We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant with great lamb!”
Review of Reina XIV

Reina XIV
Reserve with
Reina XIV is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 34 - USD 45
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I went there on a Sunday in October. It's a very professional restaurant with good service. The food was excellent, and the Cordero Lechal asado was probably the best I have had in the considerable time I have spent in Spain. The prices are on the high side for Spain, but this is a top notch establishment. They had no cochinillo on the day of our visit; I believe one may have to order in advance, but I'm not sure. This was an initial disappointment, but the lamb made up for it.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zorba91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

The restaurant located near the gate to the city, it is very beautiful on the exterior.As we stop by for late lunch, we overwhelmed by the beautiful small city and the warm welcome of the staff in this restaurant. They are very helpful in suggesting what good in the menu. I don't know so much about traditional Spanish food but the food here was excellent. The steak is great and pairing with the wine list just even better. The price for me just average restaurant in European small city. The atmosphere was excellent, it really likes Mediterranean with Spanish classic style.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

...and a lot cheaper too. A typical no-frills excellent Spanish restaurant. When we arrived at 8 pm, we were almost alone, but the place slowly filled up over the evening. The lady on duty was very helpful, and did everything right. The food was uniformly excellent, and very reasonably priced; we had the steak (huge - brilliantly cooked) and lamb chops (small - ditto). Go for it!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank jobetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

During my holiday in La Granja last year, I and a friend visited this restaurant simply because it was listed as No.1 on TripAdvisor - we were disappointed! There are several restaurants in La Granja which are alot better than this one. First, we had to wait a week whilst the staff took their holidays during the peak tourist season! (Sometimes I wonder how interested the management of restaurants are in making business!?!). Second, when we did visit, the restaurant was empty during our one and a half hour stay and we were overwhelmed by the full attention of all the staff, some of whom were obviously new and completely untrained. Three, the food itself was uninspiring, the wine list dreary and the bill excessive! Neither my friend nor I will be returning!

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaimeCerrolaza, Gerente at Reina XIV, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Mr. Lamu99, we would like to show our strangeness by receiving your opinion 11 months after your visit to our restaurant, if that were the fact.

In order to get things straight, we would like to answer separately to the different points you expose.

• You visited our restaurant simply because it was listed as No.1 on TripAdvisor

This point is entirely false, since in september 2013 we were not listed as No. 1, as Tripadvisor can prove. Maybe there is a misunderstanding with another restaurant, because, as you said, the reason of your visit was the top 1 position in Tripadvisor.

• There are several restaurants in La Granja which are a lot better than this one

We don't question your criteria, but some references of other establishments would be helpful for the users of Tripadvisor that read your observations.

• First, we had to wait a week whilst the staff took their holidays during the peak tourist season!

In twenty years we never had a seven days holiday in September. Our holidays have always been in January plus a week in June. It is true, thought, that we close on Mondays all year long. Also, peak tourist season in Spain is July and August.

• Second, when we did visit, the restaurant was empty during our one and a half hour stay and we were overwhelmed by the full attention of all the staff, some of whom were obviously new and completely untrained.

We are sorry our staff did not fulfill your expectations, but by the time you said you visited our restaurant the newest of our staff had been already working for 18 months. I, as his employer, consider them fully trained and capable in every aspect of their jobs.

• Three, the food itself was uninspiring...

Our menu's core is homemade cooking and traditional meals typical from this area, which has become through the years in the identity of our restaurant. We are sorry you found it uninspiring, though we have over 40 different dishes and 12 desserts.

• ...the wine list dreary...

There are 61 different varieties of spanish wines in our wine list, personally selected by a certified sommelier. Wines are stored and conserved in a specially conditioned room where red wines rest at 16°C and white wines at 5°C. We are sorry you found it dreary, since we always considered we have one of the widest wine selections of the area.

• ...and the bill excessive!

We do not know your invoice amount neither the content of it, since with the data you provide it is not possible to know. We would also like to expose that there is a full menu at the entrance of the restaurant where prizes are indicated.

In order to conclude, we are sorry your visit to our restaurant was not satisfying ( if that ever happened). In case you would have let us known 11 months ago we would have expressed our apologies earlier.

Yours sincerely,

Jaime Cerrolaza Aragón
(Owner and manager of Restaurante Reina XIV)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My Spanish friends had eaten at this restaurant before and told us that the food and service was very good, and they were right. I have got to say the whole experience to this restaurant was fantastic. You must make a reservation don't be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billtrathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reina XIV also viewed

La Granja de San Ildefonso, Province of Segovia
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Province of Segovia
 
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Province of Segovia
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Province of Segovia
 
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Province of Segovia
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Province of Segovia
 

Been to Reina XIV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing