We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
255
366
184
89
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
366
184
89
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brian carter fish beach front beachfront room star hotel three star rear garden buffet style a la carte all inclusive package rooms are basic fabulous location rum punch a bit tired lick of paint st james sandy lane
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel having been there last year. I have kept an eye on the reviews over the year, many of which have been very negative so this is my honest opinion.
If you are looking for a pristine, modern hotel with all the facilities going and where the food looks as though it's from the t.v then I can promise you that this is not the place for you. This hotel is old and a bit tired, it does however have bags of character with large rooms that the staff do their upmost to keep clean and sand free! The food has improved so much over the past year and is always fresh, varied and plentiful. Lunch and dinner are always very different with some being cooked whilst you watch. There is always a good choice and the chefs are on hand to talk to. I honestly could not have found fault with what I ate and wonder just what some people expect. Food in Barbados is incredibly expensive and if you check out the cost of eating in a restaurant you would know you are getting a good deal. Drinks are excellent and available all day, alcohol from 10 am until 11pm.
The entertainment I feel would do well from being both updated and more frequent. A lot of people at the hotel at the same time as us agreed. Customers didn't really want to go out but would like to experience Bajan entertainment.
The best thing about this place is the people! Discovery bay has the best, most helpful and friendly set of staff I have ever found and so good humoured! They will help sort out anything and go out of their way to see that you have a good holiday. I feel a third visit coming on!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Meriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts is one of the older colonial hotels with charm and grace. We offer value for money; The rooms are large and clean and the service staff are friendly, efficient and will go the extra mile to make your stay very memorable.

I am pleased that you have noticed the improvements in the food. The Chefs pride themselves with using the freshest local ingredients. Lunch has become lighter, offering a buffet with salads, special sandwiches, burgers and fresh Caribbean fish. Dinner has a more substantial buffet with a wider variety of salads, hot dishes and a carved joint.

Our bartenders are masters at creating tasty cocktails including the famous Barbados rum punch.

Entertainment is a bit low key which we are looking to improve, thank you for your constructive observation.

I appreciate your kind comments on the team, this is what makes Discovery Bay a special place to stay.

Thank you for also for taking the time to write this review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

This hotel has historic origins so it is limited by heritage restrictions as to how much it can change some aspects of the appearance. True it looks a tad tired but the welcoming, friendly staff - for us - overcame that. The food was varied and tasty, afternoons in the rotunda they served "afternoon tea" which was fresh sandwiches, coffee (so delicious) and pastries. We really enjoyed this small touch.

The pool is not particularly large - beware that the main steps are very slippery so use the hand rail! We used to enter the pool via the ladders, much safer.

Bar staff remember what you like to drink and always have a friendly word or two for you.

The rooms are quite average but for the cost of the hotel we had absolutely no complaints. If you want a swanky hotel then you need to go to the

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShazM_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

I agree that the hotel has historic origins; it is similar to a colonial plantation house with a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Our team has made Discovery hotel what it is today; they are very customer orientated and will always go out of their way to make our guests stay special.

Special emphasis has been made to improve the food; which now has attracted many positive comments.

The pool is a moderate size and we are looking for a solution to improve the traction on the steps. Fortunately most of our guests enjoy lounging on the beach so there is never a claustrophobic feeling.

Our bartenders understand that friendly and helpful “Bajan” service contributes to a happy stay.

Because the hotel was built some time ago, the rooms are larger than most of the modern hotel and have a comfortable terrace or balcony.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review; it has been extremely helpful in allow us to strive to offer a happy, relaxing holiday.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Visited Discovery Bay Barbados 21-28 Nov 2015. The hotel, at times, is referred to as 'tired'. It is an older, plantation style building however, it is very clean. The grounds, pool, and common areas are very well kept. Food is good; mainly catering to the many UK visitors. Fresh fruit and vegetable were always available. Hotel is within walking distance of banks, grocery store, shopping and good pubs/food on 1st and 2nd Streets. Staff are outstanding. Very good snorkelling can be found right in front of the hotel. Weather diving for sand dollars or simply enjoying the multitude of tropical fish, it was nice to have snorkelling so close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are available right on the beach (pay a bit extra). Other rooms over look the well kept grounds.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2016

As you quite rightly point out, Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, is one of the older Colonial hotels on Barbados. And although some areas look tired, my team focuses on ensuring all area are clean and tidy.

The hotel occupies two acres which gives it the feeling of spaciousness. Our gardeners take great pride in maintaining our “croquet” lawn and the many tropical plants spread out over the property.

We offer mainly buffet meals which consists of local and Mediterranean dishes.

The location is one of the best on the West Coast of Barbados; minutes to Holetown which offers Banks, supermarket, shops and many local bars and restaurants.

Thank you for your compliments on team; I am extremely pleased that they continue to receive high praises for their friendly, helpful service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Have just returned from Discovery Bay. This was a last minute holiday booked through Virgin. All flights and transfers went smoothly with no delays. This was our first.visit to Barbados and Having read previous reviews about this hotel we went with a bit of trepidation. The hotel is colonial and seems to fit in with the ambience of the area. Our room was a garden room,it was large and everything worked, the shower and hairdryer which are very important to me worked well. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels although not quite bath size. The bed was large and comfortable.
Pool towels could be changed anytime and there was always a plentiful supply. The beach was fabulous with plenty of sun beds (although as previously said in other review really need renewing). Malcolm who puts out the beds is a gem and was really helpful and enjoyed talking to the guests. The guys on the beach selling jewellery or boat trips were polite and if you refuse don't keep bothering you. I found them interesting to talk to and can be helpful with local knowledge.
Majority of the people we spoke to have been returning to this hotel for years. All agree that the food is hit and miss but don't seem to mind. The selection of salads was limited as was deserts which was only cake and fresh fruit which always seemed to be melon.
Everyone who worked at the hotel was pleasant and the ladies on reception were extremely smartly dressed and very helpful. The restaurant and bar staff were always friendly.
The hotel is really well situated to Holetown which is a 10 minute walk away and a trip in the reggae bus to Bridgetown is a must if only for the experience.
We really loved Barbados and would definitely like to return and would probably return to Discovery Bay knowing what to expect. Despite any negative comments it is a really nice hotel. Unfortunately didn't get to meet Brian the manager as he was on holiday but all guests we spoke to thought he was doing a good job.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are basic but have a nice view.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pata723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts is very colonial with a “Bajan” flair.
Because the hotel was built many years ago the rooms are bigger than the modern hotels and offer a relaxing terrace or balcony.

The beach lounger will be gradually replaced with newer more comfortable ones.
Malcolmn has been with the hotel for over 50 years, and knows all of the repeat guests preferences.

Since your visit the lunch, dinner and afternoon tea offerings have been upgraded and now the comments are more positive.

The entire team is focused in offering friendly, efficient service. Especially the receptionist, who realize that they are the ambassadors of the hotel.

The hotel’s location is one of the best on the West Coast of Brbados; within walking distance to banks, supermarket, shops and many local bars and restaurants.

I am sorry that I didn’t personally meet you, as I had taken a few days leave to get ready for the high season. But hopefully I will have that opportunity should you decide to stay with us un the future.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

There is the old adage that says “You can’t make a silk purse from a sow’s ear”, and that describes Discovery Bay. It is an old property and the management is trying hard to make it competitive through updates but it cannot be what it isn’t. I have given it a low-3-star review, so let’s see what that is comprised of.

Staff: The best part of the resort. 4-stars. With a few exceptions, all are personable and do their best to provide the guests with excellent service, from the front desk staff to the bartenders, to the dining staff and housekeepers…most are wonderful.

Food: 2 1/2-stars. Since this is an all-inclusive resort, the majority of guests rely on the hotel meals for most of their stay, and this is a large part of the overall rating. The quality of most of the offerings is quite good, and they are cooked well. Buffets at a lot of AI’s are over-cooked and blah, but not so here. Is it Gourmet? Absolutely not, but I give them credit for trying to make the best of what they are given. Dishes are quite basic and show no imagination. It’s very obvious that the hotel employs no chefs, only cooks. Also, the evening menu (and most lunches) is on a strict 7 day rotation. If you are staying more than one week the meals are repeated EXACTLY right down to side dishes and salad dressings. Salad offerings are extremely sparse with very limited ingredients and dressings. The same can be said for desserts: Two choices in very limited supply. One evening there was one cheesecake available when there were perhaps 80-85 guests. Breakfast and lunch “menus” were certainly acceptable, but not spectacular.

Bar Service: 2 1/2-stars. There are 2 bars, both of which are small for a hotel with a capacity of 150 or so guests, and to make things worse only one is open at a time. There are times of overlap when neither is open for 15-20 minutes. Between the two bars there is a grand total of 5 (FIVE!) barstools. It’s like they don’t want guests at the bars…not a good thing at an AI. Draft beer is available only at the poolside (day) bar, and that is when it doesn’t run out. If it does, someone has to go to the other bar to get bottles – they can’t keep some on hand?? There is one blender to mix drinks and must be shuffled between the two bars. If it were not for the capable bartenders I would give this section 1 ½-stars.

Beach/Pool: 3 stars. Although the beach per se is not a true function of the hotel, it is a large part of why people come to Caribbean resorts. My wife and I were hugely disappointed in this beach. In front of the hotel the beach is narrow and the swimming area roped off into a tiny space like a kiddy swim zone. The artificial “reef” consisting of large boulders was dumped very near shore making it not very attractive. If you are looking for long walks on the beach, you need to go elsewhere. In either direction you can’t go 200 feet without climbing over jagged or slippery rocks, and then spots where there simply is no beach, only concrete walkways. During half of our stay the beach was “red flagged” and the water closed to use because the filthy drainage ditch that parallels the hotel overflowed, dumping who-knows-what into the sea. On the plus side the beach staff does a good job cleaning the sand and placing beach lounges and (cheap) umbrellas. The pool area is what keeps this section from going to 2-stars or less. It is very nice, clean and with comfortable loungers on a quite large patio. I believe this was a big update quite recently.

Rooms: 2 ½-stars. The rooms are very dated and the furniture sparse and basic. Bed was so-so at best. The bathroom showed signs of being updated recently, although the workmanship certainly lacked. The shower was good and had no issues with hot water. Housekeeping did a pretty good job, but failed to clean the patio which meant there was no avoiding tracking in sand onto the cleaned floor.

Management: 1-star. Once you have booked your stay, the hotel seemingly refuses to answer emails. I along with my travel agency sent numerous inquiries and none were answered. That included 3 attempts to notify them that we were delayed in travel and were going to be a day late in arriving. During our stay a film crew of perhaps 30 people was booked in the hotel, and the management allowed them to run roughshod over the hotel for two solid days. Dress codes were ignored, they were loud and rowdy, at night intoxicated and verbally insulting both guests and staff alike. During some of this the manager stood at the bar and watched, seeming to enjoy it. At a real hotel management would have had them thrown out. The manager owes each and every guest an apology.

Regardless of star ratings, the real review of a resort is whether or not you would return. In the case of Discovery Bay, the answer is no. It is, and without a large infusion of cash will continue to be, a sow’s ear.

Room Tip: Avoid rear garden rooms
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

I agree the staff is the biggest asset of the hotel.
The menus for Lunch and dinner have been changes since your visit and the comments are greatly improved.

We have two bars with only one open at a time; the beach bar opens from 10am to 6pm, offering service to the restaurant and pool deck.
In the evening the Lobby bar opens at 6pm and closes at 11pm. The bar can only accommodate 5 bar stools but is seating for 70 persons in the bar lounge, which has been adequate when the hotel is busy.

The beach was refurbished two years ago and is now one of the largest on the West Coast of Barbados.
The swimming area is roped off to provide safety from the jet skies and water craft.

The large boulders were accurately placed by the Coastal Zone Management unit to protect thr beach; and has added the attraction of a mini reef, which is vwry good for snorkeling.

The rooms are dated, which we try to keep as clean and comfortable as possible.
Last month we replaced all of the balcony/ terrace furniture in every room to comfortable tropical woven hairs and table.
I am very sorry that your expectations were not met, but be assured we will continue to strive for excellence.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews