We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Farm House”
other travellers have booked this property
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. 'Chai' means a wine barn, and that is exactly what this building used to be. Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. 'Chai' means a wine barn, and that is exactly what this building used to be.
Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
Looking back up the main room from the sofas round the fireplace.
The well equipped kitchen end of the big living room. This week's guests are serious cooks.
Shower room with twin washbasins, double size shower and WC. Towels provided.
Double bedroom with comfortable 150 cm wide double bed. Bedlinen and towels provided.
Twin bedded room with 90 cm wide beds.
The apple walk down to the stream, with the goat paddocks to the right.
View from one of the seats by the stream, lulled by the little waterfall.
Or you could follow the Wild Walk - with orchids and other wild flowers amongst newly planted trees.
Parking in a dedicated car park as you enter the site, so the rest of the grounds are car free.
Bikes delivered, canoeing and horse riding nearby, and a treetop adventure park.
Colourful and well stocked markets
The beautiful Dordogne valley viewed from Domme.
This is typical of the beautiful villages and small towns you'll find on your explorations.
This is also chateau country par excellence!
The old port in Bergerac hosts many summer evening activities. You will be spoilt for choice!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maurens, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
iona1183
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Farm House”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The accommodation was very comfortable, well equipped and just gorgeous; it has more than everything you need and plenty space for our family of four. Jane was very accommodating and welcoming from the outset. We arrived quite late and although this was not part of the service Jane offered us eggs and bread so that we could make a meal, as we had young children. Jane went out of her way to give us a personal tour of the town which again was not part of the service, but Jane is very warm and hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for her. Throughout the stay Jane offered advise on places to see and activities, and again although this was not part of the service Jane provided beach towels and mats for our excursions to the near by lake. The outside space is also very pretty and well maintained with some outdoor toys for the children. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraT31...
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just as good second time around”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our second visit to Le Chai and we were just as delighted with the property as we were first time around. The property is clean, well equipped and comfortable with a private terrace. It was a perfect place for my 80 year old mother's first holiday abroad. Martin & Jayne are on hand if required but never intrusive and we appreciated their help with our train journey during our stay. Thank you both again for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice quiet environment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
We were delighted to welcome you back here, and felt very honoured to be the host location for your mother's first experience of France. I'm so glad we matched your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base for Bergerac and the Dordogne”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at The Chai for a week in August and it certainly exceeded our expectations. The property has been well thought out and skilfully executed and is one of the best equipped and presented holiday cottages we have ever visited, either in the UK or in France. We particularly enjoyed the outside space and the tranquil setting.

Jane and Martin were the perfect hosts - friendly, approachable and hugely knowledgeable about the area:- never intrusive but on hand should you need them.

We look forward to returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you so much. You were great guests and we would love to welcome you back here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirralste...
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a wonderful 5 days at Le Chai. It had everything we could possibly have needed, all beautifully presented. Friendly advice and recommendations from Jane and Martin as to where to shop and where to eat. So much thought has gone into the renovation and equipping of this most comfortable cottage, with great attention to detail. Next time we visit we shall take up Jane's suggestion to visit Sarlat by train from Bergerac.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
And you were the perfect guests! So glad you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamand...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accomodation and location”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Chai is a well renovated property in a French style with an English touch. We were made to feel very welcome and were pleased to find a number of useful items and foodstuffs provided by Jane and Martin. The accomodation was spacious and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen located in a rural location but only a short distance from Bergerac. The grounds provided interest with animals and a quiet seating area by a stream.
Very good value for money and a place that we would certainly return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the environment here. It was great to meet the three of you and we very much look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing