We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bioluminescent creatures area amazing”
Review of Cayman Kayaks

Cayman Kayaks
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Rum Point
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cayman Kayak/Cayman Kayaks offers Bioluminescent Tours by kayak and on Cayman's ONLY electric boat. Do not miss out on this memorable experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our outing was on the last night of the cycle as the moon was getting brighter. However, we still were able to see the bright bioluminescence. Especially fun were the minnows under a dock that would swim away and activate the light show. We also saw a small ray swimming along the bottom lighting up its way. The double kayaks were a bit of a challenge to get used to, but certainly not anything overly challenging. It seemed that the actual time in the bay was rather short -- they were hustling back for a second group of tours. I was also surprised by the number of people booked with them for the tours -- about 4 groups with about 6 kayaks in each group? Again, not a bad thing, but more "crowded than I anticipated."

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JinAbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"electric boat"
in 10 reviews
"bio bay"
in 4 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 5 reviews
"disco shrimp"
in 3 reviews
"meteor shower"
in 2 reviews
"kayak paddle"
in 2 reviews
"night kayak"
in 2 reviews
"new moon"
in 2 reviews
"places in the world"
in 2 reviews
"magical experience"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"fish"
in 3 reviews
"constellations"
in 9 reviews
"glow"
in 6 reviews
"bioluminescence"
in 21 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018

It seemed a little unorganized from the start. Once we were in the water and kayaking, it was kind of up to you to keep an eye on the guide to stay with the group. it seemed like the tour may have been made up as we went along. bioluminescence was neat to see, but I don't think this trip was worth the money. Upon return to the beach you have to wait on the guides to run your credit cards even though you have already given this information to them. It seemed like a ploy to assure a tip. Not a fan. Unorganized. Wish we wouldn't have wasted our time with this.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank amhaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

This was our 2nd time doing the bioluminescent bay kayak tour with Cayman Kayak Adventures. This company is committed to keeping this natural resource pristine (by not using gas powered boats). They offer tours via an electric boat, but the real fun is to do the night kayak. Our guide, Marty, was great about explaining everything we needed to know about getting out on the water and then educating us about the bay and what makes the glow happen. This one of only six places in the world where this is naturally occurring. It's a real treasure to get hands on and see this for yourself. Tours are only offered certain times of the month - dependent on the lunar calendar. This is a great activity for young and old alike.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Stevey1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Stevey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with readers about your experience. It is our passion to not only run eco friendly tours, but also to hire staff who are passionate about the environment too. We are thrilled you had a wonderful time with Marty! He is an exceptional guide, and we are honored to have him on our team.
Would you mind sharing your review on our main Trip Advisor page titled "Cayman Kayaks" as majority of people read from that page and this page was accidentally created by a guest.

Thank you again!

Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Absolutely, positively recommend going on the kayak bioluminescence tour! It is totally possible that we just had some super unique experience BUT the quantity of the bioluminescence blew my mind away! We could dip our paddles in the water and make them look like light sabers or brush it across the top like a magic wand. It was just so incredible. Our tour guide Marty was friendly, fun and knowledgeable. He definitely added to the awesome experience that we had. We saw disco shrimp in the water to and from the bay. We also saw a ray swimming under the kayaks and with the bioluminescent effect it looked like a ghost. I grew up on the river, I was a lifeguard, I am a scuba diver, I have been traveling to beautiful waters around the world for some time now and this was a top 5 highlight of my water experiences. I am also a nature geek but seriously this was cool. Go as late and as dark as possible (new moon).

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ShanStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Good evening!
Thank you for your thorough and kind review! The bioluminescence this winter has been incredible, and we are thrilled you had the opportunity to join it with Marty. We are so happy to have in on our team to share his passion and excitement with others.
The bioluminescence certainly is a mysterious site and unforgettable.

Would you mind sharing your review on our main Trip Advisor page titled "Cayman Kayaks" as majority of people read from that page and this page was accidentally created by a guest.

Thank you again for sharing with others!

Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Went in the bioluminescent boat tour. Tom gave an amazing tour. He uses a special boat that opens in the middle so you can put your hands and feet in the water and see the bioluminescent microbes. It such a unique experience. Would highly recommend it. Got a lesson on the stars as an added bonus.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank DonnaFortWorth_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman_kayaks_ltd, Owner at Cayman Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you Donna for taking the time to share about your experience with Tom on our Electric Boat. We are so happy to have designed and built this electric boat for guests to be able to experience the bay without harming it.

Would you mind sharing your review on our main Trip Advisor page titled "Cayman Kayaks" as majority of people read from that page and this page was accidentally created by a guest.

Hope to have you join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lisha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayman Kayaks also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Rum Point, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Cayman Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing