We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian style, comfortable, practical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Reviewed 20 December 2011

What an amazing place to stay, as amazing as its surroundings at least!
Lovely welcome, friendly management, great service, very very helpful. Colin is a fountain of information, just as a good hotel host ought to be!
Rooms were clean and although older not dates, kept in good nick, nice heating to keep them warm, which you definitely need.
Laundry facilities complimentary, parking in front of room, nice outdoor seating areas, well kitted out kitchen/kitchenettes, good bathrooms.
Thank you again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed in Jerusalem, an expansive, hideaway in this fabulous place. A chance last minute booking, thanks to reviews of alternate accommodation here on Tripadvisor, and what a find. Can't fault the place or service. Really want to go back and stay longer.

Room Tip: Stayed in the West wing and can't fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glassynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Jimmy was a fantastic host always making sure that our stay in the National Park was full of adventure and action. Fantastic visit all thanks to Jimmy and the crew.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikebenfield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

After reading various reviews on Trip Advisor, I decided to book at Tongariro Crossing Lodge. I am very glad that I did as Colin was friendly and went the extra mile to make our stay lovely. I don't often write reviews but would love to send more people his way.

We stayed in the Whakapapa Room which was pleasantly decorated with a Victorian theme (and a brilliant mohair blanket). The heaters meant that we were able to keep the bedroom + sitting room toasty despite the Antarctic front moving up. Colin had already turned the heaters on to pre-warm it for us. He also opened up the adjoining unit so that we could use the kitchen (as there was noone staying there).

We had a really lovely stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Colin and Jimmy (father and son) own and run this lodge and are wonderful hosts. The atmosphere is very casual, family-like, and the proprietors are just great. Jimmy did all sorts of research for us and presented us detailed maps and hand written suggestions for things to do based upon our timing and desires. He did this without us asking! They gave us free access to their computer for us to use the internet, and the breakfast was delicious. The room was comfortable, roomy, very nice. In summary, the stay was comfortable, warm, clean, casual, and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tee-Moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.6 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,663 reviews
12.9 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
451 reviews
25.6 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
534 reviews
0.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
0.2 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Crossing Lodge

Address: 27 Carrol Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: $144 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongariro Crossing Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Crossing Lodge is the only place of its kind in National Park Village. Our family-owned and operated boutique lodge caters for travellers seeking personal attention in a welcoming and laid-back atmosphere. We offer spacious and comfortable rooms with a distinctive historic character where you can relax and recharge after a hard day’s trekking, biking, skiing or travelling. In the warmer months, our landscaped grounds and patio garden, with mountain views, provide an oasis of calm and seclusion for weary adventurers. As travellers ourselves we know what it’s like exploring a new country or dashing down to the mountains for a weekend. We strive to offer a place where guests can feel rested, at home and taken care of from the moment they arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Tongariro Crossing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Crossing Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing