We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Sitting room with open fire The Walled Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Sitting room with open fire
The Walled Garden
The drive to Ingleby Manor lined with Bluebells and Wild Garlic
Kitchen
Kitchen opening onto private patio area
Sitting room wth open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
296SarahM...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed here recently in Courtyard Cottage having rented apartments in the manor itself previously. We had friends to stay too over the weekend and they loved it too. The whole place is amazingly tranquil and visitors are made very welcome by all the family. When you visit here you really feel you can relax.

The accommodation is very special; huge rooms beautifully decorated with interesting and comfortable furniture. Furnishings include stylishly heavy curtains and there's a wide variety of tasteful artwork in each room. We had an open fire in the enormous fireplace in the sitting room on a couple of nights with all the fuel provided.

The kitchen is large and well resourced. The welcome tray was much appreciated with a huge and delicious home made chocolate cake.

Upstairs the double bedroom has an enormous bed and there's enough storage space to move in permanently! The bathroom is tastefully furnished with a period washbasin and gold fittings.

We look forward to coming back sometime soon, hopefully in the summertime so we can use the beautifully cultivated gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the estate
Liked least: The electric oven
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chris5358
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed 31 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We ( family of four adults) booked Courtyard Cottage for 10 nights as a base whilst visiting relatives over Christmas.
We were met and given a warm welcome by Christine the delightful owner of the Manor who showed us to the cottage. (and yes there was a delicious cake waiting for us)
Our surprise was evident when we entered the cottage, it was far more spacious than we had imagined, a very large sitting room with open fire, a large country style kitchen with every utensil you could think of, upstairs - two lovely bedrooms and a large bathroom with walk-in shower.
All the family made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There was a plentiful supply of logs and coal for the fire and good central heating, so we soon made the cottage warm and cosy (although it was chilly at first)
Although there is WI -Fi internet access , plasma TV with plenty of channels and other modern appliances the cottage is a part of history and has a certain shabby chic (but spotlessly clean) feel to it. Lovely old pieces of furniture abound and the bed in the main bedroom is just soo comfy.
Staying at Courtyard Cottage made our Christmas. We were able to invite family and friends round and enjoy the festivities as though we were in our own home. ....and as I boringly kept saying to everyone all over Christmas " we haven't rented a cottage we have rented a home!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmski
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 27 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This was our 3rd stay at Ingleby Manor. The first year we had the South Front, the second East Wing and this time The Pump Room. Each time it has been like a home from home with all the comfort and convenience you get in your own place but with the stylish rooms & impressive facade of the manor and the gorgeous views of the moors.
Ingleby Manor is a real gem. Another reviewer mentioned Christine's attention to detail and that is what makes this place so special. Each time we visit we wonder in advance what tasty cakes Christine will have provided for us. We are never disappointed.
It really doesn't matter what the weather is like. Whitby,York or Durham are an easy hour's drive away and there are plenty of places locally on the moors: Danby Moors Centre, the North York Moors Railway, hundreds of stunning walks. If the weather is especially nice then try the lovely seaside town of Saltburn with it's clean, golden sands and lively beachfront atmosphere.
Back at the Manor you have the beautiful gardens with children's play area and croquet lawn. You can even wander through the grounds for a decent constitutional.
The apartments are all well stocked with most of the equipment you need for cooking and cleaning (halogen hob, microwave, washing machine and dishwasher) etc to make for an easy life staying there. The apartments also offer books, games, TV, DVD player and wifi. But remember you're right in the country and the track from the village to the manor is half a mile long so don't be expecting town-like TV and Internet quality. But then that's not why you're going to be staying in a place like this.
Two words to sum up a stay at Ingleby Manor: "peace" and "quality".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet & quality of the apartment.
Liked least: We couldn't stay long enough.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Reviewed 20 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing