We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky cottage with a modern twist!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Jackfield, Ironbridge Gorge, Telford, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stargirl0...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quirky cottage with a modern twist!”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved staying in this period cottage with all of it's quirky features. Although there are beams, open fires & stone floors, the cottage owners have gone out of their way to fit modern facilities with a fantastic full range which is ideal for cooking up the local Shropshire produce provided in the generous welcome pack!
The cottage is situated close to Ironbridge & it's museums which is ideal; for avid geocachers like ourselves, there are walks from the doorstep across the beautiful gorge so we left the car behind for most of the week!
We had deep snow for a few days so were very pleased to come back to the warmth of this cosy cottage-we will be booking again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydonbro...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb getaway”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My daughter and I booked a short break during February. The location was perfect for exploring Ironbridge and we were able to walk to the majority of places which allowed us to explore the area as much as possible in the time we had. The cottage was beautifully kept and lacked nothing, the fire was laid and ready to light and there was a wide range of information provided, everything from bus routes to museum information.The welcome pack included local produce such as bacon, eggs, sausages, milk and home baked bread which were appreciated by us both. Unfortunately the weather kept us from enjoying the garden with views over the river so we sampled the local pub instead which I would also highly recommend. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if returning to the area would dedinitely book to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Sm...
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As the title suggests, the cottage was perfect in every way and I've probably said it about another cottage but this one is the best I have stayed in to date.....

The access road to the property was more a river than a road but I can't let that reflect negatively on the owners as they can't control the weather and alternative parking was offered close by.

The welcome pack was exceptional and enjoyed by my wife and myself and our dog. The location of the cottage is central to everything in the locality and only time stopped us doing more.

Will definitely be back if the opportunity arises.

Thank you to the owners for a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Wow! Thank you for sharing this incredible feedback with us! We are over the moon that you had such a fabulous holiday, and to hear Sleepy Hollow described as "perfect" and "the best you have stayed in to date" is music to our ears, and always what we strive for - we are so happy you feel this way! We certainly hope you will be back to finish exploring the area, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikchic
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcoming cottage, perfectly located.”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here as we wanted to be local to Ironbridge, but a little out of the way of the parking issues in the town.
The cottage surpassed our expectations. We have stayed in many cottages around the country and this one is one of the best. The location, near to the Tile Museum is perfect for local pubs (all of which do good food, and accept dogs) and visiting the local attractions.
There is plenty of dog walking. The old railway line is convenient for gentle strolls in either direction. The surrounding countryside offers everything else.
Shropshire has a lot to offer. we used to live in the area and there is still a lot we haven't covered.
The welcome pack was lovely, and all sourced locally. Fresh bread, marmalade, coffee, eggs, bacon, sausages... and even treats for the dogs. I haven't received a welcome pack like this before.
The cottage was well equipped with all you would need in the kitchen, towels for the bathroom, a hairdryer, a dog bowl and towel. Again, all you would need for a break. The sitting room was comfortable and had a vast variety of books and DvDs for those quieter moments, or when the weather is not on your side. The little garden overlooking the river is beautifully kept and lovely for alfresco drinking.
I would thoroughly recommend this cottage - though the stairs are not for small children or the less mobile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The welcoming feeling
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilyn M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB LOCATION”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What an absolutely beautiful cottage in a superb location. A well appreciated welcome pack of food was waiting for us when we arrived. The cottage itself is ideal for all the local museums (we managed 7 out of the 10) - will have to go back to complete them all! Jackfield Tile Museum within about 50 yards of the cottage an absolute must. The only minor drawback was the fact that the road from Jackfield to Ironbridge was under repair and our nightly walk to eat was a little hair raising to say the least (no pavement and very narrow road). An added bonus was the wonderful neighbour and dog!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing