We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Angela D
Ramsgate, United Kingdom

Excellent hotel but need to improve on the breakfast buffet situation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2024
We travelled with Crystal and all went very smoothly.
We were greeted with a 100 cm snow dump... which really gave great ski conditions.
Great location for ski in and out. A supermarket at the bottom of the slope, handy for drinks and snacks. Ski bus to pick you up from hotel if you want to get to the other side of the resort without ski-ing around to it.
The room was lovely, very clean, with balcony overlooking drag lift. Great shower. Bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. Kettle and cups also supplied (don't always get this) and small fridge.
We didn't use the spa facilities.
Love Montgenevre as a ski area, certainly suits me as some lovely long blues and greens to keep me happy in my advancing years.
The staff were lovely and very helpful. We had a problem with our safe in the room functioning, the receptionist came up several times to try and help out, but in the end it was left to a technician to sort. Same with the ski locker in the basement, but all sorted in the end.
We had an evening of entertainment, an amazing Jazz type duo played an excellent set which we thoroughly enjoyed. Thumbs up for 'Blue Moon'.
We were halfboard.
The only reason not giving a 5 star rating, was the problem we experienced with the Breakfast buffet. Breakfast ran until 10am. We would get there between 8.30 to 9am. The first morning they ran out of bread, I overheard a French man asking for bread, to be told they had run out and would not be able to get anymore. The pastry basket was empty, I asked for croissants and was told some would come out, about 15 minutes later some appeared. Other items of food had run out - such as bacon, scrambled eggs.... again a long wait to be replenished. Also problem of tables not being reset, meaning people were having to sit at uncleaned tables and find their own crockery. This was not a one off and happened the next two mornings, at which point I complained to our Rep about the situation. We had become like hawks, waiting for the food to appear, which should not be the case. It appeared to be a problem of not enough staff to man the buffet.
Our rep told the Hotel management, so hopefully this is something they will get right in the future as a shame compared to the rest of our experience at the hotel which was good.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$328
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$328
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Family Room
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
depuis la chambre vue sur les pistes
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
    0.5 km from Anova Hotel & Spa
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in Montgenevre
    Reviews (405)
    Filter reviews
    405 results
    Traveller rating
    207
    129
    36
    17
    16
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    207
    129
    36
    17
    16
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews nice hotel free bus junior suite steam room and sauna love this hotel cold meats uphill walk great bar breakfast buffet heated boot easy ski fresh fruit fantastic stay open fire lockers slopes village
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 405 reviews
    Reviewed 25 February 2024

    We booked this hotel with Crystal Ski on half board basis. Everything from start to finish ran very smoothly with regular texts/calls from the Crystal rep and a contact number incase we needed anything.
    Transfer time is only 1hr 30mins.
    The rep arranged a table in the restaurant for 9.15pm as we were arriving late. All staff are friendly and very accommodating.
    Breakfast served from 8-10am was lovely with lots of choice. Evening meal from 7pm was really good and exceeded our expectations. We had a vegetarian and a fussy teenager in our party and there was always a choice.
    We enquired about breakfast on check out day as we were leaving the hotel at 6.30am and they kindly made up a packed lunch for travelling.
    Overall a fantastic trip and hotel and we hope to return.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Flyer636685
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

    Chose The Anova for a first ski holiday and were pleased with our choice using half-board dining facility. Hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful. They arranged our ski lessons and lift passes and the ski hire shop was directly below in the basement, couldn’t have been easier. We appeared to have been upgraded to a room with a balcony and had lovely views. Room was clean and warm and had everything we needed. Be aware, that no liquid shower gel is provided. Questioned this as for environmental reasons, soap only is provided but this was good enough.

    Half board - the food was very good. Unfortunately there was only a choice of 3 starters, 2 mains (but we were usually ok with the choice) and 1 dessert for dinner - you could pay extra for the bigger menu if desired. On a couple,of occasions, the restaurant staff were not too happy/friendly and twice during the week we waited over an hour between starter and main.

    Bar was good and service friendly, nice area to sit outside too.

    The hotel is a spa hotel but sadly the spa is only free for hotel guests up until 2pm, after which time it’s €20. I did not use the spa because of this. Who wants to use the spa before skiing? Surely the idea is to relax after a busy day and this should be free all day, every day,

    Hotel is in a great location and we would return but hope they amend the spa times and have it free all the time!

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Lawton186361
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 March 2023

    Well, this trip took years to take (thanks, Covid!) but it was worth the wait. We absolutely loved the Anova... it had exactly everything we needed from a very spacious room (we had a junior suite on two levels... teens on one floor, we were on the other), super easy access to skiing with adjacent lockers, a great bar, wonderful terrace and super helpful staff. Cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Montgenevre. Wonderful - would love to go back!

    Date of stay: March 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Michael B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 25 January 2023

    Absolutely fantastic stay at this lovely hotel. Immaculate room with view of the slopes and small balcony.
    Breakfast buffet with massive choice of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese, hot option of bacon, eggs etc.
    Heated boot locker with easy ski in ski out access to northern slopes.
    Five minute walk into the village but if you've got ski's and poles to carry a free bus into the village every 25 minutes 8-6pm
    Restaurant top class food with fantastic choices.
    Lovely bar area and lounge with open fire
    Large terrace by the bar and a fast food option downstairs.
    Small spa with pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, (must be booked in advance to keep numbers down)
    Staff very helpful and friendly especially in the bar and on reception.

    Date of stay: January 2023
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank 231lynnes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 April 2022

    This hotel is good but charges for various extras seem excessive and closing all services including the bar at 11pm on a Friday night is unacceptable. Customer facing services should be just that, services.

    Date of stay: April 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank kennyaberdeen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews