We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a paradise in winter wonderland”
Review of Yllas Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yllasjarvi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yllas Apartments
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This is a cool Place. I have nothing bad to say about this housing. It was Clean, lots of space and the sauna was giving us good rest after a day in the nice ski tracks. Nice restaurants nearby and the snow was something...

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from this amazing location, having had a 5 night stay. A family of 4, we stayed in a 2 bedroom Saaga apartment, across the car park from the hotel, visiting the hotel for their amazing breakfasts.
We could not fault anything at all. The hotel was gorgeous, decked with atmospheric candles and fairy lights that made it feel even more cosy, festive and welcoming through the long nights and half light. The decor was beautiful but homely, making great use of local materials and styles.
The breakfasts were spectacular! There was more choice than I could have ever dreamt of, catering to the tastes of the huge range of nationalities staying there, and presented in a casual manner that would befit a lifestyle magazine.
Our apartment was perfect. The beds were twins that could be pushed together, then there was also a sofa bed in the living room. Everything was clean and fresh, and we had our own personal sauna. A tiny shop next to the hotel, sold a sufficient variety of food for us to cook simple suppers in the little kitchen for a couple of nights. The dishwasher did the boring work for us. The heating was fully adjustable, we had a big TV which showed many English speaking programmes. Lapland Safaris were a couple of doors along, who run very good quality excursions, with friendly reps. We dined at an ice restaurant and went husky sledding; both great fun. The resort bars and restaurants ajoined the apartment building and we were 2 minutes walk from the ski lifts...and the main bedroom had beds pointing north, so, as the resort is small and turns out its lights at 10pm (there are still hotel and balcony lights on), we could lie in bed and watch the Aurora Borealis through our window! It couldn't have been more perfect!
I should add that Yllas is a resort split into three parts. There is an infrequent bus that joins them, and on days where weather allows (50% in our case), you can take a gondola to the top of the mountain and ski down to the other side. On our one snowy day, it was a bit blowy, so we decided to take the 15 minute bus journey to investigate the other side. It was like a different day there - blowing a horizontal gale/blizzard! We took a taxi straight back which cost us €32, as the next bus back was in 4 hours. It had cleared up at the Saaga side by then!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Went to Yllas without any skiing experience and to be honest I didnt go for the skiing, i went to be in the setting and just enjoy being in that enviroment, although we did get skiing equipment. I was an absolute beginner and did some cross country skiing which i fully enjoyed. They even light up the paths at night so you can ski at night too.

The traditional resteraunts and pubs nearby serving beer, steaks, reindeer were everything i dreamt lapland would be like.

Staying in a cosy log cabin with an open fire, sauna, right on the trail path for cross country skiing was a pefect week. would definitely do it again. On the 4th day i was walking for dinner and saw the northern lights just to top everything off. Perfect place for couples and families.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gethyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yllasjarvi
7 km away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#2 of 5 in Akaslompolo
289 reviews
7.1 km away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#4 of 5 in Akaslompolo
176 reviews
36.4 km away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#2 of 8 in Levi
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Hotel YllasHumina
Hotel YllasHumina
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
128 reviews
0.3 km away
Lapland Hotel Saaga
Lapland Hotel Saaga
#1 of 3 in Yllasjarvi
497 reviews
3.6 km away
Aurora Estate Hotelli
Aurora Estate Hotelli
#1 of 2 in Yllasjarvi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yllas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yllas Apartments

Address: Vaeltajantie 2, Yllasjarvi 95980, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Yllasjarvi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yllasjarvi
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Yllas Apartments Finland/Yllasjarvi, Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing