We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, helpful and pleasant owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Skelton B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, helpful and pleasant owners”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here on our 2nd night cycling Way of the Roses C2C. Warm welcome from the owners, who were extremely helpful. The room was in converted outbuildings and was very pleasant with french windows opening onto a small patio with table and 2 chairs, overlooking a very pretty gargen which was lovely. The bedroom was quite small but adequate with a comfortable bed, with an en-suite shower room. Both were immaculately clean, but the bathroom did show a few signs of damp/condensation problems but not enough to worry us in any way. Our bikes were locked securely in the conservatory overnight. Breakfast was very good. We would use this B&B again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jebpgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S, Owner at Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a helpful review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

room was musty bedding was damp room needed updating , bathroom was dirty with cracked tiles and dirty
wouldn't recommend a family to stay

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrbullin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We have done several trips to York to visit daughter at Uni. We've done smart hotels and b&bs and this really suited us best. Very reasonably priced, very friendly, excellent service. Ignore previous comments in February - our room was clean and warm - there were lovely toiletries. The breakfast was probably the best we have had - plenty of choice and great freshly cooked bacon, eggs, sausage etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

rooms dirty
bathroom missing tiles
childrens bedroom had stuff dusty rats stuck on the ceiling, every childs nightmare.
bed linen smelt damp
rooms cold
needs bringing into the 21st century

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jgreen035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Me and my partner were planning an over night visit to York. As it was Valentines weekend all the hotels and B&B's has inflated there prices, and were very over priced.

The we found Skelton Grange Farm House. A very affordable price and included breakfast too.

We arrived in York Saturday, and headed to check in around 14:00. We were shown our room and told about where breakfast was served and left to settle in.

We left for lunch and returned around 10pm and settled into a very cosy bed for the night. We didn't hear any of the other guests or any background noise coming from outside. Just a very quiet and peaceful sleep.

Sunday, we were up, showered and dressed and headed over for breakfast around 9am. There was a huge choice, I had a Full English breakfast, and it was delicious.

Overall, the room was warm and cosy, and breakfast was delicious. We would certainly recommend this guest house to anyone planning a trip to York.

Ideal location for York Park & Ride, however we did chose to drive as it was a 15 minutes drive at most.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyRebekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
0.7 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.2 km away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.8 km away
Sleepers Guest House
Sleepers Guest House
#25 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.1 km away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 193 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Grange Farmhouse Orchard View, Skelton, York YO30 1YQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Skelton
Hotel Class:4 star — Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing