We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,384)
Filter reviews
1,384 results
Traveller rating
839
376
100
37
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
376
100
37
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthirsty turtlevintage pearlgarden cabanacrab racesmovie nightfire dancerslive musiccruise shiplaid backfun activitieswest endgreat divingfishthe wait stafffront porchtook great carelounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,384 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We have visited West Bay 4 times and we love it! In fact, we had our wonderful dream wedding last September on this island.

Bananarama is in an excellent location, for divers and no-divers. It is in the heart of West Bay and there is always a lot going on in the restaurant. There is live music almost every evening/night time. To us it has the best vibe on this beach. We particularly love the karaoke night, I think is on Wednesdays – do not miss it!

This was our first experience staying in Bananarama, and we will be back! We spent a week in mid-May with friends and family ages 40-70. This hotel is kids & family friendly. The “Dive & Stay Special” is unbeatable for this beautiful Caribbean spot.
Beach: Amazing! Wonderful turquoise and warm waters. The romantic sunsets will take your breath away. Getting to a great snorkel location is just a 5-minute walk.

Rooms: We stayed in 1st and 2nd floor cabins, surrounded by lots of trees and singing birds . Rooms are quiet, very clean, A/C, and they provide a 5-Gal water container in the mini living room which we did appreciate. They could improve the maintenance. Some nails in the deck were dangerously sticking out. My hubby talked to them about it and they took care of it.

Restaurant: Our package included breakfast and it was good. They vary it and the options were different every morning. Suggestion to the hotel: Service should be started earlier to accommodate the divers. The divers in our group had to rush breakfast because of the late breakfast opening hours. Our favorite for lunch/dinner was the coconut shrimp, with plantains. We heard they have the best pizza in Roatan and we agree. The pizza & garlic bread is a winner.

Staff: We loved Debbie at the reception The team at the Dive Shop was wonderful with special mention to Marco, Andrea, and Yameryz (check my separate review on the dive shop). At the restaurant, the servers Dichon and Victor, were great. The staff in general is hard working and very friendly with a couple of exceptions (I guess nothing is perfect!).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ffudrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We arranged for our group of 10 friends and family members to be picked up at the port of Roatan during our cruise last week. We paid $30 per person which included transportation to and from the port, a drink (alcoholic or non alcoholic) per person, and a lounge chair. We arrived fairly early and was given our pick of lounge chairs. We were told to pick middle or back chairs so that the local vendors wouldn’t bother you as much. The chairs were shaded and the vendors, although persistent, went on their way after you politely told them “no thank you”.

The beach was gorgeous and if you walked down the end of the beach to the far left you could swim out to the reef without paying someone to take you out by boat. We brought our own snorkel gear, but they also have it available to rent there. We are experienced snorkelers and had no issue swimming out along the area where boats were anchored off. The reef was amazing with a lot of marine life to see. My husband enjoyed free diving and swimming through some caves. Would definitely recommend Bananarama if you’re looking for a great beach and beautiful snorkeling.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank AGrizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and i spent a wonderful week at the Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort, Roatan, Honduras. The beach is out of this world, the food drinks and entertainment all top notch! The staff are incredible. Edison, Derek, Edwina and Victor you guys are awesome. Debbie and Lindell in reception were so kind, helpful and always smiling!! And to the amazing staff at the dive shop ( Marcos and Andrea to name a few) you got me hooked!!! How is this week almost over!!! To the next visit Salud!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank janet518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

I believe this was our 6th stay at Bananarama. We stayed May 26 - June 2, 2018. All the staff recognized us and greeted us by name when we arrived and throughout our stay. The snorkeling 1000 feet down the beach is still some of the best, if not the best in all the Caribbean. Food and Drinks at Bananarama were good. Our room had good air conditioning. I must say, it's great to spend most of the week barefoot. We visited the Sloth House this trip. Very cool! And I would still recommend the property to anyone who enjoys a fun laidback vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sunfunbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Bought day passes through shore excursioneer. Everything was great; we loved it. We stayed about 5 hours which was plenty of time left to explore shops at port. There were some vendors on the beach but we had chairs on the back row so they didn’t bother us too much plus our chairs were nice and shaded. You could order drinks and food from your chair, staff nice and friendly. We arrived early which is good because it’s less crowded; around 11-12 all the other excursions start rolling in. We were on carnival and had to walk outside port and up a hill, a little confusing but once we were down the hill started seeing all the other tour companies but they did drop us off right at the port so we didn’t have to walk so far. Love this place, would definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jkdavis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews