We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio(Akaslompolo)(Great Value!)
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yllaksen Yopuu(Akaslompolo)(Great Value!)
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sivakka(Akaslompolo)
Expedia.com
View Deal
7 Fells Hostel(Akaslompolo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lodge 67 N(Akaslompolo)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Seita(Akaslompolo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
134
123
35
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
123
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsakas hotellog cabingala dinnerfrozen lakeski busice hotelnorthern lightshalf boardthe main hotelchristmas daybed apartmentmeet santafresh breadhusky ridesnow suitswinter wonderlandcross country skiing
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2015

My family and I stayed in a two bedroom apartments at the Akas Hotel earlier this month as part of an Inghams Santa Break, and we had an amazing few days. The apartment was warm, clean, spacious and well equipped. Each room had two single beds and a double sofa bed in the lounge, unfortunately the sofa bed was the most uncomfortable and noisy contraption ever made so I ended up sharing a room with one of the children and leaving my poor husband to suffer it alone. He survived the three nights but if it had been for any longer then we would have had to ask to change to a 3 bed apartment so that we could all have a proper bed to sleep in!

The main building was just a short walk through the snow, however the grounds were well lit and the paths were cleared everyday so it was no problem getting around. There was an excellent buffet breakfast available, which was a great start to the day. The dinner selection wasn't quite as good, but fine for the three nights we were there. Alcohol was very expensive, so bring plenty of euros if you like a drink or pick something up in the duty free on the way over.

There was an indoor pool and spa facilities but we just didn't get round to availing of any of them. There was also a sauna in the apartment which the kids liked playing in but again we didn't get using it properly. Wifi is available to purchase but you'll not get access to the likes of Iplayer, Amazon prime etc as you are out of the region. So bring a good book or some travel games to do in the evening, but to be honest you'll probably be wrecked and ready for an early night.

The staff were all very friendly and professional and the location of the hotel was just beautiful. The kids made good use to the complementary sledge to get about, and it was a pleasant walk into the village to have a look around some of the gift shops and local supermarket.

As it was was the first Santa break of the season, the Inghams staff came across as a little ill prepared and not very knowledgable, however the local people who ran the excursions were fantastic. We did the snowmobile safari and the husky and reindeer trips which I'd highly recommend. The trip to meet Santa at his workshop was a bit disappointing from an adults point of view but the kids didn't seem too bothered and just had great fun playing outside in the snow. Snow suits and boots were included as part of the Inghams package but you will need to bring your own hats & gloves. Thermal layers will be needed for under the suits and bring extra socks as there is nothing worse than cold damp feet.

All in all a magical holiday which we would all recommend.

Room Tip: Get an apartment with enough rooms/ beds for all your family/ party. No one will want to be landed with to sofa bed!
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Went with Thompson Santa package which meant entertainment on plane out which the kids loved and distracted from 3 hour flight. At airport you take bags to coach then get cold weather gear: socks, boots, gloves and snow suits. Is about 45-60 min transfer to hotel. Check in was fast keys ready as we arrived and the had accommodated request for central location (due to mobility) and given us ground floor room. All hotel staff were polite and helpful.

The room had more than I expected I thought we'd get beds to crash on and a bathroom, there was kitchen (with clothes drier/warmer), dining table, TV (no English channels), DVD player, CD player/radio, and sauna. There were two single beds in own space and sofa bed that made a double. Mattresses were on thin side and not most comfortable. Rooms were really warm and had to turn heating down at night to sleep. We got coffee/milk from supermarket but would've taken if I'd known about facilities.

The restaurant was ok for 3 days, buffet style and what I'd expect for 3 stars. I'm vegetarian and choice wasn't great but didn't starve either and hadn't gone to Lapland for food- would've been tough if staying longer. Supermarket is in local village and ten mins away. There are sledges scattered about for kids to use which they loved.

Only detractors from trip were; hard sell of trips by Thompson which 'sold out fast' take note travellers there are a number of other companies in the village who offer similar trips for a fraction of the price (reception staff will direct you if you ask), I did see other reps engaging really well with their families, ours however was disinterested but that is something I'll be taking up directly with Thompson and is not related to hotel itself. We never saw the pool (was not what we were there for) but wouldn't have known where it was either, I'd guess it's downstairs by reps as kids disco/nightclub was as I discovered when I went to toilet on last night. One last point on Thompson Santa trip-gala dinner is awful on last night, there's no option to eat at Akashotelli instead but I'd have chosen to stay and pay if I'd been told you were arriving with 200 others for a Buffett and coach doesn't leave til 10:30. My kids had no chance of staying up that late after a day out in snow and seeing Santa, we ate ASAP and ordered cab back.

Hotel itself is as it's rated three star and good for that, sauna I'd added bonus as is kitchenette. If going for the Santa experience this seemed more cosy and out of the way than its sister hotel which we preferred.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Nat-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

We booked Akashotelli independently.

During our stay, we met Amanda, Amy, Robyn and Matt - reps for Inghams working at Akashotelli, Yllas, Lapland. These guys ROCK!

They go above and beyond to make you welcome. For example, Amanda patiently talked us through the excursions (even though, being outside guests, we weren't officially booked on an Inghams holiday). Amanda is super helpful and really attentive.

Amy was wonderful, letting the boys see Santa and simply being an amazing host for the Santa secret hideaway. She is brilliant with the kids.

Robyn was fantastic in the Husky sledging. We'd lost a glove for the kids, so Robyn let us borrow her gloves. Thank you.

Matt is super organised with the excursions. We all felt relaxed since he was on top of everything. Constantly counting passengers to ensure no one was left behind.

A big thank you to the awesome #inghams team at Yllas, Kapland

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

we stayed in a log cabin and ate at the akas hotel were the food was outstanding the rep Robyn and Amanda could not do enough for you the excursions were mesmerizing the ONLY depressing part of the weeks holiday was coming home it was worth every single penny

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank matthew o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Wonderful holiday. Booked through Thomson. The flight was great with singing and jokes. Good communication when arriving. We were on Berry Juice bus, left our cases and queued for our suits and stuff. Bit of a wait but nothing major. They do guess your size though and one of us had to take suit back twice to change at hotel. Check your kids suits have the elastic on the bottom as one of my daughters didn't and the boot kept filling with snow. Bus ride to hotel, and all other buses rides was fun as your elf played games and sang songs. Quick check in at hotel and lovely room with dryer for clothes, dishwasher, microwave, pull out bed, bedroom, shower and sauna. Lovely.

Then we booked our trips, which expensive but its a once in a lifetime. Huskies - amazing, Raindeers - amazing, Snow mobiles - note that the kids go in a sleigh and it is cold so dress them doubly warm, Snow village - not impressed as dis-orgainised - they have skidoos for the kids but only 2 and the queue was horrendous and the raindeers and huskies weren't there. The best is santas workshop where they get to meet the real santa. Heart stopping.

Quick tip - take some wipes with you on the trips as some of the 'facilities; are a hut and bucket with no loo roll.

The food in the hotel was basic and not much choice but filling and lots of tables.

Be aware that everything is expensive and the only shop is a small food counter in the hotel or a walk to the supermarket about 10 minutes away.

When it comes to clothing you need plenty of base layers, jumpers, warm trousers, woolley hat and warm socks. Its a pain getting in and out of the snow suits (but they keep you super warm) so if you spend a bit more on salopettes and a snow jacket it may be better.

An amazing holiday. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank Shazmin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews