We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accomodation and location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. 'Chai' means a wine barn, and that is exactly what this building used to be. Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. 'Chai' means a wine barn, and that is exactly what this building used to be.
Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
Looking back up the main room from the sofas round the fireplace.
The well equipped kitchen end of the big living room. This week's guests are serious cooks.
Shower room with twin washbasins, double size shower and WC. Towels provided.
Double bedroom with comfortable 150 cm wide double bed. Bedlinen and towels provided.
Twin bedded room with 90 cm wide beds.
The apple walk down to the stream, with the goat paddocks to the right.
View from one of the seats by the stream, lulled by the little waterfall.
Or you could follow the Wild Walk - with orchids and other wild flowers amongst newly planted trees.
Parking in a dedicated car park as you enter the site, so the rest of the grounds are car free.
Bikes delivered, canoeing and horse riding nearby, and a treetop adventure park.
Colourful and well stocked markets
The beautiful Dordogne valley viewed from Domme.
This is typical of the beautiful villages and small towns you'll find on your explorations.
This is also chateau country par excellence!
The old port in Bergerac hosts many summer evening activities. You will be spoilt for choice!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maurens, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Grahamand...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accomodation and location”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Chai is a well renovated property in a French style with an English touch. We were made to feel very welcome and were pleased to find a number of useful items and foodstuffs provided by Jane and Martin. The accomodation was spacious and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen located in a rural location but only a short distance from Bergerac. The grounds provided interest with animals and a quiet seating area by a stream.
Very good value for money and a place that we would certainly return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the environment here. It was great to meet the three of you and we very much look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus A
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Perfect accommodation, in a location that in any direction has a multitude of things for all age groups to see and do. I hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: out side eating, garden and animals
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
We look forward to your next visit! Great to see you all enjoying yourselves during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
841lesley
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“One of the best we have stayed in”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Arriving on Sunday with no shops open, no problem for Martin and Jane, they were more than accommodating and gave us what they had for a meal together with their welcome snacks and wine. The house itself was spotless and superbly equipped. We loved it there, close to travel out every day to villages etc and back to relax with barbecue,peaceful and chatting to Martin in evening with glass of wine! We felt like we were in the country and the vista and animals were a treat. Thanks Martin and Jane was one of the highlights of our trip.
Francois & Lesley Potgieter Cape Town South Africa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here and that it enhanced your European adventure. We very much enjoyed meeting you both and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalston31...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was an excellent place to stay Martin and Jane were lovely hosts I couldn't rate. It highly enough”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Slightly difficult to find you definitely need a map from Jane we had a wonderful holiday in Bergera it's a must The Gite has been renovated first class

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
We enjoyed meeting you both too and hope you had a good journey back. Hope you will head this way again next time you're in France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015PKH
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rocked all the boxes and more.”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful experience at the Clos Verger. The accommodation was perfect and our hostess Jane could not have been more friendly and helpful. The setting was beautiful too. I would definitely recommend it and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a home away from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
It was great to have you both here and you are welcome back any time. Enjoy the rest of your holiday adventures!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;