We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vorst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambres d'hotes Du Bois
Ranked #3 of 6 Vorst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed in this BnB for 4 days at the beginning of Feb, The place is large, extremely quiet and very private, we felt like we very much had our own Belgian apartment. The owners were friendly. It was a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station (which only take coins to buy tickets - and you can't put in more than 20 coins per transaction), and the metros were extremely regular. The apartment was fairly chilly despite the heating being on full - but the owners did say they had a slight problem with the boiler - and it was well within a decent temperature. The house itself is lovely, has loads of character and we felt we got the most of our trip from staying in a traditional Belgian house. Do not be put off by the two prisons within close proximity as we had no trouble whatsoever.

We could choose the time we wanted to take breakfast (8.30am) and this was always delivered at this time exactly. The breakfast was okay (bread, croissant, fresh squeezed oj) but could have used some variety since we were there for 4 days - excellent overall for the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2 and had no probs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne20015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

B&B Du Bois is an excellent place to have a quite stay in Brussels. The house has an artistic history that makes it unique. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The space is big, clean and has everything you need to have a good rest, nice bath and to cook basic food. The B&B is very well located, a few blocks from the subway station and other transportation. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious! My husband and I absolutely recommend this place!
Karina and Raul (Argentina)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

As others have noted, in a big city well-priced accommodations can be hard to find - this B&B is near a tram line and short walk from other transport and the price is quite reasonable. The art nouveau neighborhood is quiet. During our stay we were in Room No 1.

We really enjoyed the quiet, the accommodations were adequate and nice with a lot of space, wifi was a bonus, and breakfast was right on time. You can tell the owners have pride in place, respect of history and attention to detail - things were clean but could benefit from a few updates and there were neat historic pieces and art everywhere.

What would have been nice is a shower curtain in the tub (which is quite high) and a little more variety except for breads for breakfast. In total we didn't see the hosts except for 5 minutes upon arrival and 5 minutes each morning for breakfast.

For us, it was a good place, in a good location, with a good price...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

To begin with: Brussels is a very, very expensive city, and, like all cities it is very noisy. Chambres d'hotes Du Bois provides value, space, convenience, quiet, and helpful innkeepers. The location is just about 2 blocks from a tram stop on a line that goes near the Central Station. It is on a very quiet and green street with no traffic. It is in a historic building within easy walking distance from many art nouveau homes, and the Horta house/museum. Our room was very large with a wooden tiled floor, comfortable bed with view of the garden. Shower was a bit small but adequate. The kitchen was the surprise. Large and well-equipped, it provided a budget saving feature that allowed us to skip eating out several nights, and store a some items in the small refrigerator, full of beers, water, & sodas for reasonable fee. The price easily beats anything around the area for these features. OK, it is definitely "lived in" and could use a few touchups in places, but get real: you are getting all of the other features plus a very kind a helpful innkeeper-family for a very fair price. It never pretends to be the London Ritz, but if that is what you are wanting to pay for, dig deep into your pockets and go elsewhere. As for me, I WILL be back to the Chambres d'hotes Du Bois. Thank you, Mde. & Msr. Du Bois.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no.2, the garden view room with the big kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Belgium and we were looking forward to our stay. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed in the accommodations. The apartment we rented was clean but very worn down. The grate over the heater was broken and all the couch pillows should have been replaced long ago. The overall feel was of general lack of upkeep. The apartment could also do with a new coat of paint. The 'kitchenette' doesn't have a sink, so it was inconvenient to really do any cooking in the apartment. The bathroom was enclosed but the walls didn't reach to the ceiling. This made it difficult to hear outside of the bathroom if you were on the phone when the shower was running or the toilet flushed.

The Dubois' are great people and we really appreciated their willingness to share information on their beloved city. Unfortunately, it wasn't helped by its close proximity (1 block) to the local prison. Though it wasn't a real issue, it was off putting to have to walk by its large security walls.

Room Tip: If you like the latest and greatest, this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chambres d'hotes Du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes Du Bois

Address: Square Larousse 22, Vorst, Brussels 1190, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Vorst
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Vorst
Price Range: $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend an unforgettable stay in one of our two rooms – bed and breakfast accommodation – located 10 minutes by underground to the center of Brussels. Our house is – bird’s eye view – 2,5km far from the city centre (Market Place) and 1,5km far from the station – Gare du Midi (Thalys and Eurostar connections). Danielle DU BOIS will welcome you with a smile in her traditional Bed & Breakfast accommodation as she is doing since 1998. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing