We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wished we could have stayed longer”

Review of Pumzika Tu

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Early morning view
Bar
Sitting room & bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kwale, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christina...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wished we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A wonderfully relaxing house with magnificent views! We were a family of 4 including 2 teenagers who loved the pool - we were only able to stay two nights - but would definitely recommend staying longer. John our host was very welcoming and the staff all looked after us brilliantly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you Christina for the review, It was nice to meet and host you and your family. It is great that you enjoyed your stay here. I hope Pumzika Tu will be your home in the coastal region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dchampion...
dchampion
2 reviews
“There is no other retreat like this - visit Pumzika-tu and you'll have memories for life...”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This house, perched atop the ridge with elephants roaming immediately below the balcony, is truly breathtaking. The quiet of being 1200ft high with almost nothing but trees, animals, and local villages all around makes for a perfect retreat from everyday life. In just a short drive you can be at watching wild animals at Shimba Reserve, kitesurfing or SCUBA diving at the beach, sitting under a majestic waterfall down the ridge, or exploring one of the safest parts of Africa in peace. I love this home in every way, and couldn't recommend it more highly for your next vacation or adventure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Дмитрий К
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Pumzikatu”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

When we saw the photos of this place the first time we said to each other - this can't be real, surely it is a photoshop =). And I'll never forget our first morning in Pumzika. The feeling that you're flying on a plane and just in front of you is half of Africa. And every morning this feeling repeated. All that you can see on this photos - is real! Elephants walking just under your feet. Bush babies are coming in the evening to eat some bananas. Every sunset transforms valley below into the ocean. It is impossible to describe.

The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay (6 bedrooms, spacious living room, kitchen, washing machine, nice infinite swimming pool and a large garden). Well-educated staff working in the house and garden. They were hearty welcome and helped us a lot.

The house is on the country side. To feel comfortable you will need a car. Driving to Diani beach takes around 25 minutes one way. This place is good for families with kids and will give you a silent and restful vacation.

I want to underline the incredible support and assistance, which was provided to us by hosts. They helped us to understand the house and its arrangement, describe and showed us all around and tried very hard to help us in every way. Thank you so much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you for for being wonderful guest to host and for making Pumzika Tu your home. Thank you for everything &for the review (we appreciate it) and see you soon!
Warm wishes to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgjersoe
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Every time I come here it seems to get more beautiful. Such a wonderful place to stay; cool & breezy after the muggy heat of the coast but just a short drive away, swathed in flowers and resplendent with birdsong. It's paradise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S
2 reviews
“One of the most fabulous vacation rentals I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I've had the pleasure of staying here at Pumzika Tu on several occasions and I can attest to the other reviews which say how lovely it is. The house is more breathtaking than any of the photographs and the views are incredible. Appointed in a discreet location along the Shimba ridge, about 2 miles outside of Kwale town, the house overlooks an elephant sanctuary and frequently the elephants come right up below the property. There is a water hole below the house, which has been recently added with steps all the way down to it. In your evenings, you can take your G&T and walk down and watch the elephants playing in the waterhole. The bush-babies come at night and eat bananas from the patio fence and there's a general feeling of being at one with Africa when you're here. On clear days, you can see Mount Kilimanjaro in the distance and the horizon is almost unspoilt by evidence of mankind.

Finally and most importantly, this house comes with a full complement of staff including a great chef. Your clothes get washed daily and your room is always made up perfectly.

Another recent upgrade was the two new master bedrooms suites on the second floor. This space had previously been storage but the owners recently added this wonderful pair of rooms. The bedrooms and ensuite bathrooms overlook the elephant reserve and give you the best view of Africa I've ever seen.

The neighbourhood is extremely friendly and walks in the local community are always greeted with an incredible welcome. We've always been made to feel as though we are part of the community.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing