We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
123
19
8
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
19
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mopan river bullet tree hand carved san ignacio colonial style tiki torches welcome cocktail the general manager daily tours in town get away from it all great care special place tour companies cave tour mayan ruins three nights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

I highly recommend Mahogany Hall. It is a little way outside of San Ignacio (5-10 minutes), and so you need a taxi/car to go into the city; however, it is a little-isolated paradise along the river. The staff is so welcoming and helpful. The food is excellent. And we had no trouble with our many different tour companies picking us up from the Resort. I would absolutely stay here again. Thank you to Mahogany Hall!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Selma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful! The staff was friendly and attentive, the food was so delicious and the Moapan river is absolutely gorgeous! It for sure lives up to the pictures. We had a wonderful time and will be back in the near future.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank clc1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We booked our stay here to have good proximity to the ruin sites, and did not anticipate the degree of service and amenities. On arrival, greeted with a cold towel and delicious drink, breakfast made to order and served by the river, and three course dinner with delicious local cuisine. The staff was wonderfully attentive, particularly Jose and Ian, and rooms were exactly as pictured on the website. After our daily tours, we tubed in the river directly behind the hotel and swam in the small but pristine private pool. Overall it was much more than expected and very accommodating to our need for an early start, late arrival and other requests. A delightful find!

Room tip: Every room has a lovely river view and are quiet and very clean.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 53javiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This place doesn't miss a beat. From a cold towel and great cocktail upon arrival to help setting up tours and taxis, we couldn't have felt more welcome. Richard, the owner, and Marsha, the manager, have clearly gone through lengths to go the extra mile. Definitely eat here; the food is incredible! You just have to make a reservation. The servers, Jose and unfortunately I forgot the other guy's name, knew what I wanted before I knew. Excellent service during meals and conversations about life in Belize. The river is the perfect temperature with some fun rapids right out front. I rather enjoyed being able to share the river with the locals. We also went tubing with a local kid; what a relaxing way to cool off during the day. This is a little way from San Ignacio, so if you don't have a car, you'll have to cab it to/from town. Totally worth it to chill by the river, see the stars, and hear the howler monkeys. It's a little slice of heaven on the Mopan river. Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna Marie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

A small boutique hotel, that seems as though it was built years ago , but is only a few years old. built and run very efficiently by a man from New Orleans, it captures the atmosphere that you want., the food was excellent, sitting out on the patio overlooking the river.. The rooms were fairly basic clean with modern bathroom. but provided everything you needed and were off a large shared veranda with tables and chairs and internet connections. The photos do not do it justice. make sure you do the horseback ride.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank springtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews