We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dreamy Beach Roatan”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amallouk
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Dreamy Beach Roatan”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a 1 week stay in Roatan with our children ages 10 and 8, along with another family with 2 teenagers (we had the lower level as well)
Overall great vacation and we will have amazing memories. The island is beautiful with good amenities, beautiful sites, plenty to do and plenty of third world charm. Here is how we felt about the different aspects:
-overall location of house in Roatan: great: easy walk to multiple stores, restaurants, hotels on and off the beach, and a small store with some simple basic supplies. for major groceries and or fruits/veggies need to drive about 30-40min to Coxen Hole.
-beach and water immediately in front: excellent in terms of water clarity, depth for swimming, calmness, sand purity and softness. on a nice calm day, water is as turquoise and clear as you can get in the Caribbean. you can see the fish from above water!
also conveniently in front of the house is a dock with small boats available for hire for snorkeling and or fishing etc.. also water taxi available right at that dock.
-activities: plenty to do right off the beach, with all the water activities you can imagine.
for us the highlight was the ability to snorkel right off the beach and see amazing colorful fish on a decently preserved reef (not an easy find in the Caribbean or anywhere). Inland there is more activities including but not limited to zip line, jungle walks (we did South Shore Canopy), gardens (went to Carambola gardens), and others..
-safety: felt pretty safe throughout the stay, plenty of security around the property. we felt safe letting the kids play on the beach as long as we could see them from the veranda.
-comfort: villa was very comfortable when power was on. outside and away from the beach need plenty of bug spray especially in the evening.
now the only gripes/things to keep in mind:
-the beach can get pretty crowded on cruise ship days
-the people who try to sell you things/services can be persistent
-the wifi reliability was poor and the modem is not inside the property (seems odd to us)
-the villa does not have a generator, something we did not think about or learn until we got there and would not have been an issue if it weren't for the multiple power outages that we experienced there. and apparently that can happen. worse time was on our last night when the power was out from ~6pm till ~2am and the heat was almost unbearable inside with all the windows open. it made things worse to know that almost every other property around us had back-up power. I strongly recommend the owners get a generator or at least warn people about that upfront. we made do with candle light on several occasions which is ok if you 're prewarned and it's just one time.
-there is no washer/dryer in the unit. you can pay to have it done.
-finally and this is perhaps small: some appliances were rather old or not functioning well, namely the oven, dishwasher and toaster.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah B
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best spot on West Bay”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had two families with three kids staying a week and there was plenty of room. The house was very safe and situated right on the beach. Once you navigate the crazy road to the house everything else is easy. House has all amenities you would need except clothes washing machine but cheap to get them cleaned. Hopefully they might add a hair drier. Hammocks on the deck were wonderful place to relax, read a book, watch the sun setting. Staff were great, whenever we needed something they came over quickly ( their office is very close by). The house is now flanked by resort hotels which was a shame but meant heaps of places to eat along the beach. We would go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks for the great review, Debbie, we are happy you all enjoyed the home. Per your suggestion, we are picking up a hair dryer.
We hope to have you all back with us soon.
-Your friends at Island House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kannb
Alto
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everyone stops and stares!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I'm telling you the truth. Everyone who walks down the beach stops and looks at this house! They are thinking, "Why didn't we know about this place?" All I can say is I'm glad I found it on tripadvisor! From the moment we arrived at the airport they had someone to help us with our bags, the driver Marty was amazing and stopped at the grocery store on the way for us. Everyone who worked at the property management was amazing and helped with anything we needed. What can I say about the house? All you have to do is look at the pictures. The view is amazing! We had a 2 year old, a 3 year old and a 5 year old, the porch out front is open railing. It makes for a better view, but I was a little nervous with the kids. They did fine, though. If we ever go back which I hope we do, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. This house is a quiet, beautiful sanctuary on West Bay. So different from all the other condos and beach cabins. This is a true beach house. Nothing to compare to it really. Thank you guys for a wonderful time. You made it so easy and comfortable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the railing if you have small children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
Crystal Bay, Nevada
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful home on perfect beach with all you could want within a 5 minute walk. Best snorkeling and diving in the Caribbean.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joevarct
willington,ct
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Mac's upper”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Another great stay at St Mac's upper. I highly recommend for a larger group since it has 3 bedrooms. The front deck is fantastic and the kitchen is very nice. Bedrooms large. Overall I think it's one of the best on West Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing