We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
293
22
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
22
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle lodgezip liningrio frio cavebig rock fallsatm cavefood preferencesscreened in porchbird watching towerbelize zoomayan ruinshorseback ridingnature trailbutterfly ranchon demandcayo districtvisited caracolrough road
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We spent 4 blissful nights at Mariposa and were truly sad to leave.

The cabanas are beautifully decorated with local textiles and art. They are well appointed with soft linens and towels, a stocked mini fridge, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, bug spray, a hair dryer, and a map of the grounds. There was also a large spring water dispenser to fill our water bottles each day. We stayed in the Toucan Cabana and it was perfect for our family of 4. The hammock on our little screened porch was great for lounging and listening the sounds of the jungle.

Delicious meals were served in the dining room with special consideration of food preferences. The chef went above and beyond to accommodate our picky eater in the family. The food was always plentiful and fresh. We ate every morning and all but one night on property, we were never disappointed. On early mornings the staff offered to bring coffee/tea to our cabana....What a thoughtful touch! The nightly drink specials created by Freddy were fantastic and we enjoyed laughs with him each evening.

The grounds at Mariposa are stunningly beautiful. With its natural flora and winding paths you feel like part of the jungle. On our first morning we hiked the trail on property and stopped for a little bird watching from the tower. We saw a toucan and many other species of birds during our hike. We also came across a path of Leaf-cutter ants that were so fascinating to watch! It was a wonderful way to begin our adventure in the Belizean Jungle. In the evenings we lounged by the pool and chatted with other guests about our day. Freddy was always available to deliver fresh towels and a refreshing cocktail or two. :)

There is so much to do around Mariposa in the Cayo District. Mariposa is near the entrance of the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve(MPR). There you can visit 1000 foot falls, Rio Frio Cave, Rio on Pools, Big Rock Falls, and the Maya Ruins of Caracol. Mariposa offers wonderful tours through the MPR and surrounding area. The towns of Santa Elena and San Ignacio are about a 30-45 minute drive from the lodge and has great local shopping and restaurants. Also, the Maya Ruins of Xunantunich are just past San Ignacio and worth a tour if time permits.

My husband loves to drive so we chose to rent a car and explore the area on our own. Nelmarie and Shirley suggested places for lunch, sites to visit, places to shop, and how to find a guide at Xunantunich. We went to the market on Tuesday in downtown San Ignacio and found some wonderful handmade gifts to take home. Lunch at Ko-Ox Han Nah (Let's Go Eat) and Guava Limb are a must if you venture in to town for the day. The San Ignacio Hotel offers tours of the Green Iguana Conservation Project every hour. There you can hold and love on any one of their 20+ iguanas while learning about the species and their conservation efforts. At AJAW Chocolate and Crafts you can grind your own cocao beans to create Belizean chocolate and a chocolate drink. Driving is not for the faint of heart in Belize. While we absolutely loved it, I would recommend using the drivers at Mariposa if you prefer a more relaxed vacation.

We did book 2 tours through Mariposa, the ATM cave and Mountain Equestrian Trails(MET)...Both were fantastic! Our girls are advanced equestrians and did not want the typical trail ride. Sharyn recommended MET and our girls absolutely loved it. They even finished a bit early because they did so much galloping! The ATM Cave was an incredible experience and we highly recommend it.

I can't say enough about the incredible people of Mariposa. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay special. They made us feel like part of the family and we are forever grateful for their kindness and hospitality. We can't wait to return to Mariposa to see our forever friends.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Ah, Karen, you challenge me to write an adequate thanks for this detailed review. I always appreciate when guests recommend the various tours so future guests don't think I'm just selling and selling. There are just so many interesting and special things to experience in our area and my enthusiasm to share them never abates. Although you chose to self-drive, I'd like to make clear that we provide tour services to any and all of the sites you mention, plus many more.

You are indeed officially adopted into the Mariposa family. Friends forever. We look forward to seeing you again and sharing more of our amazing offerings.

I know you're a sophisticated, experienced traveler, so I'm especially pleased that we met our goals of making your stay special and welcoming you to our family. I wish you a lifetime of great travel adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This is a super fun part of Belize to visit. Mariposa is perfectly situated and a wonderful property. The entire family loved it. The accommodations are great for families. Please be aware that you need to plan out meals, we ate on the property and the food was wonderful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

I'm so pleased your family enjoyed your visit. I'm not sure what you mean about planning meals, but I'm sure our staff made it clear that breakast hours are virtually unlimited and lunch is entirely flexible. We'll serve dinner as early as 6 pm if requested, but otherwise 6:30-7:00 is the norm to all for digesting time, a night activity, or early to bed for tomorrow's adventure. Early morning is so beautiful in the jungle, with nature awakening to an avian symphony. But I digress. Thanks for the review and wishing your family a lifetime of adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

In February, 2018, my wife and I spent a wonderful five days and six nights in the Orchid Cabana at Mariposa Jungle Lodge. Sharyn and Jim, assisted by Nellmarie and their gracious staff ensured spotless lodging (set on a Mayan foundation and surrounded by jiungle) and great meals on site and box meals for our on the road adventures. We were picked up and dropped off right on time at the airport. Damien and Augusto not only were skilled drivers on the bumpy roads, but also taught us a lot about Belize and its people, particularly Yucatec Mayan culture, and the incredible environment. We chose to visit several Mayan archaeological sites: Caracol, Cahel Pech and Xunantunich in Belize with Augusto and Damien as guides and an all-day foray into Guatamala to visit the spectacular site at Tikal. All this was arranged for us by Sharyn (along with swimming beneath a waterfall; caving at Rio Frio; visiting the markets in San Ignacio, etc., etc.) The absolute highlight was exploring the ATM cave and its contents -- a hiking, swimming, climbing, caving and archaeological learning experience of Indiana Jones proportions! We could never have arranged all this on our own. Lastly, when the day's adventures were over, and before the howler monkeys serenaded us (if one could call it that) at night, we enjoyed cocktails and conversation with other guests and our hosts. It was a perfect February vacation adventure. Thanks! Jim and Susan M., Rhode Island, USA.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JTMurphyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thanks to you for choosing our little piece of paradise and working with me to design the best possible itinerary for you and Susan. My staff and I deeply appreciate our great guests and reviews that tell us we've accomplished our goals. Great service. Adventure by Day and Comfort by Night. We know it takes time from your busy schedule to write a review, so please accept our thanks along with virtual jungle hugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I cannot recommend Mariposa enough. All the planning with Sharyn was so easy via e-mail and the day trips she arranged were perfect for our family. The cabanas are thoughtfully furnished and very comfy. The meals were healthy portions, delicious and authentic. They did a wonderful of accommodating some of our picky food dislikes. Even my two boys (8 and 11) tried everything and realized that pizza is not the end all-be all! Freddy made them special drinks at dinner each night which they totally loved. The guides are so personable, and extremely knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna, as well as the Mayan ruins and Mayan history in general. We also liked that having breakfast and dinner in a central location provides the ability to interact with the other visitors in a way that does not happen when you are just staying at a hotel. The people who come here are genuinely interested in learning about the culture, history and nature. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

We wish you could have stayed long too! We're so glad your family enjoyed their experience. Freddy's smoothies are very popular with our guests, especially the young ones. Puts them in the mood for the culture, history and nature. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

this is our third trip to MJL, each time we have been it has only gotten better .. orginally there were 6 cabanas nestled in the jungle with thatch roofs and mosquito nets over the beds.. those days are gone, all the cabanas have been updated with solid roofs, AC and tons of hot water. Each morning as the sun breaks over the hill, the jungle comes alive with nature, many species of birds can been seen and even more can be found if you walk around the property on their nature paths. Meals are great and eaten in the main lodge. The food is all sourced localy and prepared elagantly and is so flavorful. MJL is surrounded by many adventures .. ruins, horseback riding, cave tubing, ziplining birds and butterflies, there is so much to do in the immediate area, this year one of our adventures led us to the 1000 ft waterfall which was just breath taking.. there is a pool at the lodge so after a long day you can enjoy a swim and a cool drink before dinner.. Sharyn and Jim and their Staff which are more like extneded family are incredible people .. oh yes the wife just reminded that you can even have a lazy day in the spa as well .. the Mariposa Jungle Lodge really lives up their motto
adventure by day, comfort by night .. if you have any questions please contact me through here or them at their website .. they are great people

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank DrMucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbrink, Owner at Mariposa Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

It's always a pleasure to host you, visit with you, and read your eloquent descriptions of our little piece of paradise. Thank you for your compliments and your "recidivism." See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews