We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zarautz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Karlos Arguinano
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Before coming to this hotel we didn't know that the owner is a very famous chef in Spain – it didn't make any change for us, but it's niche to now.
We reserved the mini-suite, which was great.
We had a hug balcony facing the beach, 2 rooms, and a beautiful bath-room - all we needed.
The hotel is quit small, very clean and nice.

Breakfast was good, the breads and pastries are baked by the daughter's chef on place – and are soooo good!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2015

Short stop in Zarautz in our way back to Madrid. We trusted the name and the 4 stars. Beach view are exceptional and location of the hotel is prime. But the hotel is not at the level expected. Rooms are basic and smelly including kitschy plastic accessories in the bath room. We were looking forward for breakfast trusting Arguinano brand would not disappoint. Too bad. Kitchen closed and only cold buffet served. Thanks god there are plenty other places to chose from.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alfredo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

As fans of Karlos Arguinano on tv it was wonderful to visit the hotel. The parking was difficult in a narrow road. Room was very nice with a huge terrace and sea views to die for. Fun watching the surfers but the skate boarders a real nuisance. Unfortunately no extractor fan in bathroom. Dinner basic, disappointing and expensive. We ordered duck breast and that's all we got - no potatoes, vegetables or garnish. Totally unlike the wonderful food served up on Arguinano's daily tv show.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We needed a hotel in a hurry, and this place was a great surprise. Great building, location, bar, restaurant, view. We had no idea that Karlos Arguinano is a famous TV chef in Spain, so the food was a great surprise. We were happy with everything in the hotel. The only tricky thing is parking nearby. Would really love to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RichLanzarote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We arrived here after a long trip from St Malo in France that morning.

Stumbled across it by chance, but what a find. The building is beautiful and the rooms very tastefully decorated in traditional Spanish style. We had a fantastic room overlooking the beach and sea. The place is very quiet, perhaps because it was mid June, but there are lots of nice bars along the beach to have a drink.

We decide to head to Getaria along the coast for something to eat that night on advice from the hotel receptionist and we found a very nice restaurant overlooking the harbour there which served excellent seafood and at a reasonable cost.

Don't forget you are in Basque Country and it's a great place to pick up some proper Txakoli, as the vineyards are in the hills above the town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terzo290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zarautz
0.5 km away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
425 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Villa Antilla
1.1 km away
Hotel Norte
Hotel Norte
#3 of 5 in Zarautz
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
4.9 km away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
219 reviews
3.8 km away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karlos Arguinano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karlos Arguinano

Address: Mendilauta, 13, 20800 Zarautz, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zarautz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Price Range: $141 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing