We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
Nearby Hotels
Islazul Villa Don Lino(Rafael Freyre)
USD 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 107
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 141
USD 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 100
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,265)
Filter reviews
8,265 results
Traveller rating
4,115
2,665
949
338
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,115
2,665
949
338
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenmojito bara la carte restaurantsseafoodthomas cooklobby barice cream parlourthe grillgreat holidayla gondolapremium sectiondolphin tripsuperior roomprawnstwo weeksisland paradisegolf buggy
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 8,265 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

First time to Cuba and we will be back as we found the whole island and the culture one that we can relax in and enjoy. The people are friendly and helpful who served us.
Weather for the two weeks was good. We had 3 days the first week when it reminded us of a damp summer in England everyone going around in shorts and tee shirt and fed up the sun wouldn’t come out. If we had only had a week we would have been disappointed. The second week lots better. Though cloudy it was still hot enough for sunbathing and the cloud coming over broke up the sun beating down on you so just right.
We found a great place on the beach to relax and because it wasn’t where the people had put towels down at 6:45-7 am every morning to book their place over looking the sea we didn’t mind that this was comm n practise Kept wishing we could just collect their towels and hand them back to people as they came down much later in the day to claim their prime spot. Plenty of places to relax both at the pool and the beach, we were told that the site wasn’t full whilst we were there.
For the beach bring big clips to clip towels to your sun-bed as makes it easier to lay down on and stops them blowing away, for loss of towel there is a 30 peso cost !!
Book pedello and catamarans etc at the towel collection points. They will if not busy let you go out and remember to bring a tip for the guys.

We booked two trips whilst there with Thompson
1 Havana. Very expensive because of the flight cost, as it was just a day trip to the city. Saw a lot but the amount of free time to explore on our own was down to 55 minutes by the time we had driven around and seen sights. We wasted over an hour inside a restaurant out of the city whilst they fed us all with chicken and rice. Very nice but not why we want to Havana. If you can get them to not drop you off in town you will have more fun feeding yourself and exploring. Remember it’s an hour to airport , two hours waiting at airport, one hour flight and then sitting in a bus touring. Take water with you! Then you have the same on the way back and the flight times as it’s Cuba are not always as it says on the board . We arrived back 4 hours later then we first thought. Don’t get me wrong it was great you just need to be aware of these factors before going.
2 tropical island
We took a bus for again about 1hr 20 mins to the harbour , the trip was lovely as you get to see some of the countryside. Then we had an hour or so on a large catamaran which can accommodate 40ish and there was only 17 of us, so was wonderful lots of space and a lovely trip. Spent some time snorkelling and saw some lovely fish but to be honest they just larger ones than the ones you can see off shore of the site. The coral had been scorched so all white which is a shame. We saw lots of sea urchins which we know destroys coral so perhaps they could be sorting them out? An hour or so on the beautiful island with a nice lunch before the trip back. The best bit for us was the boat trip as it was such a long very day.

1 other trip we did was with a member of staff and a taxi driver , we went for a trip to Holguin. Very nice to have our own personal guide which gave us a good feel for the town. Be aware locals and taxi drivers want to take you for a lunch, which in fact for us was not fast food although delicious and again far too long spent
inside. Next time we will clarify we happy to stop for coffee or snack. 80ps for the whole trip, bit pricey but we happy with it.

On the site take the opportunity to either get a lift from the many pony traps to the market or walk there, it’s only 12 min casual walk from lobby and there are some nice things to buy as souvenirs and much cheaper than shop in resort. Weekends have more stalls.
We took with us Mozzi spray and that is a
MUST, as is lots of sun cream. No way to weigh the bags at the end of the holiday so be careful as you cannot go over. We took our own kettle as we wanted a cup of tea in the morning and they do supply a coffee machine but they like it black so be aware you need milk in your room.
We stayed in block 60 very nicely situated quiet and easy to walk to beach and main lobby.
Food very nice. Loved the pork and the crackling is mmmmm. We didn’t encounter any problems relating to hygiene even though we had heard stories and the medication we packed was taken home. The water has a distinct taste to it and sometimes the coffee served wasn’t always the same taste, esp in the main buffet restaurant. Don’t queue for ages at the coffee train for better coffee, there is another coffee bar hidden behind it by the theatre which never has a Q.
Couple of changes we would advise, STOP using animals for tourists to pose with ... parrots, small alligator etc and STOP using plastic straws,,, they litter the beach and end up with lots in the sea.

Take with you if you like them some peanuts to nibble with your drinks in evening as they have no nibbles also chocolate!
On the plane back we set on the right hand side, by the time the trolly got to us over an hour after started serving they had ran out of some things because those who served first stocked up on all the things they been missing. Ha ha

We think we may come back to here as we overall very happy the only reason we perhaps wouldn’t is that we want to see more of Havana.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it was very thorough. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us. We think every client must read this as you cover all corners of our hotel and services. Thank you for your praises to our service, facilities, beach and food and for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

This all-inclusive resort completely caters to your every need.The staff are laid back, friendly and genuinely focused on ensuring your holiday is this best you can possibly have.
The resort itself is huge and can be a little overwhelming on your first few days. It takes some time to find your way around, but you can always jump on a buggy or ask for directions.
The beach is beautiful and the sea is clear and perfect for snorkeling. There is a good range of water sports from canoeing, windsurfing, boating and going out on a hobie cat. There's also two huge swimming pool areas.
The eating options are very impressive. There are 2 huge buffet areas for your 3 daily meals and several lunch options. You can also book the many restaurants for 8 evenings of your stay, but the portions are tiny. However, you can of course order two courses. My holiday companion thoroughly enjoyed the lobster and seafood and had a good choice of meat too. They even sourced a turkey for Christmas day! Vegetarians however will be limited to salad and pasta at the buffet and check the salad, rice and potato dishes carefully as they do tend to sneak ham and seafood in there whenever they can. The restaurants do have a veggie choice.
The rooms are a good size and clean. We also found it was quiet at night too.
Whether you enjoy the entertainment will depend on your personal preference, it ranges from a bit naff to ruddy brilliant.
Be warned - this resort is in the middle of nowhere, so I would recommend booking some trips. Inside Real Cuba trip is really good and insightful.You can also catch the bus outside the front of the resort of a morning and go to Holguin for the morning for example and also arrange with the old American cars working as taxis for a drive out somewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us. We appreciate all your praises to our staff, facilities, beach and food, we cater for a huge amount of clients so we try to please everybody with a nice variety. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Just came back from a wonderful week at Playa Pesquero.
As always, the staff are amazing!
The superior rooms we booked were not befitting my senior mother and her partner as the bathtub is rather high, and they would have a problem getting in and out of the tub. So we upgraded to the Premium wing. This area of the hotel is adults only, and comes with all the bells and whistles! From the separate check in, dedicated a la carte restaurant, dedicated pool (with beds and canopies) and bar, 24 hour rooms service and butler service. There was a dedicated section of the beach (quieter), where you didn't have to hurry to reserve a lounger, as there were plenty for us. I could go on and on about the benefits of being in the Premium section!
The room was amazing. Spacious with a king size bed. Lovely patio or balcony. The piece de resistance was the bathroom. Jacuzzi tub, stand up shower and then the outdoor shower! Heaven!!!
Lovely resort. Amazing trip. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impcase0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us. You said it, we tried to make our Premium to spoil our clients, focusing in the confort throughout the entire place. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

My family of 5 have just got from a truly fantastic holiday. Great time had by all. The staff are fabulous, lots restaurant choices, gorgeous beach. All staff put so much effort into making Christmas and new year special and they really did. New Year’s Eve had a brilliant atmosphere and child friendly.
Thanks to all staff definitely back at the end of the year!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Mrssjm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have had an amazing holiday with us. It is nice to know you liked all our efforts to deliver an unforgettable night for our clients on Chrismas and New Year's Eve. Thank you for sharing your experience with the world and we will be very happy to have you back to our hotel anytime soon.

Kind Regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Only keep returning to this hotel, because of the wonderful friends we have made, was pleasantly surprised that the hotel had recently had a facelift , and our room block 58 also had been redecorated, was greeted with kisses & cuddles by our maid Betsy, stayed in this block quite a few times. Our biggest moans are that we are now 2nd. class, with premium getting the priority on everything, yet it is the regulars who have enabled it to be built. Also orange juice in restaurant was watered down. and Thomas Cook is showing premium rooms in advertisement which are far superior to standard rooms. Must say Christmas Dinner was excellent!

Room Tip: upper floors are best
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DOLLYD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José Luis P, Sales Executive at Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Greetings from Playa Pesquero,

We would like to apologize if your stay in our hotel was not as satisfactory as you were expecting. We appreciate your review and we thank you for continue being very loyal. Our Premium Service demands lot of attention but we haven't forgoten about the main hotel. We are working in some renovations and have plans to make a lot more. The hotel is big so this will take a bit. Nevertheless thank you for your concerns and please, continue visiting us.

Kind regards,

Playa Pesquero Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews