We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Islazul Villa Don Lino(Rafael Freyre)
USD 85
USD 76
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 107
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 128
USD 120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pernik(Holguin)
USD 64
USD 54
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 59
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 71
USD 61
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 125
USD 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
USD 90
USD 86
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 137
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (8,376)
Filter reviews
8,376 results
Traveller rating
4,154
2,696
961
356
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,154
2,696
961
356
209
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenmojito bara la carte restaurantsseafoodthomas cooklobby barice cream parlourthe grillgreat holidayla gondolapremium sectionsuperior roomdolphin tripprawnstwo weeksisland paradisegolf buggy
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 8,376 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This was my very first trip and it was an amazing. The resort is clean, the staff is awesome, friendly and do their best for all visitors. I am a very fussy eater, but there was more then enough food selection and always found food I liked. I would list this as a 4.5 star. I would make a few suggestions 1) have a big sign to tell people you need your passport to get money exchanged or tell people as they check in 2) more gabages and washrooms around the resort 3) the jaccuzzi's should be warm to hot, found them cool and cold couldn't enjoy them, 4) front desk could use more staff, 5) more towel exchange places. We found our room a little damp but that could be the climate. The service from the staff and friendliness was outstanding. The entertainment was lovely especially the Aqua Ballet and piano in the lobby. They could use more car/trains to take people around, its a big resort and during the day hard to get transport. It would have been nice if the pools were heated, but not a big problem. The beach was amazing! I miss the staff and the beach. I was there from March 28 to April 4 2018. I look forward to returning, Cuba is a wonderful place and the people are remarkable and helpful. I highly recommend this resort it is fabulous!

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you for your nice comments and to share your experience with our future clients. It is good to know you had a lovely time with us. Our staff is, indeed, one of our strongest points because of their human values and professionalism. We will extend to them all your compliments so they feel even more motivated to behave and work the way they do. We will love to receive you back soon.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Can’t find enough praise for this hotel, the staff go above and beyond to make the stay perfect. They accommodated our room change request so we had interconnected rooms with our children, took care of all our restaurant reservations (favourite being Romantica & Seafood) and even provided a fabulous birthday for my daughter at the Seafood restaurant with a dressed table & cake. Also got our traveling clothes washed, pressed & returned within 24hr thanks to our brilliant chamber maid.The staff really are diamonds and well deserve tipping.

The hotel is kept spotless, the pool & beach are beautiful and the food is fantastic. I can’t believe I read negative reviews regarding the food... book the restaurants (we went all 8 times), use the grill,Italian, beach restaurant or pizza bar for lunches, even the beer garden do great tapas.. use all of them & how can you get bored? So much choice we hardly used the two buffet restaurants although this was great too, we just prefer table service. We preferred the pool restaurant for breakfast (much quieter). Use the lobby for coffee it’s fantastic! You might get a potato shortage yes but you are in Cuba, I personally don’t travel over 10 hours to eat chips! they substitute with sweet potatoes or Yuka, both are beautiful.

Big highlight for us was the excursions our favourite being the 4x4 challenge day, not what we expected and a real insight into Cuba, Dan our Cuban guide for the day was amazing and if you book this and get Dan you will have a wonderful day. We also enjoyed swimming with the Dolphins and the staff make sure you get some fantastic photos. Both trips exceeded expectations.

Fantastic staff make this hotel what it is. We had a truly amazing holiday. Hope to return one day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank SparklingGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to thank you for giving us a five points rating. Your words are a trully delight to our eyes. It is nice to know our hard work is being notice for our clients. We have lots of requests from our clients prior to their arrival and we take them into account to know our clients preferences and we try to accommodate them as they want. Thank you for the praises to our services, staff and restaurants. We have a varied selection of food and drinks. Keep coming here with us and it is nice from you to share your experience with everyone.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Third time to Playa Pesquero, first since 2015, so I get the politics of Cuba (note to self: check school holidays next time!). A little rough around the edges, don’t expect marble floors and shiny statues, but that’s part of its charm.

The Good
The reception/ main bar area has been re-decorated since we were last here and lots of new furniture, much better for it. The pool area is still the same, the concrete floor is showing signs of age but you can get sunbeds anytime. New gym is fantastic, never been anywhere with such a good gym. The main asset here is the staff. Everyone is so friendly, some staff are better at their jobs than others but generally service is excellent. A huge range of drinks, usual ‘all inclusive’ measures but a tip or two certainly helps. Everywhere is clean and tidy and well maintained. The beach is stunning.

The Bad
Food this year was poor. Potato shortage in Cuba means I didn’t see a chip for 11 days, some might say that’s not a bad thing! Salads were none existent as well, didn’t see anything resembling a lettuce leaf all fortnight. Didn’t go hungry, but it does have 5 stars proudly posted above reception. A La Cartes were average, liked Romantica, walked out of Seafood restaurant, sick of waiting, poor service. Main buffet restaurant wasn’t good. Again limited choice, had pork one night that was dry and inedible, waited for a steak to be cooked the next, could’ve thrown a flip-flop on the grill! Again, little veggies and only pasta or rice. Ended up having a beer and chicken nuggets in the beer garden on buffet nights. Evening entertainment, was just about the worst I’ve seen, except for the Cuban house band, just sat laughing at them, Michael Jackson tribute was something from Britain’s Got Talent out takes. We got lucky this time with check in, first off the four buses, what a result. Every time I saw queues waiting up to an hour to check in, after travelling all day, turned my stomach thinking of it.

The Ugly
The room. Paid for a Superior room as usual. We used to get all the little extras that you would expect, all the little mini-kits, just got some little bottles of cheap shampoo etc. and a small tablet of soap, once again, 5 star?? The room needs fully gutting, everything so dated, cheap chipboard wardrobe, cracks in the sink, tiny, slippery bath, not good, dated décor.

Love this place, third time here, probably won’t be the last. The hotel really needs to further investment. We were in Dom Rep last Summer and got so much more for the same price. Come on Cuba.

Room Tip: Private transfer will beat the massive queues at check in
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank SimonHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to apologize if your stay in our hotel was not as satisfactory as you were expecting. We appreciate your review and we really sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced.

We thank you for the praises given to our new decoration and services and facilities, we've work very hard for those. We've been having problems with potato chips as well as vegetables, this is not a common situation at the hotel and we are working on it. Do not know if the Michael Jackson part was a good or a bad thing and great to hear your check in was quick.
We have Standard Rooms, Superior Rooms and Superior Plus Rooms and to clarify this is what you get for a Superior Room: A Bottle of Cuban rum on arrival, reservations for a la carte restaurants made prior to arrival, minibar restocked everyday including 1 bottle of water, 2 local beers, 2 soft drinks and 2 natural juices.
Also we are slowly but coninuously working in our rooms to change the decoration a bit.

We will take your comments into account to always improve our services. Please give us another opportunity to provide to you a better service.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

PS: Nice movie you quoted there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I have visited this hotel several times in the past few years, and it is difficult to find anything to say that has not already been said. This year however was our best trip yet,there has been improvement in the foods on offer at breakfast in the Buffett eggs and omelettes are cooked to your own personal taste while pancakes and doughnuts are freshly cooked and on the fruit bar the fruit is all freshly prepared at lunch time again most of the food is freshly cooked while you Waite. In the evening in the buffet you can pick your own piece of meat from behind glass, the chief will then cook it to your own taste .The al a cart restaurant's are for the most part beyond reproach with service equal to top class restaurants in England.

Our room was cleaned daily, beds made up and the mini bar topped up daily and as with many hotels if you need fresh towels just leave the ones you want changed in the bath

At times there does seem to be a shortage of buggies

Water sports are Hobby Cat pedlow and wind surfing plus laser sailing boats. hobby cats you are taken out with a skipper while the others are watched from the shore by the boat men I found the system employed to be very safe

There was entertainment for most of the day from pool and beach activities while there are shows in the evening at the theatre

While it might be a bit expensive we found the trip to Havana to be well worth wile
when everything is taken into account this is the best value for money holiday I have found.and this was our best visit so i am already looking to return

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dqn77n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us.

We appreciate your loyalty comming over and over again as well as your words saying this time was the best time. That shows we are in a good path. Thank you for your praises to our services at the buffet and to our staff, they are the main asset we have. Great to hear you were pretty active and try different stuffs like a trip to Havana.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Not what you expect pool good rooms good beach good food terrible always cold same food everyday service poor expect lots of queuing if you like chips you won't see them they have none beach restraint rubbish food terrible their if you want beach sunbed get up early beach staff save them fortemselves so when you go down they always expect tips as if they are doing you favours good luck if you go to this hotel and yes watch out for the French Canadians ignorant people

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank barny445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to apologize if your stay in our hotel was not as satisfactory as you were expecting. We appreciate your review and we really sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced. We've been having some issues with the availability of potatoes and potatoes chips, this is not a commong situation at our resort. Nevertheless we will analize all the problems mentioned by you with our staff and we will work to eliminate them. Also we have clients mainly Canadian and British, we do not like the insults so please, keep them to yourself.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews