We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
6
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
7
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Room very comfortable with a stunning view on the Markt, excellent beakfast, kindness included. De zalm is a good reason more to come back and visit Oudenaarde. They really make you like being at home!

Room Tip: Book your room early
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carlo Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

This was the perfect hotel for my trip to Oudenaarde. It is located right on the main square and is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the train station. My room was very large (especially by European hotel standards), quiet, and spotlessly clean. The furnishings were comfortable but nothing special. Wi-fi was free but a bit spotty; the manager is working on improving the signal (to be fair, this seemed to be a problem everywhere in Oudenaarde.) This is a small hotel with about 10 rooms, a restaurant/bar and several large dining rooms and banquet halls for special events. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and substantial; eggs made to order, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, meats & cheese, croissants & breads. There are plenty of restaurants and bars near the hotel, as well as most of the museums and other attractions. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Nice clean rooms, big enough with nice bathroom and mini bar who is for me to expensive.
The staff is helpful and friendly, we had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was good and tasteful.
Location is right on the market, in the weekend it get's a bit noice because there is a disco a little bit further, but we managed to sleep, it wasn't that bad.
If i have to make a remark than it would be the beds who for us were to soft.
Breakfast is ok, there were scrambled eggs, ham, cheese and others, coffee or tea, good croissants and bread.
Off course there are places were breakfast is bigger and better, but we were quit happy with it.
would i go back: yes

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guythediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have been visiting Oudenaarde for over 20 years and have frequently stayed at the Zalm. I have never been disapointed although I do find the plain white overalls worn by the staff alittle medical. That said, Food Accomodation, Suroundings, Cleanliness are all first rate and the hotel ofers good value for money.
Over the years I have become friendly with the present owner and his wife, and indeed her Ftaher Benny who had the Hotel for years before passing it on.

You really cannot do better in this beautiful little Flemish town.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the town square are desirable but on major occasions, Beer Festival, Christmas Market etc can be a little noisy. Dont fret, go out and enjoy the fun.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our stays at De Zalm have always been excellent, with friendly staff, nice rooms with further modernation planned in the next 3 months, and superb food. Always a pleasure to stay here, and i recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews