naturalist guides.
It was a pleasure having the opportunity to provide our service to you and your lovely family. We all thank you for joining a Monteverde Wild Hike with us and for helping us teach Sophie and Charlie about the amazing cloud forest and its inhabitants.

Marvin is an excellent guides and father too, like most of our guides, they are great with kids and true passionate wildlife experts.

Hope you will keep enjoying the rest of your trip around Costa Rica.
'Til your next visit!

Gratefully yours,

The Monteverde Wild Hikes Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Our group went on a tour with Dulce Wilson, and we saw all the wildlife we were hoping to see! Dulce was very experienced, knowledgeable, and talkative. She helped us find 2 male quetzals, 1 female quetzal, a side striped palm viper, a black guan, a huge orange kneed tarantula, emerald toucanets, a 2 toed sloth, 3 white-throated capuchin monkeys, horned katydids, orange bellied Trojans, bioluminescent fungi, click beetles, bioluminescent scorpions, and many more amazing insects, animals, birds, and plants! She had extensive knowledge about the wildlife, environment, and the local area. The tour was very accommodating, and it’s a must do for families, couples, or individuals!

11  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissDWilson, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Wild Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Sarah L:

We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you shared with the TripAdvisor community.
Our Team of Naturalist Guides is thrilled to know that you all saw the wildlife you hoped to see with one of our wildlife experts. It is not always easy to find what our visitors want to see because we have no control over nature at all. However, our guides will do their outmost to provide the best tour possible under any circumstances.

We all hope you will come back and spot more treasures in our cloud forest and perhaps share some pictures as well.

Have a great 2018 and see you next time.
Gratefully yours,

The Monteverde Wild Hikes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Our guide, Rosie, was excellent. She was patient and answered all of our many questions. The night hike was informative. For my kids, the highlight was definitely the eyelash viper we saw almost immediately (and at hip level right by the trail so be careful what you touch out there). For me, the sounds of the jungle around us and the stars above were the highlight. For my husband, the information about the flora was his favorite part. The glow in dark scorpion was also neat (although I’m dying for a scientific explanation!)

12  Thank rgeary1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissDWilson, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Wild Hikes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear rgeary1771:

Just grateful with such an excellent review.
It was a joy to have been able to provide this service to your family and Rossy and all our guides are very good with kids. Most of the guides have kids of their own or are teachers.
For us at Monteverde Wild Hikes, kids are extremely important because if we can reach them and help them fall in love with nature, they will protect it and pass that on to new generations.
And by the way, Scorpions have a special coating on their exoskeletons (hard skin) that is called cuticle. This thin layer is very tough because it has to protect scorpions from sunlight. The green glowing can only be seen under UV light. It is like using black light in a room that will make everything white glow. That also mean that if we could have that coating on us, we would probably live longer and not get wrinkles........now we got you and the kids thinking right?

We all hope you guys will enjoy the rest of your trip and we thank you for joining our Night Guided Walk and trusting our small company.

See you next time!

Gratefully yours,

The Monteverde Wild Hikes Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monteverde Wild Hikes also viewed

Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Monteverde Wild Hikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing