We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eskmoor Cottage

Front of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage
Lounge Very cosy..! (new electric fire)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Front of Cottage
Lounge Very cosy..! (new electric fire)
TV, DVD's, Kids DVD's, Freeview, Radio, Books, Jigsaw, New electric fire
Bedroom 1 / Wardrode, Two bedside tables, TV
Kitchen / Full Cooking Equipment, Fridge, Microwave,
Bedroom 2 / Wardrode, Draws, Bedside, TV, Video's
(New) Fire Display During The Evening
River Esk
Ruswarp Village
Boating Lake
Ruswarp Village
Ruswarp Train Station
Walk to Whitby
Mini Monsterz Play Centre / Outdoor Animals - Ruswarp (very good)
Garden 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ruswarp, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
125helen4...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it.”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at the cottage for new year, lovely homely cottage, very clean and warm and cosy, the garden is really nice too so would like to visit again through the summer to take advantage.
It's in an ideal location, right opposite the butchers and his lovely food, very near to the path for the monks trod which takes you off to Whitby, plenty of walks you can do, especially sleights which is just down the road. Love this village and will definitely be returning. Thank you to Laura for having us and for great communication, we will be back!!!!
Ps if anyone interested the local pub (The Bridge) was open for drinks on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emrys M
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Yorkshire coast Gem”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Eskmoor is a well equipped and welcoming little cottage.
upon entering the cottage one is greeted with a feeling of delight . Eskmoor is comfortable and has a delightful atmosphere. all with a lovely little enclosed garden there is everything one needs to have a lovely stay.
Ruswarp is a lovely village and benefits great countryside while being relatively close to Whitby. The local Butchers is fabulous plus there is a great local pub along with the steam railway all nestled in the Gorgeous Esk Valley. The owner has a keen attention to detail and very caring. We have been coming to Whitby for 17 years and this was one the best stays we have experienced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOved it all
Liked least: nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Panyanpic...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A relaxing, comfortable and home like cottage with a lovely garden for sitting in”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage is ideal for a relaxing break. Reasonably priced and it is a pleasant flat walk into Whitby from Ruswarp on the cinder path by the railway. There is a regular bus service from Ruswarp to Whitby and a train service from Ruswarp Station. The cottage is clean and comfortable and warm. The garden is up some steps and a path and is lovely to sit in. There is no parking outside but we always park the car on the bottom road and leave it there. We enjoy walking and catching the bus, it makes it an active break for us. The dog enjoys his walks along the Monks Path across the road, where Deer can be seen. The local pub has lovely meals although the drinks are expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrannyMel...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal holiday cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a splendid holiday at Eskmoor Cottage due to the property being close to some of the best beaches on the North East Yorkshire coastline. I was on holiday with my daughter and my two grandsons who are both eager to be up and out when we are away. Whitby being only a mile away meant the we were able, by car, to access not only the beach but also the many excellent restaurants the town provides. A large Sainsbury's supermarket in Whitby meant we were able to buy any food shopping we required whilst at the cottage. I have nothing negative to say about the cottage and garden. Both are of a good standard. The lack of parking at, or outside the property was the only problem we encountered however that was mainly due to our being totally exhausted on our return at the end of a brilliant day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and garden
Liked least: No parking at the property and lack of suitable road parking in the locality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing