We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent cottage, well equipped in an idyllic...”
other traveller has booked this property
Main bedroom, comfy bed!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main bedroom, comfy bed!
Upstairs bedroom Reading nook, afternoon naps, views of the alps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Main bedroom, comfy bed!
Upstairs bedroom
Reading nook, afternoon naps, views of the alps
Sleeping nook
Cottage from the front
View from the back yard
Cottage front
Fully equipped kitched for self catering
Outdoor fire bath, for relaxing after bush walking, kayaking or beach combing!
The distinations at three mile lagoon, a 1 hour walk from Okarito.
Okarito beach at sunset
The back garden of the cottage, alps in the distance
Views down the coast from the nearby walking tracks
Kayaks are available for rental in Okarito, for the adventurous!
The kayak rental shop and coffee shop in Okarito.
Boat tours available on the lagoon, opertator in Okarito.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Okarito, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Les L
1 review
“An excellent cottage, well equipped in an idyllic west coast location”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is very comfortable and cosy for a stay of a couple of days to a couple of weeks. There are no shops, so you need to take everything with you that you need in the way of food and wine etc. Okarito is an excellent location if you just want to chill out, read a book, walk the beach, or take a trip on Okarito Boat Tours during the season to see such birds as White Herons, and many other estuary birds, a photographers paradise. This is the second time I have been to Okarito and I will be looking to book this cottage again in the future.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thanks for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the cottage. Its also great to hear you got to go on the boat tours too. Spectacular views from on the lagoon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K M
1 review
“A dream holiday cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Absolutley loved this cottage. Cosy and a bit quirky. Clean, comfortable and well equipt. Very good quality mattrasses on the beds, insect screens on the windows, great views of the bush and mountains. Five minutes walk to the beach. Owner very easy to deal with. Quick and helpful response to any questions. I would definitely recommend this as an ideal place to relax.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a delightful and relaxing stay here in this arty cottage for a week over Xmas. Okarito is a very magical place and this cottage fits well into its setting with views of the alps and a short walk to the beach. Our 2 girls aged 4 and 6 loved their sleeping nook, and were relieved that Santa was able to find them! we all enjoyed exploring the beach and forest tracks. The coastal rainforest and waterways in this part of the world are just beautiful. The art kit and examples of previous visitor's artwork were great fun. We were even able to sneak in a few games of tennis in on the community tennis court across the road while the kids watched a movie at home. Btw, bring a tablet and movies if you rely on the 'one-eyed babysitter for your kids! I also enjoyed the fire bath-so relaxing! The kitchen is well-equipped and everything was lovely and clean when we arrived. Okarito kayaks had a basic coffee shop which was lovely and we enjoyed self-catering after eating too much dodgy junk good traveling! The walk to 3 mile lagoon was amazing and the long evenings and sunsets were glorious. Kaylene, the host was very helpful and friendly and it was good to have the Wi-Fi connection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
I’m so glad you were able to make the most of everything that Okarito has to offer. Thanks for your great feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gboyle8
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a few days.”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was a great place to spend a couple of days in the country. The Bach is well looked after and is within 5 minutes walk to the beach which is wild, but beautiful. There are lots of walks to go on and some beautiful places to see. Great place for nature lovers.

The place close by doing kayak rentals is a bit of a rip off so we simply didnt bother to hire kayaks and went for a walk instead.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heaneys20...
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful and Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Okarito Cottage is peaceful and comfortable. A few moments walk from the beach and lagoon, within sight of the mountains, it is perfectly placed. We found the Cottage restful, clean, warm and well equipped. Kaylene was very responsive to our concerns and we appreciated the heating being switched on before our arrival. The Cottage was ideal for our family - two adults and one 11 year old. Thank you so much Kaylene - we loved your Cottage and surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Really glad you had a great time, Okarito is a very special place! Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing