We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
74
46
14
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
46
14
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Short stop in Zarautz in our way back to Madrid. We trusted the name and the 4 stars. Beach view are exceptional and location of the hotel is prime. But the hotel is not at the level expected. Rooms are basic and smelly including kitschy plastic accessories in the bath room. We were looking forward for breakfast trusting Arguinano brand would not disappoint. Too bad. Kitchen closed and only cold buffet served. Thanks god there are plenty other places to chose from.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alfredo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

As fans of Karlos Arguinano on tv it was wonderful to visit the hotel. The parking was difficult in a narrow road. Room was very nice with a huge terrace and sea views to die for. Fun watching the surfers but the skate boarders a real nuisance. Unfortunately no extractor fan in bathroom. Dinner basic, disappointing and expensive. We ordered duck breast and that's all we got - no potatoes, vegetables or garnish. Totally unlike the wonderful food served up on Arguinano's daily tv show.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We needed a hotel in a hurry, and this place was a great surprise. Great building, location, bar, restaurant, view. We had no idea that Karlos Arguinano is a famous TV chef in Spain, so the food was a great surprise. We were happy with everything in the hotel. The only tricky thing is parking nearby. Would really love to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RichLanzarote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We arrived here after a long trip from St Malo in France that morning.

Stumbled across it by chance, but what a find. The building is beautiful and the rooms very tastefully decorated in traditional Spanish style. We had a fantastic room overlooking the beach and sea. The place is very quiet, perhaps because it was mid June, but there are lots of nice bars along the beach to have a drink.

We decide to head to Getaria along the coast for something to eat that night on advice from the hotel receptionist and we found a very nice restaurant overlooking the harbour there which served excellent seafood and at a reasonable cost.

Don't forget you are in Basque Country and it's a great place to pick up some proper Txakoli, as the vineyards are in the hills above the town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terzo290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is in Zarautz. We were really lucky that we were able to walk in on the day and get a room. We had just completed the stage of the Camino from San Sebastian to Zarautz and decided that we wanted to treat ourselves.

We were really glad we were able to stay at this hotel. It isn't the most modern hotel I have ever been to but it was clean and functional and the bed was comfy. The location simply couldn't be faulted as it is right on the beachfront.

We ate in the restaurant and went for the tasting menu. This was good value and we loved the food. The staff were really friendly and I think because we stayed in the hotel we got one of the best tables, right next to the window looking out onto the beach. We enjoyed the sunset and watching the surfers until the sun went down.

The breakfast the next day was also very good. The only downside was that they clearly struggled to make me poached eggs...I would chose a different type of egg next time! Aside from that the breakfast was delicious and they clearly use really good fresh ingredients.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the sea that is the best option.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews