We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,093)
Filter reviews
2,093 results
Traveller rating
787
725
356
138
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
725
356
138
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club snack bar mobility issues pizza cascading pools foam party fish lot of seaweed bat cave stairs to climb sea weed lower pool cuban restaurant fries bug bites a la carte restaurants special dinner
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 2,093 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This was our 4th stay in Cuba but first in Holguin. Only been to Varadero before. It was very good. Lots of walking so anyone with mobility issues may not like it. There are golf carts that will pick you up to get around but still lots of stairs at the pool. I got 20,000 steps a day which was great for me.

Pros:
- Great lobby - lots of room and seats.
- Beds comfortable. I was so impressed! All my other stays had beds like rock and these were great.
- Rooms were clean and maids did cute arrangements on our beds each day.
- Lobby drinks good
- Wifi was surprisingly good - only once I could not get on (1 paso for an hour)
- Pools were lovely (4 plus a kiddie one (which was always closed)- mini club also has a pool)
- Food was good - lots of selection
- Ala carte restaurants were good (get three per week or 4 if signature club)
- Cuban really good (beef yummy!) Service amazing
- Italian was good food but bad service (good selection on menu)
- Romantico was nice - good service and food was good except for the
fish had a lot of pin bones in it. Kids are allowed but I think there
should a minimum age like teens. Some guests were there for a romantic dinner but kids were crying
- Did not try the Seafood but other guests told us it was good
- Foam party at beach was fun!
- There is a cigar bar which was great because the other areas were not that smokey with cigars. I saw some ladies go in to get drinks because it is not busy in there so no wait.
- Icecream at snack bar and buffet tasty!
- Breakfast and lunch was great service. Shout out to Lady Di and her area staff. Thanks!
- Food was good with fresh made omelets, pasta, pancakes, chicken, fish, beef etc. Made to order.
- Cave tour included was good. Runs every second day and guided by Junior who was great! Meet at lobby at 10 for an hour walk and tour around the cave. Wear running shoes.
- Entertainers were really nice. Shout out to Emilio, Diana, Melissa and Junior.
- Beach was clean and easy to find a spot. There are staff to bring you loungers.
- Free activities include: catamaran (fun) with guide, paddle boats, snorkell gear, kayaks. You need to book the catamaran and paddle boats (club house opens around 9:30 - 9:45 with rentals starting at 10)

Pros:
- Check in was slow (they did bring us a delicious welcome drink)
- Some bar staff were not friendly to our teens. They seemed annoyed that they were ordering anything. (eyes rolled)
- Dinner service at the buffet was not the best. Friendly but very slow. One day they were understaffed so it was hard to get water.
- It is hard to get small change for tipping (ended up going to currency exchange at hotel but it is usually a big line up)
- Lots of walking depending on where your room is
- Some of the pool games were only adult friendly.
- There was a miniclub for kids and a disco for adults but not a lot for teens to do. One ping pong table that was usually being used but not a lot of teen specific activities.
- Some foods that were pre-made were really hard to get at in the buffet. The lineups for the omelets, pasta etc were right in front of them so you had to go between guests to get at them and that was annoying. Suggestion to management: Please move the pre-made foods to an area that is accessible. This was a pet peeve of a lot of guests. If this was corrected I think it would be fantastic.
- Snack bar staff very unfriendly and ignored me even after making eye contact. Slow to get service and good. Food was ok thought but going to the buffet would have been faster.
- Pool by the gym and spa is disgusting. Avoid and use the one by snack bar.

Other stuff:
- Near the front of the hotel is a hill with a lot of crabs. Cool to see. Look along the top and you will see lots.
- Took horse and buggy to market at Paso Paquero. Nice driver. Cost was 25 paso. Market small but a bit bigger than the one at the resort.
- Went on excursion to the nearby park to see the min zoo, horseback riding, fishing, and lunch. Good excursion for half day with great guides (Luis and his friend)

I would come back to this resort:)

Room tip: We were in block 28 and it was far.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about your experience with us on trip advisor.

Our goal is always to create unique and memorable experiences for you but most important for us is to strengthen bonds and become a huge Memories Holguin family.

We are glad to know that we have achieved this goal with you and this vacations were beyond expectations thanks to the amazing job of our staff that were always on top of every detail.

We hope to see you soon for your next visit, please remember to contact us prior arrival and we will assist you with the details of the future visits.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I (4 adults and 2 children under 5) had a great 7 day stay. The staff was great from the moment we arrived. A special thanks to Dayrelis, Elisabet Silva, Yurisbel, Lourdes, Darlenis, Anisley, Yoandry and Maday Fabre. The food was amazing. There were many meat and vegetable dishes (although many vegetable dishes had ham unnecessarily added to them). For those who wanted more seasoning, there was an abundant supply of sauces. We loved the dessert options they had with every meal! We ate at a couple of the other restaurants( Creole and Italian ) which were good too. The pools were nice, although the kids' pool needed to be cleaned. We left the kids at the Memories Fun Club and they had lots of fun. The beach was nice but unfortunately there was a lot of algae. The sand was nice, with areas of shade too. Free catamaran and free pedal boat rides (same-day appointment needed)! Free horserides on the beach too. Obviously tips were much appreciated. The hotel itself was quite dated. We had two rooms amongst us and both washrooms need some work. One of the sinks was always on the brink of being clogged. Also, there was an open or broken sewer pipe outside our rooms (260 and 261). We could see the water bubbling out of the ground and worse, smell it. The resort are huge and you need to walk. You you have some issues or health problems you can ask for a car ride. They have a gof car thar carrie us when we need. Having said this, we had a great time and would go again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ana Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management and the Staff from Memories Holguin would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Hotel. We hope that our Resort will be your hotel on your next trip to Cuba. We will do our best to make you have a wonderful stay. It will be pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had an updated room by booking the Diamond package, room was clean, comfortable(bed a little hard) , GREAT water pressure. Room cleaning staff took very good care of our needs. As most people have read in reviews of Cuba we hear that the food is poor, not true, it all depends on what you are expecting. If you want 5 start dining , go to a five start restaurant, we found the food to be tasty with variety available. As is the issue with many buffet style there is always issues with the food not being hot enough but that is the same everywhere. Biggest complaint on food is the beef, it tends to be tough and overcooked but lots of other things to choose from .
Beautiful beaches and wonderful people , we find the key to successfully traveling in any country is meet the people, they will make or break your holiday, in Cuba we were never disappointed by the smiles and friendly attitudes of the Cuban people.

We took two excursions while in Cuba, a catamaran tour and a Jeep tour, both were great days out and well worth the time to explore.

Room tip: Diamond club offers room upgrade to newly renovated, be prepared for a lot of stairs, multi-level pool area.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vaughan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your super nice review and the time that you spent to write it.

Nice comments make us very happy because that means that you had a good time during your holidays with us, we work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon at your second home, Memories Holguin.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed at this resort from March 21 to March 28. I was a little bit concerned after reading some bad reviews. I would say that the resort exceeded our expectations. The ground was one of the best I have ever seen. All the building are surrounded with plants and trees. It gives it a very natural look. (We had a bug in our room but they offered to change our room. There are pants and trees...so, there are bugs but they work hard to keep it clean. Cats also do their job :-) ) I liked the fact I didn't feel in a overcrowded place. The swimming pools amazing. Wherever we were it was never too crowded. I could see some hazards here and there (some broken tiles in the swimming pool -my son cuts his foot - or on our way to the lobby) but nothing major and definitely easy to fix. The beach was cleaned every morning (around 7 am). We had the Diamond Club upgrade (and I would recommend it) which gave us access to a different, quieter section on the beach. The room was very clean and we had 2 bottles of water every day. The bathroom was clean, however a little bit updated compared to the rest of the room. The arm that holds the handle was broken. They offered us to change room but we declined it because I was able to fix it for the duration of our staying.

Food: No issues at all. There were no lemons (because of the hurricane all the citrus plants were destroyed), no french fries (which we didn't need). We had very good fish, vegetables and fruits. Lines at the buffet were not crazy and all the cooks were nice and welcoming. My kids and I had yogurt, milk and no stomach issues at all.

Night entertainment: I found it very good. Live music every night, some shows. I liked it very much.

Kids club: my daughter went a couple of times and she loved it.

Note: Having the Diamond Club we could have a late check out. There was a sort of "misunderstanding". Nobody told us we were supposed to let them know we would use the late check out, so on the last day they locked our room with our luggage inside. It was an easy fix though.

Excursions: We bought an excursion from a local guide (cubaguider - Yuri) that was beautiful. He took us to Salto del Guayabo (waterfalls) and Holguin. Very professional and highly recommended.

Would we go back? Yes.
Would we upgrade to Diamond Club again? Yes.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Guest,

I'm delighted to hear you say how much you appreciated and enjoyed your visit. Your comments are music to our ears.

Please come back soon, our whole team will be waiting for you. A review like yours motivate our passion to wake up every morning happier and with more enthusiasm to please our guests.

Thank you for your praise of our team and service, please consider Memories Holguin as your home in Cuba.

Cordially yours,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My wife and I were at Memories Holguin from March 18th until the 25th. We cannot thank the staff enough for the outstanding service we received during our stay, We met many new friends, whom we consider friends for life. Eugene at the lounge, Yahima at the buffet, Fidel,..the names are too many to mention. We are already planning our vacation for next year. Thank you all.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank s85852018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management and the Staff from Memories Holguin would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Hotel. We hope that our Resort will be your hotel on your next trip to Cuba. We will do our best to make you have a wonderful stay. It will be pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews