We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
117
147
95
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
147
95
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblyde canyonthree rondavelsself cateringhiking trailsforever resortkruger national parkguinea fowlon sitehorse ridingstunning viewsswimming poolgod's windowsouth africagreat value for moneybe carefulwell stocked shopbeautiful area
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Our family of four rented a two bedroom bungalow in August, 2017. It was spotlessly clean, and well appointed. We thought the furnishings were better than we had read in previous reviews. The resort facilities are fantastic, a nice pool, jumping pillow and shop. We did have an issue with a baboon entering our bungalow when we were loading our suitcases into our car upon checkout - but it was our own fault for not properly heeding the warnings about leaving windows and doors locked. We loved the Tufa trail along the river, with views of a gorgeous waterfall.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leonab209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear leonab209

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Like you noted, we do share the reserve with various animals but they are usually just opportunistic thieves and actually quite cute and harmless.

We hope that you'll visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The location of this resort is perfect. You can enjoy a sunrise or sunset from two different point of view. I highly recommend the belvedere overlooking the canyon, breathless. However, the lodge are really old and need to be refurbished. The quality of the bed linen is poor. The resort director replied already to my complaint and the resort is under refurbishment according him this year. If you have the luck to get a refurbished home, it can be a great stay place to stay. I recommend you to cook yourself on your braaie as the buffet restaurant is not so good.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge refurbished
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Arthur V

Many thanks for staying with us. We do take note of your comments and hope to have you back again in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Spectacular setting for this resort, especially the restaurant overlooking the 3 rondavels. Accomodation is far superior to most other forever resorts and the whole resort is very well looked after. We stayed here many years ago with our children, and it's a good as it was then. We will certainly stay here again when we are in the area

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Margaret J

It is really great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort.

Please visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This resort is weel situated , I arrived with the night , the hotel gave us a map to get to the restaurant excellent . Just take a pocket torch to go to the restaurant ...when night .
Takecare of babouins , don't feed them . From the retaurant you've a beatiful view of the mountains around.Food is good service also , perfect to visit the Blyde Canyon .

Room Tip: The best rooms have a view onthe canyon and the river
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Alain P

Many thanks for staying with Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back again in the future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This is the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen! We stopped just by chance to use the facilities and saw that horse riding was on offer.

We are both experienced riders and jumped at the chance of a ride. We are over the moon that we did! The horses are all extremely well behaved for all levels of rider even those that have never ridden before! Very well looked after and cared for. Our guide was lovely and very friendly. We stopped at the top and we were able to get off and truly enjoy the views. We also had lots of photos taken by our guide of us on the horses.

The grounds of the forever resort looked lovely and staff seemed nice but we only rode so can’t comment loads!

Really really recommend stopping here and definitely going for a horse ride.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois S, General Manager at Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Sam M

It is great to hear that you had such a memorable time here at Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort!

We appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews