We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views across to Stromboli, Tropea and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lily Rosa

View from Lily Rosa towards Stromboli at Sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Lily Rosa towards Stromboli at Sunset
Lily Rosa's Patio, BBQ and Garden area Lily Rosa Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
View from Lily Rosa towards Stromboli at Sunset
Lily Rosa's Patio, BBQ and Garden area
Lily Rosa Living Area
Lily Rosa Twin Bedroom
Lily Rosa Front Balcony overlooking Tyrannian Sea
Lily Rosa Master Bedroom
View from Lily Rosa
Lily Rosa Living Room
Lily Rosa Evening View from Balcony towards Stromboli
August festival in Zambrone village
The local Lions head beach at Zambrone
Lily Rosa Townhouse
Gift and Souvenir shops in Tropea
Zambrone Piazza, 20 minutes easy walk from Lily Rosa
One of the many Olive Groves near Lily Rosa
One of the piazzas in Tropea at night
Lily Rosa's garden
Zambrone Beach, viewed from a pedalo
Local Lions Head Beach at Zambrone
One of Lily Rosa's bathrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Zambrone, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Thebigdip...
Montefalco, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing views across to Stromboli, Tropea and Zambrone beach!”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our work means we have to take our holidays out of the main season and Lily Rosa just outside of Zambrone looked just the ticket!
Contact with Mary, the owner, was excellent and she was always ready with great information about the area, the house and things to do. When there was a problem with the (newly installed) wifi, she dealt with it quickly and kept in contact to make sure all was ok.
We took our dogs with us for their first beach holiday and we all had a marvellous time. The beaches are less than 10 minutes drive away down the hill and in March, we not only had very sunny warm days, we also had the beaches practically to ourselves.
The little villetta is very well equipped with everything you could wish for. There's good wifi at the property, it doesn't work all the way around the house, but on the first floor where the sitting room, kitchen and panoramic terrace is where the signal was the best and that suited us just fine.
When we arrived we were greeted by Mimma who handed over the keys and showed us around the villetta. She also left some essential supplies for us so that we didn't have to rush back out and buy anything for our breakfast the following morning, or even, if we chose, for dinner that night! (We went out to the restaurant in Zambrone, which became our 2nd home while we were there!)
We even had nice enough weather to have a barbeque - there's a stone one set up in the garden - that was wonderful!
We had a great time while we were at Lily Rosa and it felt like a home from home for us.

The only thing I would say is that if you are thinking of taking your dogs with you, it isn't enclosed and there isn't a way to close off the garden securely. (no fences or gate.)
As it turned out, this was ok out of season as we had the complex entirely to ourselves, so we closed the actual gates to the complex and our dogs had the run of the whole area! (Hence, still an enthusiastic 5 stars!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous views!
Liked least: The garden not being secure for the dogs. (But only a small dislike!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
It sounds like you and the dogs had a lovely time, thank you for taking the time to leave so many positive comments about your stay, we hope you will be able to return to Lily Rosa soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous.”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have sadly just returned from 2 weeks staying at Lily Rosa. We had an absolutely brilliant time and were not disappointed by anything. The house is thoughtfully furnished and there is everything you could need in a home from home, including a selection of beach items to keep even big kids entertained. The setting is very relaxed and the views are just stunning, spending an evening on the balcony or roof terrace is a fine way to unwind. The local area is unspoilt Italy and was just what we had hoped for. The beaches are beautiful and we found the locals to be some of the friendliest we have met anywhere, despite our poor Italian! Local food is simple but excellent, but we also recommend buying fish locally and cooking it on the BBQ - yummy. Lily Rosa is definitely highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shyamal31
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Does not have Power Back Up”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

In case of a power failure from the Electric Supply, you can get stranded for days without power, water and sanitation facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
I am so sorry that the water supply to Lily Rosa was interrupted on your second day there. This is a very rare occurrence which can happen anywhere, but we do understand how inconvenient it can be if essential services are lost. Our agent did everything possible to resolve the situation at the time.
For clarification, the water supply was interrupted for three hours on 11th May due to local Utility work which was out of our control. There was no interruption to the electricity supply, and there was never any risk of your being stranded for days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePearso...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Spent a really nice week at Lily Rosa at the end of August with my wife and 2 children 11 and 6.
The house is on a small development of about 12 or so other properties and about a 5 minute drive from the village of Zambrone and 10-15 minute drive to the Zambrone Beach. The house itself is lovely, private, modern, clean, good air-con in the bedrooms and a balcony and separate roof terrace with fab sea views.
The area is really nice and there are lots of places to visit, the village of Zambrone is nice with a couple of bars and restaurants and a butchers, grocers etc. Pizzo is a must to visit and we liked the beach at Zambrone, there are plenty of restaurants dotted about serving lovely food in most places and I can highly recommend the one at the side of the main road when you turn left at the bottom of the hill from Zambrone Village and drive about 5 mins. Tropea is worth a visit but it is very busy and very very difficult to negotiate in a car which is a must when visiting this area.
The property is about 30-40 mins away from Lamezia Airport.
We loved our time at Lily Rosa and in the area in general and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelyk
Dresden, Germany
1 review
“Glad we found this house”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had really great holidays in Lily Rosa. Thanks to the beautiful and perfectly equipped house we were able to relax and recover extremely well despite the vacation was only one week long, and now we are considering Calabria as our highest priority destination for the next year.

The only thing to keep in mind it that internet access is not optimal over there. In Zambrone, it was not possible to connect in Costa's bar for some reason (cappuccino and croissants were still outstanding). However we discovered later that pizzeria next to the monument has quite strong signal, and they let customers to use their wifi free of charge. And of course it would be great to have internet access in the house, for example via mobile broadband usb modem, perhaps as an optional service like one that is offered for the air conditioning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Liked least: No internet on property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing